Re: Cement Price Goes Up

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 30th, 2012, 9:16 pm

remind me to never visit these establishments when things get back normal

Postby Stephon. » March 30th, 2012, 9:29 pm

Well you know this being Trinidad, there's always some sort of work around. I know of a guy selling cement in Laventille for 60 dollars a bag.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 26th, 2012, 1:05 am

cement prices seem to be going down a bit...saw a hardware selling at $70.....

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » April 26th, 2012, 1:41 am

Places in central selling for $69 for a while now but they limiting you how much you could buy. Then others selling $100, with no limits. Black market thriving in south & central.

Postby turbosingh » April 26th, 2012, 6:38 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:cement prices seem to be going down a bit...saw a hardware selling at $70.....

Yea well if nobody buying they go have to drop the price!

Postby sMASH » April 26th, 2012, 6:41 am

we not desperate to buy. we will hold strain for a while again, let the prices settle

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » April 26th, 2012, 8:43 am

I can't imagine cement prices going back down to what they were originally. I believe that the price will be stuck at $70 a bag even when things get back to normal. I could be wrong. Also, there no longer seems to be a shortage anymore as hardwares are no longer hiding cement stock, they actually advertising lol, well at least in Central. Got Cement from Puerto Rico last week, quality isn't that bad.

Postby Damien » April 26th, 2012, 10:28 am

30 days again hold strain

Postby turbosingh » April 26th, 2012, 10:56 am

Biggs3ne wrote:I can't imagine cement prices going back down to what they were originally. I believe that the price will be stuck at $70 a bag even when things get back to normal. I could be wrong. Also, there no longer seems to be a shortage anymore as hardwares are no longer hiding cement stock, they actually advertising lol, well at least in Central. Got Cement from Puerto Rico last week, quality isn't that bad.

They feel is KFC :(

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » April 27th, 2012, 9:29 am

Damien wrote:30 days again hold strain

Kind sir, can you please elaborate on your statement?

Prices are on average $70 a bag even thought there seems to be no shortage of cement as hardwares are advertising now. When can we expect a decrease in price and what would be doen to ensure that hardwares do in fact drop their prices? I have suspended my project for over 3 weeks now due to the high price of cement and the fact that I cant afford to pay 70-80 a bag anymore but I need to start back soon!

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » April 27th, 2012, 9:32 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-04- ... ment-plant

Violence erupts again at cement plant
Published: Thursday, April 26, 2012

Southern Division officers are saying several violent incidents at the Trinidad Cement Limited plant at Mayo during the past two days came as a direct result of the decision to withdraw off-duty police officers from the strike camp. “We now have to draw from four to five police stations to send a crew to the strike camp at Mayo and Claxton Bay, when we could have utilised off-duty police officers in the past,” a senior police officer told the T&T Guardian yesterday.

Noting that there was already a shortage of officers in the division, he said: “This is creating a further strain on our already short resources and it is giving the union an upper hand. The union want small police presence so they could do what they want.” The officer confirmed that two of the tyres from one of their vehicles used to escort workers to the Mayo plant were also punctured by spikes planted in the ground leading to the entrance.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » April 27th, 2012, 11:30 am

Kongorealm wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-04-26/violence-erupts-again-cement-plant

Violence erupts again at cement plant
Published: Thursday, April 26, 2012

Southern Division officers are saying several violent incidents at the Trinidad Cement Limited plant at Mayo during the past two days came as a direct result of the decision to withdraw off-duty police officers from the strike camp. “We now have to draw from four to five police stations to send a crew to the strike camp at Mayo and Claxton Bay, when we could have utilised off-duty police officers in the past,” a senior police officer told the T&T Guardian yesterday.

Noting that there was already a shortage of officers in the division, he said: “This is creating a further strain on our already short resources and it is giving the union an upper hand. The union want small police presence so they could do what they want.” The officer confirmed that two of the tyres from one of their vehicles used to escort workers to the Mayo plant were also punctured by spikes planted in the ground leading to the entrance.

WTF is this I reading Bai??? The officer confirmed that two of the tyres from one of their vehicles used to escort workers to the Mayo plant were also punctured by spikes planted in the ground leading to the entrance

These men really overdoing it now yes....steups...at the end of the day is d poor still suffering, not the heads....high price = less material to do work=eventual lay off of masons=no work for plumbers,electricians due to incomplete projects....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 28th, 2012, 2:13 am

these strking workers not making sense.....they out of a job.......market has cement and price has gone down to 70 and honestly if things do get back normal I dont think the price would ever go back down to 50......

IMHO......these workers are losing......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 29th, 2012, 12:09 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/TCL ... 18365.html

TCL dispute for Industrial Court
By Carolyn Kissoon and Renuka Singh
Story Created: May 28, 2012 at 11:57 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 28, 2012 at 11:57 PM ECT
NOT ALL striking Trinidad Cement Ltd (TCL) workers can be assured of a job at the company when operations get back into full swing.
This according to the company's general manager Satnarine Bachew who met yesterday with the Labour Minister Errol McLeod and Oilfields Workers' Trade Union (OWTU) president general Ancel Roget.
The meeting was held at the Labour Ministry's office, Tower C, Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain, after the union referred the matter the Minister with the request that it be sent to the Industrial Court for final determination.
However, Bachew said yesterday, "The company is in the process of restructuring to assess manpower needs. We have to look at our labour cost, it is our single highest cost."
The protracted and often violent strike action had forced TCL to import cement from its subsidiaries in Barbados and Jamaica to meet demand, and the higher price of cement has hurt the construction sector.
TCL refused to continue negotiations with the OWTU following a series of violent attacks against the company which withdrew its last offer of seven per cent and reverted to its initial proposal of 6.5 per cent.
The union has moved from its 16 per cent proposal to 12 per cent.
Earlier yesterday, at the gates to TCL's Claxton Bay facility, Roget met with hundreds of workers who had anticipated returning to work.
He described the 90-day strike against TCL as a victory for the working class. He said although no settlement was reached during the period, TCL workers displayed strength in standing up to the "dominant forces" of management.
He accused the company of spending millions of dollars on experts to operate the facility during the strike, instead of settling outstanding wage negotiations.
Roget said, "We might not today, next week or the following week understand the significance, the depth, the magnitude of what we did. The ripples that were sent far and beyond both Claxton Bay and Mayo. The ripples that were sent not only in Trinidad and Tobago, but throughout the region. We were observed by working class people throughout the region, enquiring and paying close attention to the outcome."
Roget said the workers proved that they were valiant, as the majority remained on the picket line until the end. He said some 75 workers broke the strike and accepted individual compensation packages offered by the company.
The Express learned that disciplinary action would be taken against 42 employees for acts of violence against workers who accepted packages to return to work.
Roget accused management of telling untruths to the public, as the cement plants in Claxton Bay and Mayo were not running at capacity. Roget said the company was unable to supply the local market with cement, as the high prices remained in force yesterday.
"It took two months for them to even begin to get back up the facility, and as we speak the facility is not back up fully. We complained to OSH Authority, the EMA about the violations of all safety codes and environmental laws. But because of the might of capital and those who are paying the piper, we saw what happened. We complained to the Commissioner of Police for the misuse of the state police, but again because of who are paying the piper," he said.
Roget said workers would return to work, stronger than when they walked out on February 27. And he warned them to be cautious while conducting their duties.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 30th, 2012, 2:46 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/No_ ... 53775.html

No ease in tension
TCL opens gates to former strikers, but...

By Carolyn Kissoon and Dexter Philip
Story Created: May 29, 2012 at 10:58 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 29, 2012 at 10:58 PM ECT
FOR the first time in 92 days, the gates were opened to allow Trinidad Cement Ltd (TCL) workers onto the compound.
But the tension between the company's management and the Oilfields Workers' Trade Union (OWTU) continued, as workers refused to be screened before entering the Claxton Bay plant.
A desk was placed at the entrance, with workers expected to fill out registration forms, before entering the compound.
But the workers, led by OWTU president general Ancel Roget, marched past the booth and into a canteen, where company officials had to conduct the registration.
Roget yesterday said the company was using the approach to further "victimise" workers and was scheduling re-orientation sessions in two weeks' time.
"They are using tactics to stretch out the time before workers return to work and they are using the re-orientation to do that," he told the Express by phone.
Roget questioned why workers, who were properly certified three months ago, now had to be retrained.
"We complied with the Minister of Labour and once again the company has not," he said.
Roget said the union would forward this new complaint to Labour Minister Errol McLeod because the company's action will affect the price of cement for another two to three weeks.
The workers are expected to return tomorrow for "re-orientation".
They will be scheduled to return to work on Friday.
TCL general manager Satnarine Bachew said yesterday workers were required to undergo re-orientation exercises since they were away from the plant for 90 days, according to Health, Safety and the Environment Quality regulations.
He said the company intended for workers to re-enter the compound in a structured way, but the union objected.
Bachew said it was unfortunate the impasse had to go the full 90 days before being referred to the Industrial Court.
"It was as close as the second week in the strike when TCL agreed to refer this matter to the Industrial Court but the OWTU adamantly said no," he said.
The first hearing is scheduled for June 1.
Bachew said workers had lost more than $24 million in wages during the strike.
He said the plant would now undergo an organisational restructuring where manpower would be analysed. He said the exercise would be discussed with the OWTU and expected to be completed in six months.
Bachew said TCL's 365 permanent employees and its casual staff had returned to the plant.
However, OWTU branch president Lawrence Renaud said, "We usually go to a training room and have one session for orientation. So I cannot understand why they cannot do that now. We believe it is a trap to have us in small groups and then begin to eliminate people."
The workers gathered outside the compound to begin work early yesterday, as the strike/lockout action ended on Monday. TCL management and the OWTU met Labour Minister McLeod on Monday evening, after the union requested that the matter be referred to the Industrial Court for final determination.
The union served strike notice on February 27, following a breakdown in wage negotiations. And despite several attempts to settle the matter during the 90-day period, no agreement was reached.
TCL human resources manager Keith Johnson advised workers to conform to the rules of the company and refrain from wearing unsuitable clothing.
Several workers were yesterday dressed in T-shirts which read, "Proud Not to be a Scab" and the OWTU's logo.
Speaking to workers before going into the compound, Roget said: "We fought the good fight. Keep united. We came out together, let us go back together. Each worker is no better that the other worker. We respect all positions workers hold in the company. Attempts would be made to have workers violate the collective agreement, but...don't give them any chances," he said.
Roget said workers should be happy, despite the 90-day sacrifice of no pay.
"Keep your shoulders high, we have landed the target. We said 90 (days) and we accepted not one second less. As we go back, we go back in peace, right in law and moral victory. Take good notes of all of the unsafe conditions and practices and then we will deal with that going forward," he said.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 30th, 2012, 2:48 am

these workers real fail dread.....they have roget telling them that they achieved victory,,,,,,lol,,,,,,yeah sure.......they lucky to still have a job to go back too.......

jaggie

Postby jaggie » May 30th, 2012, 3:27 am

Mr Ancil "BAG AH MOUTH"Roget...was a nobody back then in TRINMAR and still not much have changed.
So after 90 day and what have you gained?...a moral victory???... horse shite!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 1st, 2012, 1:06 am

ROGET still feel he WIN?.....Workers without a job now.....nows that pressure.....hope roget could help them pay their bills now......

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/TCL ... 31045.html

TCL workers put out, gate locked
Advised to wait for management call-up...

By Carolyn Kissoon carolyn.kissoon@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 31, 2012 at 11:55 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 31, 2012 at 11:55 PM ECT
A number of Trinidad Cement Ltd (TCL) workers turned up at the Claxton Bay factory yesterday, despite being told no one should report for work until scheduled by management.
The workers marched through the gates and into the company's canteen, but were later instructed to leave the compound. The canteen was closed and the front gates padlocked.
Sgt Dwight Halls of the St Margaret's Police Station, who was stationed at the entrance, informed workers only customers were being allowed inside. He said the company would inform workers when they should return.
But the workers accused TCL of continuing lockout action against them, although the labour matter was referred to the Industrial Court.
The Oilfields Workers' Trade Union (OWTU) has requested that Labour Minister Errol McLeod refer the matter to the Court, after the 90-day strike action ended last Saturday night.
The union served strike notice, following a breakdown in wage negotiations on February 27.
The workers returned to work last Tuesday, but were not allowed on the jobsite. They were registered and told to return in batches to undergo "re-orientation". The exercise was expected to begin yesterday.
OWTU president general Ancel Roget said workers were registered on the company's payroll and should not be prevented from entering the compound.
He accused the company of using the orientation exercise to eliminate workers involved in strike action.
"Workers turned up for orientation this morning, but the company refused to begin the process, saying the rest of workers ought not to be on compound. What the company is attempting to do is put workers through the process of orientation, which will take some two to three weeks and have scab labour continue to do their jobs. They want to victimise workers," he said.
TCL issued a press release yesterday stating it was agreed by both the company and union a phased reintroduction of workers would be implemented.
"Although accepted by the union as the way forward, the process has been disrupted by noncompliance of legitimate instructions by the workers and the continuation of industrial action by the OWTU led by its president general, Mr Ancel Roget. This action has taken the form of en masse unauthorised and unlawful occupation of company's facilities and a refusal to disperse when so instructed," the company stated.
"In response, the company has prepared letters formally notifying each offending worker of the unauthorised and unlawful occupation and requesting the worker to immediately cease and desist from the action. Appropriate steps will be taken to ensure compliance."
But Roget insisted the company was unlawfully continuing lockout action against workers.
"The union abided by the law which says all industrial action should come to an end. We have taken down camps ... all strike apparel and have prepared to return to work. The company has continued with its lockout action. As you can see, the gates are closed and a sergeant from the St Margaret's Police Station saying he has instructions from the company that workers are not entitled to come to work and therefore they are not allowed on the compound," he said.
Roget said when the matter is called before the court this morning, the company's violations will be reported. The workers dismantled a strike camp outside the company's gates on Wednesday.

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2012, 6:19 am

i saw no need for the violence, i saw no purpose to it except as an immediate scare tactic, which becomes ineffective as soon as the subject remembers the paycheck.

strikes are more a statement or a formality now, and should be treated as such. they strike for how ever long, and then when its over, go back. give them less reason to single out any body.

Postby turbosingh » June 1st, 2012, 6:25 am

I sorry for who building house yes!!!

Postby Damien » June 1st, 2012, 7:11 am

looks like more pressure for cement

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 1st, 2012, 7:35 am

$64 a bag in Couva.
My house work could wait a bit more.

The problem is though, that people are still buying the cement at high prices, so we may very well see the suppliers will maintain high prices after things stabilize.

Cement Price Goes Up

Postby nemisis » June 1st, 2012, 8:09 am

silent_riot wrote:$64 a bag in Couva.
My house work could wait a bit more.

The problem is though, that people are still buying the cement at high prices, so we may very well see the suppliers will maintain high prices after things stabilize.

some people have n choice but to buy the inflated cement prices also this is Trinidad no one ensures that price gouging doesn't take place and therefore business go in punished for the activity. Tipical example chicken prices goes up leading to a legitimate increase in prices however when chicken prices go down KFC prices remain the same......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 2nd, 2012, 4:08 pm

i highly doubt prices would ever go back down to $48 -$50 a bag........even when workers are back on the job

Postby Damien » June 2nd, 2012, 7:59 pm

the price have to go back down just give it a few weeks let the workers go back in

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 2nd, 2012, 8:01 pm

$63 as of today.......

Postby Damien » June 2nd, 2012, 8:44 pm

still better than $100+

Cement Price Goes Up

Postby nemisis » June 2nd, 2012, 8:53 pm

Damien wrote:still better than $100+

it was between $40 and $50 before the shortage. As of the moment there is no shortage as can be seen by the open advertising of cement at hardwares so why are the prices tricking back down when they raise over night.

Also arbitrarily keeping the inflated price is just as bad regardless of If it's 100+ or 60+.
Doesn't matter if you get raped by an inch or eight it is still rape ent?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 3rd, 2012, 8:10 am

yes true.....mgmt seemed to have won this one.......downsizing of the workforce hence cutting labour cost and using the strike as an excuse to inflate prices ...

so labour cost cuts....revenue increases due to inflated unjust selling price.....

Thanks alot Roget........DumbA$$

Postby Damien » June 3rd, 2012, 10:06 am

its the hardware owners that raped the consumers they were being sold cement $13 more each bach but choose to sell at $100+ digging out the poor man eye, the price of cement was raised at the beginning of the yr from $48 to $52 the company cant justify another raise and if they do that then the workers would want more. on Monday nearly all operators would go through orientation so during this week the plant would be running 100%, price and availability should be back to normalcy and should remain so until the next bargaining period comes to a close 2012-2015 i hope there is no strike again lol