surf suspension issues

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
nilgoat

surf suspension issues

Postby nilgoat » April 7th, 2012, 8:16 am

Guys I have some questions that I hope you can help with.

I have a RN135 Surf (same body as the LN130 but with a 22R 4WD manual). My cradle bushings on the passenger side needs replacing. Has anyone ever tried the Energy Suspension bushings? What kind of ride do you get? Kawalsingh has some bushings from India. Has anyone ever used these?

I am trying to get the van to ride comfortably. The previous owner dropped it so much that the front shocks are compressed all the way and have no room to work. When I raise it back the rear will be lower than the front. How many leafsprings does the rear usually carry on each side? I currently have 3.

Thanks
Nil

Xplode

Re: surf suspension issues

Postby Xplode » April 7th, 2012, 8:36 am

India rubber is the best in the world next to Thailand,buy it.

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » April 7th, 2012, 8:43 am

Ok thanks.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » April 8th, 2012, 11:33 pm

if yuh talking bout polyurethane bushings...they ride harder and squeak a lot...not recommended if you're looking for riding comfort. they last longer / more resistant to damage if you will be off-roading.

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » April 9th, 2012, 6:13 am

Ok thanks... I think I'll try the Indian bushings. Comfort is my objective.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 11th, 2012, 11:20 am

never heard of a RN135 eh, but im guessing its a RN130, but how come a 130 has leaf springs, the 2nd gen surf was upgraded to rear coils.....

anyways, small ting....

but i would choose the energy suspension parts, once they are the correct thing, esp since last time i saw ur van u had on big wheels......

if the India bushings are good price u can give them a shot, but surfs are heavy, and are designed to corner good with the IFS........

i not sure how much the back has, but ive seen 4 leaves on a RN85 surf, which is leaf rear and IFS front, the previous owner probably removed one to drop it.......

what u can do is get the front to the desired height then level the rear either by adding blocks or lengthening your shackles, or u can add back a leaf or even re-tension, lots of option out there....

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » April 11th, 2012, 12:16 pm

Thanks for that note droppa. I bought the Indian bushings yesterday and installing today. The energy suspension may have been the better buy but it would have taken a while to get here.

When I got the van it had 1 leaf spring in the rear. I added 2 and it end up marginally higher than the front. The front has to raise about 3 inches because the shocks are fully compressed. This means the back will end up lower than the front so I was wondering what's stock for the back but I'll work up something.

The chassis number when last I read it was RN135... Lol I always knew it to be RN130 though... The old age starting to affect my vision probably

droppa

Postby droppa » April 11th, 2012, 1:22 pm

ok kool, best of luck, hope your problems level out after!!!

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » April 14th, 2012, 8:30 am

to update, the India bushings working good for my basic use so I'm happy with that. Also we raised the front a bit so the shocks now have work to operate and the ride is a lot smoother. The back doesnt appear visibly higher than the front so I'll leave it there for the while. I changed 2 back shocks as well.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2012, 9:25 am

good going man, bring it for a dose of mud, or on a run, it will start to work better jus so...

"mud is antibiotic for iron"

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » April 15th, 2012, 9:34 am

I might take you up on that one day... Right now I battling with some post-surgery healing so I'll keep you posted

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2012, 1:07 pm

scene...

jackal

Postby jackal » April 15th, 2012, 6:58 pm

you sellin?

Looking for a surf, the one with the spare on the back door (PBN/O) type series) 484-8737, give meh nunber if you know anyone.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 15th, 2012, 7:24 pm

call droppa.....he knows off one for sale

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » April 15th, 2012, 7:51 pm

I was considering selling... I only advertised on 2nr and guys were too ridiculous with their offers.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”