Saturday, May 18th, 2013

- It is currently Sat May 18, 2013 11:05 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

KingDrive
 Post subject: SUSPEX vs DROP SHOP
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:46 am 

Ah want to drop meh Y11 AD a inch or two.. and ah want to do something with d suspension to get a softer ride on these trini roads. I tryin to get d suspension to absorb “bumpyness” and give something like a “royal saloon” kinda ride.
I know it hav som old posts on dis topic som yrs ago…
but I really looking for some recent experiences to guide me and d general public since a lot of people always not sure which one, outta d two, dey should go by.
In som previous posts some people real big up SUSPEX and some does bash dem, and d same wit DropShop.
So wa’s d real scene…. Who to go by?

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

 Post subject: Re: SUSPEX vs DROP SHOP
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:42 pm 

Location: Heeeey...this rag smells like chlorof...............
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

konartis
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:49 pm 

my brother took his car nissan blue bird sss by suspex a few years ago, the men them beat out the fenders like a steel pan, i never have and will ever like them....

NR8
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:16 pm 

OP, couldn't you just try using oil or oil and gas shock absorbers?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:45 pm 

Neither of the two shops will give you the ride you want. You will just be pleased aesthetically. Once the suspension is lowered you will get a stiffer ride.

Check in the Classifieds and get some drop springs for your car.

All Drop Shop and Suspex is going to do is cut your springs/alter your shocks to lower the car.
You would be better off with a grinder. :lol: :lol:
Cut one to one and a half coils off the springs yourself.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:24 pm 

Location: Poor Towelie, Leroy wrap living sausage with him. :(
dig a hole, park in it.

Misc stuff for sale and for free

KingDrive
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:18 pm 

NR8 wrote:
OP, couldn't you just try using oil or oil and gas shock absorbers?

Yea pal, gimme a lil comparison bet oil shocks and oil & gas shocks. Some people was saying oil shocks too soft, but wat u tink?

KingDrive
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:27 pm 

BrotherHood wrote:
Neither of the two shops will give you the ride you want. You will just be pleased aesthetically. Once the suspension is lowered you will get a stiffer ride.

Check in the Classifieds and get some drop springs for your car.

All Drop Shop and Suspex is going to do is cut your springs/alter your shocks to lower the car.
You would be better off with a grinder. :lol: :lol:
Cut one to one and a half coils off the springs yourself.

Thanks 4 d advice bro. But my main mission is get a softer and more comfortable ride from d AD and dropping is secondary.. Any Advice? I was tinkin bout changing shocks...

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:30 am 

put more sponge in the seats

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:35 am 

Boy, for a "royal saloon" ride, buy a royal saloon. If it is comfort in the wingroad, then getting a higher end shock will help. Also, look into higher profile tyres, rated for comfort. If you cut the springs you ride will be worse than before.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:31 am 

he needs to find the right spring and damper rates for the weight of the car.........higher end shock will not help if it designed to dampen the springs on a heavier car...........he could do like the guys with the Benz who put suzuki Carry springs and shocks to lower / soften the ride

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:09 pm 

real smooth ride=air ride suspension.
as for dropping,never had faith in suspex, drop shop does good work when dey ready,smalls does a good job as well.but if you looking for a simple drop you could easily cut 1 coil of the spring to the front and 1 1/2 to the back...ride is really good and you can do it yourself.

KingDrive
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:39 pm 

he needs to find the right spring and damper rates for the weight of the car.........higher end shock will not help if it designed to dampen the springs on a heavier car...........he could do like the guys with the Benz who put suzuki Carry springs and shocks to lower / soften the ride

Where ah cud go to get some advice on wat type of spring and shocks ah cud use from based on your advice....

KingDrive
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:53 pm 

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
real smooth ride=air ride suspension.
as for dropping,never had faith in suspex, drop shop does good work when dey ready,smalls does a good job as well.but if you looking for a simple drop you could easily cut 1 coil of the spring to the front and 1 1/2 to the back...ride is really good and you can do it yourself.

wat is "ride=air ride suspension"?

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 2:09 pm 

KingDrive wrote:

Where ah cud go to get some advice on wat type of spring and shocks ah cud use from based on your advice....

work out the weight of your car, then determine the weight over each wheel.ideally you should use corner-weight scales
Based on this, u can choose springs with spring rates to match.........if you go with coil overs, you should be able to get dampers already matched to the spring rates u want, plus u can balance the corner weights..........stiffer springs = firmer ride and better handling......softer springs = softer ride, and worse handling, as the car will now squat and dive more, as well as roll more in the corners

KingDrive
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 3:36 pm 

KingDrive wrote:

work out the weight of your car, then determine the weight over each wheel.ideally you should use corner-weight scales
Based on this, u can choose springs with spring rates to match.........if you go with coil overs, you should be able to get dampers already matched to the spring rates u want, plus u can balance the corner weights..........stiffer springs = firmer ride and better handling......softer springs = softer ride, and worse handling, as the car will now squat and dive more, as well as roll more in the corners

BLESSINGS MY BROTHER.....

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 3:40 pm 

one more thing, a station wagon is designed to carry load, hence the stiffer springs. If you plan to carry load, softer springs will compromise your load-bearing capacity, as well as handling.......just remember, once you go with softer springs, the cornering limits of the car will be less, so no racedriver antics eh..........

KingDrive
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:14 pm 

one more thing, a station wagon is designed to carry load, hence the stiffer springs. If you plan to carry load, softer springs will compromise your load-bearing capacity, as well as handling.......just remember, once you go with softer springs, the cornering limits of the car will be less, so no racedriver antics eh..........

D only load I carrying is a couple of bass speakers...
I think I'll jus try using some KYB oil shocks with d original springs and see how that goes...
Got some basic specs from this site:
http://www.kyb.com.my/overview.html
Ah go update the trinituner posse on the results for future reference..... Blessings!