rottedv's projeck "Surflux Turbo" pg 6!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

rottedv's projeck "Surflux Turbo" pg 6!!!

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2012, 9:21 am

well guys, this is a different kinda trucks and pickups thread...this is a blood sweat and tears epic build thread.......

narration and pics will follow along as we plan, progress, chop, cut, buy, build, and break.....

so just some insights.....

owner: Imtiaz Ali aka rottedv
cheif engineer: droppa
build crew: Side-B
chassis: RN46 (TAG) 4WD 2DR
cab: LN130
tray: to be confirmed
paint: definitely not bomb-spray
engine: 3L 2.8 n/a, now to be 1KZ-TE
tranny: 2LT 4spd w/od, now 1KZ-TE 4sp w/od
shoes: BFG KM2 32s on 15 chrome 4X4 alloys
wiring:LN130
interior: LN130 dash, steering and fittings with lap seat (3 pers inc driver)
suspension, brakes and diffs remain stock until we driving

so from dat list one can see we basically using a LN130 Surfs cab on the RN46 chassis, with the engine from a LN106 hilux and tranny from a KZN130 surf.....

so far from buy the rottedvan we have removed the eng and 5frwd box and mated the tranny back to the engine, we have removed the Rn46 cab and have jus mocked up the LN130 bare frame, the chassis is rolling and will be soon going to Jeff to do some brackets and welding for us.....

when i touched back on this pic in the vault, ideas started to roll.........

but expect it to be more hard than dis......
Last edited by droppa on October 6th, 2012, 8:11 am, edited 2 times in total.

rottedv

Re: rottedv's projeck "Surflux 28"

Postby rottedv » April 15th, 2012, 9:35 am

Lol...chief engineer Droppa....
LMAO....definitely not bomb spray!!!!!

Yeah...I always wanted an old model single cab....Now I got one....time to make it droppafied!!!!
Will be epic when its done....Like a good mud bath!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2012, 9:43 am

[imgwh]Image[/imgwh]

hold dat and laff nahhhh

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 15th, 2012, 10:44 am

oh myy!! cant wait to see the progress of this... *awaits*

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 15th, 2012, 11:00 am

Nice project fellas!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2012, 1:05 pm

yup its a real nice project, but like all will take some time, we trying to push as much and have her up and running as soon as possible, then we will go onto lifting and stuff......

if anyone know Toyota, they will know of all the pickups of yesteryear the were least prone to chassis failure, and this one chassis stand up like man over the years!!!!!!!!!!

Postby sliderz1 » April 15th, 2012, 1:35 pm

eeeeeen

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 15th, 2012, 6:34 pm

Droppa where this taking place?
By you?
May i come and macko? Pls.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 15th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Terry, you could pass eeeen anytime...

venum

Postby venum » April 15th, 2012, 8:04 pm

sweet

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 16th, 2012, 9:04 am

Nice ... You just can't beat an old school lux!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2012, 9:11 am

^^ well you can beat it.. as much as you want....

droppa

Postby droppa » April 16th, 2012, 10:29 am

yup, this one take lixx like dat, well at least the beating i put on it......

we brought this from rio claro to la romain to cunupia in the weee hours of the night, then to grande and back for the tray load of parts u seeing on it, the grabox had 3 tighten bolts on it, and the bell housing cracked, and the two front apron let go from the cab and dis make it and back no issues...

taking some risks there, but she still proved faithful.....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 16th, 2012, 10:36 am

D way dis man drive it....And still reach where it had to reach....and still doo all that wok....when we see the apron detaching itself from the cab....we were like :shock: ....and we were like :roll: "Is a Hilux!!!"

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 16th, 2012, 9:50 pm

Nice project man, If you need help give me a shout!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 17th, 2012, 12:20 am

yeah man, anytime u wanna come tru and we workin on it jus pass in, make sure and bring cold ting eh......
the engine bay when we brought it in, 3L and 4Y 5fwd, working healthy and strong.......

they really made these to take some jamming.....

this were we at as of saturday morning, engine and box pulled out and cab started to scrap...

when you see these shoes on a jeep, you know is not no child's play thing....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 17th, 2012, 5:20 am

Yup...Build is going great....Don where you get that pic hoss? That van looking real bess!!! I wonder if it is d same chassis though...

So front surf shell on and just bought the doors...Now to mount onto the chassis..

Postby wagon r » April 17th, 2012, 9:56 am

...should be a very interesting build. Don....i feel i will take a pass when i get whatever i get.....

droppa

Postby droppa » April 17th, 2012, 10:49 am

no scene man.....

over the weekend we went and bought the bare surf half and brought it home. we took out this old cab, then coupled the tranny to the engine, that was on the ground and was waiting for some correct bolts, the engine and tranny was coupled and was set in place, both engine mounts were connected and tightened up, the tranny mount bracket will have some work to do as the 2LT trans is longer than the 4Y box, thus resulting in driveshaft work to be done too...... so the trans jus resting on a block of wood on the bracket, a temporary hold up.....by now the side b signal was out and more help had arrived....a few more bits were fixed and then later that evening the bare surf cab was moved into place.............

man start to get hungry so we went down by big daddy and lash some gryo..........

Jeff came and looked at the job and is ready to start some fabrication work for us, after that sh may go straight to Poon to complete the cab and then to the electrician to wire up.....

more pics and details to come.....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 17th, 2012, 5:42 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Droppa where this taking place?
By you?
May i come and macko? Pls.

Terry pass for me.....this starting to get interesting.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 17th, 2012, 10:19 pm

something missing from here man......

lucky to stumble on this, and price was even better deal.....

slightly brutalised, but still in great shape for out purpose
truck man say he is a wanted man, he keepin a low profile......

claries and monsterocky, "this ting have some weight boi"

no need for hiab with these guys.....

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2012, 2:25 am

This is going to be a monster!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 18th, 2012, 5:00 am

3stagevtec wrote:This is going to be a monster!

It already is !!!!

MonsterRocky

Postby MonsterRocky » April 19th, 2012, 12:12 am

droppa wrote:something missing from here man......

lucky to stumble on this, and price was even better deal.....

slightly brutalised, but still in great shape for out purpose
truck man say he is a wanted man, he keepin a low profile......

claries and monsterocky, "this ting have some weight boi"

no need for hiab with these guys.....

boi droppa u supposed to post sum pics wen we were taking it apart!!!that was real fun......

MonsterRocky

Postby MonsterRocky » April 19th, 2012, 12:15 am

rottedv wrote:D way dis man drive it....And still reach where it had to reach....and still doo all that wok....when we see the apron detaching itself from the cab....we were like :shock: ....and we were like :roll: "Is a Hilux!!!"

boi d man say dais hw toyota supposed to wrk!!!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 19th, 2012, 6:16 am

only a toyota driver can drive a toyota.......we real do it to that van on the way home from rio, guess was a make or break situation, and guess what, it didnt break, it brought us home, safely......

Postby Team Loco » April 20th, 2012, 12:28 am

Nice, but lemme know when you wanna turbo charge that 3L!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 20th, 2012, 5:12 am

Well loco, we have some questions for you!!!! I will call you today...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 20th, 2012, 6:11 am

rottedv wrote:Well loco, we have some questions for you!!!! I will call you today...

You got the right person there boy ...the original Hilux Ho!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 20th, 2012, 9:42 am

lol @ hilux ho......

yeah loco, i tell the man call yuh and talk with u on some matters of concern.....

btw, do u have any idea where we can source a back for the cab, the straightener says it will make life more easy and it will look better than is we jus sheet it off...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”