Wednesday, May 22nd, 2013

- It is currently Wed May 22, 2013 12:45 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

crazychinee
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:39 am 

I get a slight creak when gently releasing my brakes on mornings . I realize it progressivly gets less, and once the car has warmed up I dont hear it at all.
Any ideas? or is it just that the pads are "cold".

It's a sound like 2 metals rubbing together, or like bones cracking.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:43 pm 

I get that as well and I think it's because it's cold. Normal thing IMO.

Does it affect your braking performance?

nubbiecar
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:06 pm 

i does get that somein like a knockin sound..wat u tink dat means but on the left hand side of meh car

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:32 am 

the creak is because pads are cold

knocking may mean bad caliper pin or worn caliper or shim for pad has lost tension
try applying brakes when you hear it and see if it goes away
at least this way you can eliminate a suspension noise

crazychinee
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 5:44 am 

Dave wrote:
the creak is because pads are cold

knocking may mean bad caliper pin or worn caliper or shim for pad has lost tension
try applying brakes when you hear it and see if it goes away
at least this way you can eliminate a suspension noise

The application of brakes does make it go away.

I even get a slight knock when turning the steering, but if I depress the brakes ALL the way..it goes away as well.