brickman

Lee Sing: Do away with ‘Indian’ Arrival Day

Postby brickman » April 24th, 2012, 12:14 pm

Mayor: Do away with ‘Indian’ Arrival Day
By SASHA HARRINANAN Monday, April 23 2012

PORT-OF-SPAIN Mayor Louis Lee Sing has called on Government to make Indian Arrival Day (May 30) an all-inclusive event by removing the word “Indian” and encouraging the participation of all ethnic groups whose ancestors arrived in TT by boat.

“With the exception of the Caribs, all of our ancestors came here by boat. Whether they came as African slaves, as Indian indentured labourers on the Fatel Razack in 1845 or as Chinese and Syrian labourers...they all reached these shores by boat. So why restrict this public holiday to one group?” Lee Sing asked yesterday.

Citing the genocide of hundreds of thousands of minority Tutsi people by the majority Hutu people in the East African nation of Rwanda in 1994, Lee Sing said TT must work toward true harmony rather than parallel celebrations of different ethnic groups.

“We run the risk of becoming another Rwanda or another Bahrain, if we let existing racial tensions continue. Unity among our people must start with celebrating our common history and heritage, not by highlighting differences in each ethnic or racial group,” Lee Sing said.

The mayor said it was time to return to the original name, Arrival Day, the title given in1994 when the then Government declared May 30 as a public holiday to mark the arrival of the first group of Indian indentured labourers to Trinidad on May 30, 1845. In 1995, the holiday was renamed Indian Arrival Day.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday, Lee Sing said he planned to hold a march on May 30 to highlight the dangers of having separate celebrations for various ethnic groups. “A whole chunk of the population is being excluded by Indian Arrival Day. We owe it to ourselves, to the future unity and ethnic harmony of this country, to change the name to Arrival Day and encourage every group to celebrate their contributions to TT,” Lee Sing declared.

Questioned about the perception that Emancipation Day was geared toward celebrating the end of slavery in TT and therefore also excluded other groups, Lee Sing argued this too should become more inclusive.

“Emancipation Day should not be limited to the African community. While it marks the end of slavery, it should also celebrate the end of indentured labour in this country. While both holidays hold special significance to the Indian and African communities, we have got to find a way to bring our multi-ethnic people together and we should start by renaming some holidays and making others all-inclusive,” Lee Sing stated.

Re: Lee Sing: Do away with ‘Indian’ Arrival Day

Postby tr1ad » April 24th, 2012, 12:17 pm

Sat affi kick up

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2012, 12:22 pm

^ tr1ad came here by plane

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 24th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Kudos

Postby nemisis » April 24th, 2012, 12:24 pm

Awaits sats' rebuttal

Postby AllTrac » April 24th, 2012, 12:24 pm

good stuff, i agree.

Postby UML » April 24th, 2012, 12:25 pm

so he holding a march/protest/demonstration with a division of the society to encourage unity :?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 24th, 2012, 12:25 pm

There are way too many public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. We need to cut them down by about 75%.

Postby K74T » April 24th, 2012, 12:26 pm

brickman wrote:The mayor said it was time to return to the original name, Arrival Day

This.

Postby buzz » April 24th, 2012, 12:27 pm

I've always said we should do away with arrival and emancipation day :arrow:

Postby UML » April 24th, 2012, 12:30 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:There are way too many public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. We need to cut them down by about 75%.

if this from a businessman perspective...why not open for business and encourage ppl to shop? look how sundays slowly becoming a shopping day...as it shud be.

and even open later during the week because with the traffic situation ppl going to work before 8am and coming back after 6pm

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2012, 12:30 pm

only after we get rid of Corpus Christi first

Postby AllTrac » April 24th, 2012, 12:43 pm

to be honest i dont give 2 shits about what these holidays mean or represent because i dont indulge in the activities they have for it, Im just glad its a holiday for me to do my own thing. The could call it "." day for all i care, as long as its a holiday/

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 24th, 2012, 12:44 pm

UML wrote:if this from a businessman perspective...why not open for business and encourage ppl to shop? look how sundays slowly becoming a shopping day...as it shud be.

and even open later during the week because with the traffic situation ppl going to work before 8am and coming back after 6pm

In the field I work in, I am available to my clients anytime between 5:45 a.m. and 1:30 a.m., 7 days a week. I have never heard any of my clients complain about not being able to reach me.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 24th, 2012, 12:47 pm

agreed.

Postby AllTrac » April 24th, 2012, 12:48 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:In the field I work in, I am available to my clients anytime between 5:45 a.m. and 1:30 a.m., 7 days a week.

dan.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

yuh is ah bootycall orrrr??

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 24th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ tr1ad came here by plane

:lol: :lol: At least you said it.

AllTrac wrote:to be honest i dont give 2 shits about what these holidays mean or represent because i dont indulge in the activities they have for it, Im just glad its a holiday for me to do my own thing. The could call it "." day for all i care, as long as its a holiday/

AllTrac for governor general...

Postby tr1ad » April 24th, 2012, 1:00 pm

allyuh doh be on me eh....

me eh arsking fuh no arrival day thing

but if that is the way to go... change it to shouter day an done? not only baptist could shout on that day

Postby AllTrac » April 24th, 2012, 1:02 pm

doctored thread is doctored....

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 24th, 2012, 1:08 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ tr1ad came here by plane

in a grip

Postby foss » April 24th, 2012, 1:10 pm

so why my post get delete :roll:

Postby Bizzare » April 24th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:In the field I work in, I am available to my clients anytime between 5:45 a.m. and 1:30 a.m., 7 days a week.

:shock: damn..... customer service at it's best.... you only sleep 4 hrs and 15 mins?

Postby sharkman121 » April 24th, 2012, 1:14 pm

foss wrote:so why my post get delete :roll:

dey prolly doh like black ppl..

Postby foss » April 24th, 2012, 1:16 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
foss wrote:so why my post get delete :roll:

dey prolly doh like black ppl..

figures.....

I just thanked them for arriving :roll:

Postby sliderz1 » April 24th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:There are way too many public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. We need to cut them down by about 75%.

umm no eh

Postby TRAE » April 24th, 2012, 1:23 pm

what the fack is this shyt

Postby sharkman121 » April 24th, 2012, 1:24 pm

could have sworn this was "done away" with before and was just named arrival day.

Postby MG Man » April 24th, 2012, 1:26 pm

buzz wrote:I've always said we should do away with arrival and emancipation day :arrow:

I agree with the removal of 'indian'
Why can't we have one day that celebrates everyone's contribution to our nation

Emancipation Day needs to be kept though............not enough emphasis is placed on the triumph of humanity that this day represents

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 24th, 2012, 1:27 pm

hadda be 2012 in troot....

Lee Singh making some sense!

Postby Bizzare » April 24th, 2012, 1:31 pm

tr1ad wrote:but if that is the way to go... change it to shouter day an done? not only baptist could shout on that day

hmm... makes sense!

sadly, the opinion of a non-citizen is irrelevant.