Lee Sing: Do away with ‘Indian’ Arrival Day

Re: Lee Sing: Do away with ‘Indian’ Arrival Day

Postby Stephon. » April 24th, 2012, 1:36 pm

Bizzare wrote:
tr1ad wrote:but if that is the way to go... change it to shouter day an done? not only baptist could shout on that day

hmm... makes sense!

sadly, the opinion of a non-citizen is irrelevant.

LMFAOOO wtf :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby tr1ad » April 24th, 2012, 1:41 pm

buh bizzare come via plane too, from grenada

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » April 24th, 2012, 1:42 pm

that is an brilliant suggestion...... but because it is a 'african' man who make the suggestion, it will have aholes in society will want to kick up... but if was an 'east indian' he be praised with a brilliant idea..... dis world to wrong side yes.... as other said... awaits sat to open his trap...

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2012, 1:45 pm

Lee Sing is African?

Postby eliteauto » April 24th, 2012, 1:50 pm

Habit7 wrote:Lee Sing is African?

he's PNM therefore he is just like the thousands of East Indians that support the PNM

Postby hydroep » April 24th, 2012, 2:01 pm

Meh...Louis is being disingenuous.

Long before that holiday existed, Indian people used to celebrate the arrival of their ancestors...re-enacting the event, offering prayers etc. It was always a big thing among that ethnic group, so much so that they lobbied and got their holiday.

I don't recall any other ethnic group commemorating their "arrival" with the same level of fervor pre or post holiday. So logic would suggest that for those groups there were other aspects of their history which were more important to them.

So why try to make this a raci...ahem..."ethinic" issue now? Perhaps the impending vacancy at the PNM for the post of Political Leader has a little something to do with it...:lol:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 24th, 2012, 2:01 pm

this will nvr work.
the Indians will watch emancipation day and think it is wrong to take away their holiday and the African community will not consider changing their day either.
i say leave it as it is because if you do the racist Indian ppl will say the n-i-g-g-e-r man want to take away his holiday for his ppl and the racist African will say -yea take away their holiday they dont deserve nun all for we once you dont touch our holiday.

Trinidad is happy in its ignorance and its ignorance hides that fact that Trinidad is much more racially divided than anyone wants to admit

Postby sharkman121 » April 24th, 2012, 2:08 pm

adriano7910 wrote:Trinidad is happy in its ignorance and its ignorance hides that fact that Trinidad is much more racially divided than anyone wants to admit

yeh but i dont think we're still ignorant of that again though adriano...its too blatant now.

Postby BrotherHood » April 24th, 2012, 2:08 pm

Great idea IMO. All ah we come by boat.

Postby Bizzare » April 24th, 2012, 2:10 pm

tr1ad wrote:buh bizzare come via plane too, from grenada

:? wrong fella dan.

ray786 wrote:but because it is a 'african' man who make the suggestion

if he african then I must be african³ :|

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 24th, 2012, 2:20 pm

AllTrac wrote:to be honest i dont give 2 shits about what these holidays mean or represent because i dont indulge in the activities they have for it, Im just glad its a holiday for me to do my own thing. The could call it "." day for all i care, as long as its a holiday/

Postby rollingstock » April 24th, 2012, 2:23 pm

My grandfather was Malaysian, where's our forkin day huh?

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2012, 2:30 pm

Last edited by Habit7 on April 24th, 2012, 2:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 24th, 2012, 2:30 pm

He is Spanish, Chinee, and Injun!!!!!!!! So he bullin and tekin small toto also :)

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 24th, 2012, 2:42 pm

hydroep wrote:Meh...Louis is being disingenuous.

Long before that holiday existed, Indian people used to celebrate the arrival of their ancestors...re-enacting the event, offering prayers etc. It was always a big thing among that ethnic group, so much so that they lobbied and got their holiday.

I don't recall any other ethnic group commemorating their "arrival" with the same level of fervor pre or post holiday. So logic would suggest that for those groups there were other aspects of their history which were more important to them.

So why try to make this a raci...ahem..."ethinic" issue now? Perhaps the impending vacancy at the PNM for the post of Political Leader has a little something to do with it...:lol:

didnt know this though. if this is the case then it is a east indian celebration. interesting.

In that case add another holiday for the arrival of everyone else :lol: 1moredayhome

TriP

Postby TriP » April 24th, 2012, 3:25 pm

AllTrac wrote:to be honest i dont give 2 shits about what these holidays mean or represent because i dont indulge in the activities they have for it, Im just glad its a holiday for me to do my own thing. The could call it "." day for all i care, as long as its a holiday/

TriP

Postby TriP » April 24th, 2012, 3:32 pm

Lee Sing is a 'Ha Quai' = African-Chinee 8-)

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2012, 3:36 pm

Since Louis Lee Sing could be pigeonholed as African, what could be said about Anya Ayoung-Chee?

Postby nemisis » April 24th, 2012, 3:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:Since Louis Lee Sing could be pigeonholed as African, what could be said about Anya Ayoung-Chee?

And let the racial drafts begin!!!

Postby rollingstock » April 24th, 2012, 3:42 pm

Habit7 wrote:Since Louis Lee Sing could be pigeonholed as African, what could be said about Anya Ayoung-Chee?

Anyone that can comfortably take a c0ck up the ass so easily without flinching can be anything they want.

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2012, 3:43 pm

nemisis wrote:

And let the racial drafts begin!!!

:D :lol: :D :lol: :D :lol: :D :lol:

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » April 24th, 2012, 3:43 pm

isn't May 30, 1845 the specific date when all the ships came with the Indian indentured labourers?? that's why it's a historical holiday ... or did the chinese, syrians, lebanese, etc come around the same time? did they come as labourers too or were they merchants & traders? anyone knows?

Postby sliderz1 » April 24th, 2012, 7:10 pm

tr1ad wrote:allyuh doh be on me eh....

me eh arsking fuh no arrival day thing

but if that is the way to go... change it to shouter day an done? not only baptist could shout on that day

Baptist is a faith/religon not ethic as such

Postby UML » April 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm

Eid, Divali, Indian Arrival Day

Easter, Christmas, Shouter Baptiste, Corpus Christi, Emancipation, Carnival, etc.

:agrue:

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2012, 7:32 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:There are way too many public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. We need to cut them down by about 75%.

I agree.

Postby nemisis » April 24th, 2012, 7:40 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:There are way too many public holidays in Trinidad and Tobago. We need to cut them down by about 75%.

I agree.

why do you agree?

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2012, 8:24 pm

nemisis wrote:

I agree.

why do you agree?

1 - un-necessary decrease in productivity (we really need all these days? have one holiday for all and done except for eid and divali that you cant set a day for).

2 - Trinidadians usually make the day before and day after a holiday too (contributing to the decrease in productivity).

3 - holiday seem to be reason to drink, less loss of life on the road.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 24th, 2012, 8:33 pm

Once the holiday remains...it aint bothering me :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2012, 8:39 pm

de fork we celebrating arrival day and all dem nigs talkig bout mother africa and kewlies talking bout mother india, they want to un-arrive, be my fakking guest. None of us arrive, all of us born here, tek carnival and haul allyuh mc's.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 24th, 2012, 8:41 pm

nervewrecker wrote:de fork we celebrating arrival day and all dem nigs talkig bout mother africa and kewlies talking bout mother india, they want to un-arrive, be my fakking guest. None of us arrive, all of us born here, tek carnival and haul allyuh mc's.

Maybe they should go to Africa/India and see how things really are :lol: