Coffee drinkers

d spike

Re: Coffee drinkers

Postby d spike » April 27th, 2010, 4:23 pm

rodfarva wrote:
zcarz wrote:What brand of coffee do you drink?

whatever i can get..
today is nescafe

A fellow survivor. :lol:

Sometime in the early 90's, I had a 100lb bag of harvested beans on the estate that wasn't enough to warrant dragging off to the village to sell. So it was left in storage, the idea being to pick more and top up the bag. It got wet, and the hulls sloughed off (another legitimate way of hulling the beans, but I didn't know that). With the hardest part of processing the coffee done by old mammy nature, I decided to experiment in making my own coffee. Parching/Roasting the beans and then grinding them was fun in it's own way. Of course, I found out the hard way what happens when you roast it for a little too long - but it didn't taste that bad! In fact I still have a preference for a slightly burned flavoured coffee.
Boiling the crap out of coffee grounds murders the flavour, but too many camps with too few percolators have all but destroyed whatever palate I had.
Jose Perez comes very close to the flavour I remember, and I much prefer it over Hong Wing... but an addiction is only an addiction, so you grab the nearest thing (which ends up being HW) and take it home and boil it. As long as the aroma I get when I open the bag still makes me want to pass out LSD-style, I will drink it.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 29th, 2010, 8:17 pm

where can you get the blue mountain coffee to buy locally, of course.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2010, 8:23 pm

peppercorns has but its expensive.
its probably not fresh either.
coffee loses most of its original taste a couple weeks after roasting(if its whole bean)
ground beans lose after 15 minutes.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 29th, 2010, 8:29 pm

thanks^^

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2010, 8:36 pm

no prob, this is why the espresso sold locally is very watery, sour and bitter.
a proper espresso is thick and goopy, in fact a proper espresso might surprise a lot of people because it wouldn't be what they expect, they might either like or hate it.

brainchild

Anyone ever heard of "Kopi Luwak" coffee?

Postby brainchild » June 2nd, 2011, 2:24 pm

I heard a pound of kopi luwak can cost anywhere from $100 to $3,000, and a single cup may cost as much as $80...US dollars.

professor

Re: Anyone ever heard of "Kopi Luwak" coffee?

Postby professor » June 2nd, 2011, 2:29 pm

Quote from Wikipedia;
Sumatran kopi luwak farmer shows beans prior to cleaning and roasting, Sumatra, IndonesiaKopi luwak (Malay pronunciation: [ˈkopi ˈlu.aʔ]), or civet coffee, is one of the world's most expensive and low-production varieties of coffee. It is made from the beans of coffee berries which have been eaten by the Asian Palm Civet (Paradoxurus hermaphroditus) and other related civets, then passed through its digestive tract.[1] A civet eats the berries for their fleshy pulp. In its stomach, proteolytic enzymes seep into the beans, making shorter peptides and more free amino acids. Passing through a civet's intestines the beans are then defecated, keeping their shape. After gathering, thorough washing, sun drying, light roasting and brewing, these beans yield an aromatic coffee with much less bitterness, widely noted as the most expensive coffee in the world.

Kopi luwak is produced mainly on the islands of Sumatra, Java, Bali and Sulawesi in the Indonesian Archipelago, and also in the Philippines (where the product is called motit coffee in the Cordillera and kape alamid in Tagalog areas) and also in East Timor (where it is called kafé-laku). Weasel coffee is a loose English translation of its name cà phê Chồn in Vietnam, where popular, chemically simulated versions are also produced.

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2011, 2:30 pm

yes civet shite coffee wam to it
it bessss

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 2nd, 2011, 2:31 pm

Yeah, i know that much...just wondering if it sells down here

Postby DFC » June 2nd, 2011, 2:31 pm

yumm...tastes good.
i got to sample some at a hotel in zubai.

but i would not spend that amount of $$ on coffee..

zcarz

Postby zcarz » June 2nd, 2011, 2:32 pm

i'd love to try that some day

Postby foss » June 2nd, 2011, 2:33 pm

apparently the OP heard of it.

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » June 2nd, 2011, 2:40 pm

talk about drinkin sh!t

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 2nd, 2011, 2:42 pm

Yup, it's an expensive piece of ass!

Postby rollingstock » June 2nd, 2011, 3:32 pm

No thanks you all can keep that :sick:

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2011, 3:35 pm

Thats some goooooooooooooooood sheit man

Postby rollingstock » June 2nd, 2011, 3:39 pm

I go stick to mih hongwing

Postby K74T » June 2nd, 2011, 3:42 pm

jus cho sum coffee mate and it tastin normel normel

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 2nd, 2011, 3:49 pm

try cocoa from http://www.tobagococoa.com ....Trinidad Fine/Flavour cocoa.....probably the best in the world.
Last edited by ek4ever on June 2nd, 2011, 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » June 2nd, 2011, 3:49 pm

rdeonarine wrote:talk about drinkin sh!t

:lol: :lol: yup

slickrick777

WHICH COFFEE DO U DRINK?

Postby slickrick777 » April 26th, 2012, 12:48 pm

which coffee tastes the best, etc...

Re: WHICH COFFEE DO U DRINK?

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2012, 12:52 pm

hong wing in yuh MC

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » April 26th, 2012, 12:53 pm

Starbucks

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2012, 12:55 pm

Kopi Luwak

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 26th, 2012, 12:57 pm

Chief Coffee

Postby K74T » April 26th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Starbucks, Nescafe

Postby Trini Hookah » April 26th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Colcafe Vanilla

Postby wagonrunner » April 26th, 2012, 1:14 pm

Stag is the best

Postby dougla_boy » April 26th, 2012, 1:42 pm

slickrick777 wrote:which coffee tastes the best, etc...

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2012, 1:43 pm

Jablum, Blue Mountain, Baron hall estate.