Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby droppa » May 1st, 2012, 5:36 pm

yuh really not gonna get a MT in 16s dat size much cheaper outside there, i think its the new thread pattern bighorn he have now, which still has the agressive lug desing, but a bit more street friendly, noisy ah hell tho......

that size is comparative to a 33x11.5x16, and the cheapest MT i getting is nankang, which is the exact same thing as maxxis mudstar, oh and dat is 15s too...

check mileage, federal, quickserve and online!!!!!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 1st, 2012, 8:25 pm

fellas my Kumho MTs need changing soon and i wanted to try the BF Goodrich MT KM2 next. Just looking for some insight from anyone with experience with both tyres or even just the KM2. How well do they perform in the mud? I haven't had any problem with my Kumho's offroad but i just wanted to try out the BFs for a change. Which is the better tyre? I know the BFs are more expensive but that doesn't matter.

Thanks guys.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 1st, 2012, 10:11 pm

Both tyres have good on-road mannerisms.
Off road, they differ a little bit, both have their pro's and cons.

The BF KM2 - good on-road manners, good wet/dry traction. Will last a little longer than the KM2's, I believe they have a harder compound so will give you some more mileage than the Kumho KL71's. They also perform very well when climbing over obstacles, as they are modelled after the BFG Krawler rock-crawling tyres - when you air-down with these tyres they can climb almost anything (once you have the torque and balls to push it to the limit!). In deep, sticky mud, they don't do as well as the KL71's which are designed to dig-dig-dig-dig.

The KL71's are great on road as well, but from reports of ppl I know using them, they not lasting as long as the BFG KM2's. But they fare a little better than the KM2's in mud - their aggressive lug patter and bigger spaces between lugs will clear mud out a lot faster than the KM2's. Also the Kumho KL71's are a little bit cheaper than the KM2's (not by much).

Both are not so good in sand (eg. on las cuevas beach) as their aggressive tread patterns will allow the tires to dig very easily into the soft sand - even when aired down. For good sand driving, the BFG All Terrain actually performs better. But in our kind of local climate & terrain, Mud Terrains are best suited.

Bottom Line - both are good road tyres, BFG are better for crawling/climbing, KL71's are better for slippery/slushy mud

droppa

Postby droppa » May 1st, 2012, 10:33 pm

i had the KL71s on the surf and they were great, they excelled in every aspect, but i did find that they were starting to wear out a bit, esp since i love to leave corners hard......the only problem i really ever had with them was on beach sand, loose beach sand, they drill pretty quick, in no time a was axle deep in the rear, switch on 4H and rocked out, was a good test, but on 4H they have no problems.....on wet roads i feel they worked better, jus this mornin i talikng to claries about them and we had the same opinion, on dry roads they loose a bit of traction, but on mud, gravel and wet surfaces, its like claws come out the beads.......they helped me to win first place in the novice mud hogg at the total rally last september......

i cant speak as a KM2 owner, who knows maybe ill get a set, since they so popular these days they must be something worth buying, i have seem them in action and they do work well, the two trailblazers jeep that have them on (Harrys BT50 and Carltons Sportero) both get alot of road work, and these guys have not complained about them, i did a lil observation on the sportero and the beads were lookin to be holding up pretty good, and they were installed last year aug-sept.....

the kumho is way sexier than the bfg, and if was up to me and i had no problems with them, i was going back right there!!!!!!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 2nd, 2012, 1:12 pm

has anyone ever used nankang AT tyres on their van. Saw them by Kelly tyre shop this morning, $1100 or $1200 for one.
IMG-20120502-00323.jpg
IMG-20120502-00322.jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » May 2nd, 2012, 4:36 pm

i saw someone with a pair, he says it works good, but he is on road only and drives snail speed, paid $930 by mamoo try shop in warrenville......

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 3rd, 2012, 10:18 am

how everything in central have bess price

Cooper

Postby Cooper » May 3rd, 2012, 2:01 pm

...because where we live, there is balance in the force :lol:

venum

Postby venum » May 4th, 2012, 12:03 am

if you willing to spend $1100 - $1200 ea you can get the Kumho Road Venture A/T

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 4th, 2012, 6:25 am

^ yes I highly recommend that tyre for the price.

For $1145, the Kumho Roadventure AT KL78 are an excellent tyre.

Got over 70,000km on a set that we had on our frontier, lasted just about 3 years of highway driving.

Can't really say for the Nankang.... But another decent budget tyre is the Hercules Terra Trac. Buddy of mine has it on his Mazda B2500 and its doing quite fine both on and off-road.

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 4th, 2012, 9:30 am

fellas- my michelins ltx a/t 2 almost at the end of thier useful life....doing 75,000kms...time for new shoes...

quick one- how does the toyo open country A/T perform on highway....more specifically thread wear...is it durable?...i note they have threadwear of 500 but toyos are known to wear quite quickly...

Also im trying to get bf a/t's but like 16" hard to get....

Feedback is appreciated.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » May 4th, 2012, 9:56 am

the toyo open country is an excellent all-terrain, above average off the road and civilized on it....howevr its durability and km expectancy is fairly poor, i cant say exactly hw many kms the guys got outta their's but i knw that that's the reason they're loosin popularity atm

Postby equipped2ripp » May 9th, 2012, 1:45 am

The Open Country is a good tire, I went through 2 sets of them already in the past and they lasted fairly well. The real reason they aren't selling as much as before is the price, there are cheaper alternatives available now.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 9th, 2012, 1:56 am

anyone ever bought new or used MT or AT tyres from a guy who is advertising in the express 491-9159? i wouldn't mind buying a used set of 16" for my frontier. Anyone has used ones to sell?

how good is AT in grass/mud and MT on road? agricultural use so need a tyre that will not stick but majority of driving will be on road. Dont want to buy an expensive tyre that will wear out on road too fast. Saw BF 265/70-16 MT in Pt Lisas estate for @$2031 ea!!
Recommendations?

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 15th, 2012, 11:19 am

so I changed out my michelins ltx at2... after 77,000kms they looked like this...

they will now be used on a L200.....
michelin 2.jpg
michelin 1.jpg
Last edited by bt50 on May 15th, 2012, 11:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 15th, 2012, 11:21 am

replaced Michelins with Hankook Dyna Pro ATM - 265/75/16....
hankook 2.jpg
hankook 1.jpg

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 15th, 2012, 11:47 am

^^ nice tyres bruh...

Michelins didn't look so bad either... not yet on the safety bead indicators.. might still get a lil mileage out of them yet.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » May 16th, 2012, 7:10 am

real good service out of them michelins

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 16th, 2012, 8:51 am

Give us a price for those Hankook

Postby Team Loco » May 16th, 2012, 9:36 am

well its that time again. the forterras were a bit disappointing in how long they lasted, got just 25000kms out of them. i am looking to go with some 15" rims and tyres, probably some mt rims and 15" off road tyres. whats a borderline tyre that gives off road capabilities but good daily driver handling?

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 16th, 2012, 10:51 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ nice tyres bruh...

Michelins didn't look so bad either... not yet on the safety bead indicators.. might still get a lil mileage out of them yet.

thanks man

whilst they werent down to indicators- I started getting slight sliding on the rear when I drove through water...guess my right foot a bit heavy....lol

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 16th, 2012, 10:56 am

G-DUB wrote:real good service out of them michelins

once you keep your tyres properly inflated, regular rotation, check alignment, no burns out - it is anticipated that you should get the recommended useful life out of any tyre...I got 55,000kms on the OEM duelers that came on the BT50. Passed them on to a partner with a Ranger Thunder thereafter...he probably got about 3000kms from them.

BTW i referring to brand name tyres and not right angle triangle brands that I stay clear off

:mrgreen:

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 16th, 2012, 11:02 am

PariaMan wrote:Give us a price for those Hankook

Tyre Centre opp Licensing in POS....approx $1150 ea. got a discount

Given the size (75 vs70 ) i had to crank the torsions a bit-

265/75/16 Threadwear 560, tract A, temp B.

Went with these cuz buddy of mine with a BT50 installed same over 2 months ago and no complaints.

Plus I read some good reviews online as well....

Will post up my first impressions after I do 5000kms with some offroad activities included.

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 16th, 2012, 11:06 am

Team Loco wrote:well its that time again. the forterras were a bit disappointing in how long they lasted, got just 25000kms out of them. i am looking to go with some 15" rims and tyres, probably some mt rims and 15" off road tyres. whats a borderline tyre that gives off road capabilities but good daily driver handling?

Sumitomo Serengeti
Firestone destination ATX

Partner used Sumitomo on a l200 from Sando to Trinmar every day for some years well...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 16th, 2012, 11:21 am

Team Loco wrote:well its that time again. the forterras were a bit disappointing in how long they lasted, got just 25000kms out of them. i am looking to go with some 15" rims and tyres, probably some mt rims and 15" off road tyres. whats a borderline tyre that gives off road capabilities but good daily driver handling?

You already know what im gonna rcommend.... The BFG A/T all terrains.
Mine have 30,000km on them and hardly any wear at all.
Road manners: dry roads - excellent grip, as good as any highway tyre. Wet roads - bring on the puddles!! I hit a patch of water on the highway at 65kms and the navara didnt even flinch (the guys waiting at the ligt on the other side of the highway got a nice washdown)

They not cheap but you'll see and feel every single dollar that you spend go into each and every mile you put onto those tyres, trust me!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 16th, 2012, 11:21 am

bt50 wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Give us a price for those Hankook

Tyre Centre opp Licensing in POS....approx $1150 ea. got a discount

Given the size (75 vs70 ) i had to crank the torsions a bit-

265/75/16 Threadwear 560, tract A, temp B.

Went with these cuz buddy of mine with a BT50 installed same over 2 months ago and no complaints.

Plus I read some good reviews online as well....

Will post up my first impressions after I do 5000kms with some offroad activities included.

Thanks I have some MAXXIS

Not really satisfied with how long they lasted
They are doing about 35000 and they are well on their way out.
Will have to buy just now!

rez

Postby rez » May 16th, 2012, 8:22 pm

hey people i just bought a d21 terrano and i need two tyres 31x10.50 r15 A/T
i am looking for really good used or best cheap new ones but work really good i have two terra track in the front need them for the back . tanks in advance

rez

Postby rez » May 16th, 2012, 8:24 pm

ohh sorry please pm me or call 742-8552 if u have any to sell

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » June 13th, 2012, 11:39 pm

hello what is the largest MT tires i can fit in my navara with out having any rubbing issues i am looking at the KL71 or KM2 not sure on which one yet any ideaa on how big i can go

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 16th, 2012, 1:50 am

If you going MT, you can fit up to a 31x10.5R16.

BFG offers the KM2 in metric sizes as well - so 275/70R16 is max in the KM2.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”