Finally got my 4x4

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
trinibajan34

Re: Finally got my 4x4

Postby trinibajan34 » March 26th, 2012, 11:08 pm

wagon r wrote:^ i have 2 bottles of that home if yuh want. 1 never opened, the other prob. used 1/3 to top up bottle.

yes please thank you very much.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 26th, 2012, 11:12 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
sweeks wrote:Trinibajan congrats ... About time eh .... look out for overheating

thanks sweeks you of all ppl should know how long i trying to earn a pickup , so far no issues (knock on wood) i look forward to driving that pickup everyday since i got it. i feel like a kid with new toy. keeping a very close eye on that temp gauge. so far it good.

Flush the cooling system and change the thermostat as you get the chance.. Use a 30% coolant - 70% water mix and a good coolant, from Shell or Castrol etc..

Add a water surfactant too, but NOT the redline product. Don't take any chances with that engine, do the right maintenance early. We have the same engine and it's running strong still

where did you get your thermostat?

venum

Postby venum » March 26th, 2012, 11:26 pm

civic minded wrote:saw some pictures online and damn for an Indian pickup - this thing is ugly;
http://www.wheels24.co.za/NewModels/Wor ... p-20060418

you was expecting Bollywood looks or wha :?:

maybe if it named Aishwarya, not Mahindra

3stagevtec wrote:That is pre mixed, I was really referring to the concentrate + water.. Coolant (or anti freeze) has a lower specific heat capacity than water, so it does not cool as well.

Coolant increases the boiling point of water + adds lubrication to the water pump and adds rust inhibitors. Using too much coolant (like above a 50/50 mix) can decrease the efficiency of your cooling system.

We don't need the 50/50 mix for our climate because there is zero possibility of freezing. That is why I recommended the 30/70 (coolant/water) ratio.. Some even recommend a 20/80 mix, but I choose the 30/70 for the extra rust protection..

Personally I'd strongly recommend you mix your own coolant / water as you can get the ratio to better suit our hot climate.

agreed, buy the concentrate and mix in water is better for our climate than the pre-mix that caters for all operating environments like snow etc

Shell Glycoshell is great, have it in the Lancer now and in the previous L200

will prob use it in Teri when I need to change instead of teh Mitsu long life

Bajan, these fellas with experience with teh WL's giving good advice

don't rush to do too much with it yet, it is a good working vehicle, so give it a couple months as it si now to establish a baseline and get comfortable with it before doing upgrades and mods

check previous owner for the service history, even if it is verbal and not written and determine\prioritize the service needed

I don't expect that you would have much as he used to treat it well

the wash history may be the shortest list, you might have to make up for these

you prob done pass his count already

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 27th, 2012, 12:34 am

got it washed sunday :), yeah i must have called bout 50 times since i got the van lol. no mods as yet
got the service history already, wrote it down and keeping track. Oils and filters bought yesterday.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2012, 8:57 am

trinibajan34 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
sweeks wrote:Trinibajan congrats ... About time eh .... look out for overheating

thanks sweeks you of all ppl should know how long i trying to earn a pickup , so far no issues (knock on wood) i look forward to driving that pickup everyday since i got it. i feel like a kid with new toy. keeping a very close eye on that temp gauge. so far it good.

Flush the cooling system and change the thermostat as you get the chance.. Use a 30% coolant - 70% water mix and a good coolant, from Shell or Castrol etc..

Add a water surfactant too, but NOT the redline product. Don't take any chances with that engine, do the right maintenance early. We have the same engine and it's running strong still

where did you get your thermostat?

Original stuff from firm..

We are currently looking for a lower temp aftermarket thermostat..

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 27th, 2012, 9:54 am

Check it out and report on!

Postby Team Loco » March 27th, 2012, 11:02 am

Don't wash that van, its not use to it. Things may go wrong

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 27th, 2012, 11:35 am

BTW A lot of the mechanical and consumable parts are the same with the B2500 and BT-50.

Postby wagon r » March 27th, 2012, 8:42 pm

^...even as far back as the B1600...!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 27th, 2012, 9:06 pm

Team Loco wrote:Don't wash that van, its not use to it. Things may go wrong

it had to wash tl, couldn't have it looking dirty.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 28th, 2012, 1:48 pm

Can any body give me the original part numbers for the Oil,Fuel and air filter

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 29th, 2012, 1:28 pm

can i get the number for Roc in the bamboo

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 31st, 2012, 2:13 pm

Send a PM to Filterproz on the forum, he should be able to help you in getting the correct filters at a reasonable price.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 31st, 2012, 2:52 pm

Thanks Cooper

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 1st, 2012, 2:05 am

venum wrote:Fleck KC, PIAA FTW

venum where you getting piaa lights to buy localy ?

venum

Postby venum » April 13th, 2012, 4:45 pm

Nowhere

Amazon

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 15th, 2012, 11:29 am

thanks

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 24th, 2012, 12:44 pm

Washed the Van Sunday and got it waxed.TL nothing has gone wrong after it washed.
IMG-20120422-00302.jpg

Postby 3stagevtec » April 24th, 2012, 1:41 pm

^ Look at that shine!!!!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 24th, 2012, 4:24 pm

loving this van everyday

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 26th, 2012, 2:20 pm

Looks kinda odd as it's clean ..... and kinda naked without the lights :lol:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 5th, 2012, 8:07 pm

(one thing i would advise any used diesel owner, esp used wlt's, is to install a good external temperature gauge, sometime wiring and dash readings can take a while to respond, and that lil 2mins can cost a new head or engine...)

does an external water temperature gauge for a car differ from a pickup?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 6th, 2012, 12:11 pm

anybody ? does an external water temperature gauge for a car differ from a pickup?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 6th, 2012, 2:03 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:anybody ? does an external water temperature gauge for a car differ from a pickup?

No difference. It is simply plumbing a temperature sensor into the coolant path and wiring it to the gauge. There are adapters that you can use to make the install very simple and fast.

They look like this..

Good aftermarket gauges will be FAR more accurate and will show fluctuations in temp more easily than the stock gauge.

I would recommend you invest in this upgrade.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 6th, 2012, 2:07 pm

Greddy water adapters here..

http://www.greddy.com/products/electronics/gauge-accessories/?partnum=16401634

measure your coolant line and buy accordingly.. or you can DIY an adapter at a machine shop..

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 6th, 2012, 2:27 pm

^thanks 3stage

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 6th, 2012, 2:31 pm

what reading to get it in C or F?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 6th, 2012, 2:49 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:what reading to get it in C or F?

Your preference.. Most thermostats are rated in degC and generally rated around 80degC.. so that way you can make reference to the thermostat set temp easily.

but it wouldn't matter in the long run because you could easily convert the 80degC to degF and work from there..

Focus on a reputable / accurate gauge.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 6th, 2012, 3:00 pm

scene ,looking at getting one from glowshift

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”