how to fix a dropped door?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

COROLLA KID

how to fix a dropped door?

Postby COROLLA KID » May 7th, 2012, 3:52 pm

how do you fix a car door that has a drop, meaning when i open my door the door itself drops a little, as if the hinges are worn...do i replace the hinges or is there a kit with bushings which i can buy?..is there any one with some straightening skills or have seen what the straighteners do in these cases willing to give me some tips? its a EG9 civic BTW
thanks in advance..

ruffnek

Re: how to fix a dropped door?

Postby ruffnek » May 7th, 2012, 4:01 pm

if you have time, take out and carry hinge to auto supplies shop, where you will get bushings to buy... and its a do it yourself operation...

if it was up to me, i would just replace with f.used

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » May 7th, 2012, 4:03 pm

New or F/U hinges.
RR

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » May 8th, 2012, 7:55 am

where can i get those hinges to buy? any place in south?

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » May 8th, 2012, 10:04 am

i buy most of my parts from the shop on suchit trace, penal...on the right side, if you goin in from penal area about 6min in

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » May 8th, 2012, 8:22 pm

talk to speedfreak. i think he did his when he had his. cool fella so doh fraid to ask him

shady23

Postby shady23 » May 9th, 2012, 9:01 am

Same thing happen to mine, I buy the hinges by bick's, cost $100 a pair. I changed it but same problem. So I dunno if it need adjusting properly or what. Best you carry it by a straightener, they won't charge much.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » May 9th, 2012, 9:11 am

some other honda men had a problem with a drop when they opened the door. they thought it was the hinge but bought some metal bushings at a place in arima (popular parts place.) shaved the top of the bushing a little and they said it fixed the issue.

not sure if applicable just throwing out ideas

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » May 9th, 2012, 10:53 am

When the lower hinge is bad.... plenty straightners add washers between the door and the hinge to build up the wear on the bushings(very cheap work) but i personally, dont ever recommend...

just thinking that the hinge bushings is worn and then cover it up by adding washers... just doesn't cut it...

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » May 9th, 2012, 10:57 am

have to go very early to buy a p08 ecu for my eg8, will keep a eye out for you

any one have a p08 ecu for sale ?

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » May 9th, 2012, 11:34 am

thanks for looking out.
I'll still check a straightening garage up my side an ask some questions

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 9th, 2012, 3:41 pm

i have a right side door and a rear door. Give me something for them both.

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » May 10th, 2012, 4:59 am

the bushing could change, use the brass ones.. the pin has to knock out first. u cant do it by urself cuz u will ketch ur ass to line up back the door...

or as tuners said, oem hinges ftw

rism

Postby rism » May 10th, 2012, 5:30 am

just change the bushings op, they cost abt $10 for one last time i checked, you'll need 4 for each door

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » January 11th, 2013, 8:43 pm

you get through with this problem bro?I have this same problem but an entire doors is 500 so any advice appreciated.Thanks

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » January 12th, 2013, 1:12 pm

Boy my engine come an spin a bearing, so the car by the mechanic park up/fixing for the longest while now..
didn't even get a chance to start to fix them doors yet..

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » January 13th, 2013, 4:41 am

COROLLA KID wrote:Boy my engine come an spin a bearing, so the car by the mechanic park up/fixing for the longest while now..
didn't even get a chance to start to fix them doors yet..

guess thats how it is when u have a project yes....good luck...i'll check around for some bearings

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » February 19th, 2013, 6:57 am

Juteram's Auto Supplies in Sande Grande and Arima has these civic door bushings for $8 for one but before you buy them make sure to carry the oem bushing for a match. I have a padna in Barackpore side who does the work for small money if anyone's interested. Once the bushing are in the door will not make cracking or breaking sounds. Numbers and location for Juteram's are listed below.

27 Gunapo Street, Arima, Trinidad
Phone: 667-4058

Eastern Main Road on yuh left before NEDCO
Sangre Grande
668-0982

Return to “HONDA”