car advice

mattu

car advice

Postby mattu » May 10th, 2012, 4:19 am

So it turns out im not moving back trini and instead will remain in Canada to work for a bit therefore i will need to buy a car. Being a car oriented forum i figure this is a good place to get some input on the matter especially from the foreign tuners

Criteria: 1) good on gas 2) Reliable 3) easy and cheap to maintain 4) looks... in that order

PLEASE dont say anything with a 5.7 V8 or any nonsense like that. The main purpose of the car is to get work and back.. as well as some liming

Budget: $15G cdn MAX!!

So far i have checked out so far:
2004 Acura RSX
2006- 2008 accords (2.4 & 3.0 L)
2008 civic both 2&4dr
2007 CRV AWD
2007 Camry 2.4 & 3.0 L
2002 mazda protege 5 2.0l (bess price)
2005-2008 mazda 3 2.0 & 2.3L
2007 mazda 6 (2.3l)
2007 mazda Tribute AWD
2006 Nissan altima (2.5L)
2003 Nissan murano AWD
2008 VW jetta (1.8T)
2005 A4 avant Quattro (1.8T)
2007 A4 (kinda exceeding the budget)

I am used to driving in snow but i have never driven anything but a AWD SUV, so im kinda iffy of fwd cars but price and gas are major issues

out of the lot what yall think? alternative options are welcomed
thanks

Re: car advice

Postby cinco » May 10th, 2012, 8:37 am

look for anything newer than 06 depending on where in canada u are it already has 6 years of salt and rust on it

Postby foss » May 10th, 2012, 8:48 am

don't flip this one eh. :|

mattu

Postby mattu » May 10th, 2012, 9:21 am

@cinco, i noticed a lot of the cars have these corrosion kits on them (i am assuming cathodic protection)... so far none of the cars that i have seen had any signs of rust on them but good point i will pay closer attention to that

@foss, LOL nah hos i have not flipped anything for a while. Funny enough that was the first thing i thought when i started looking at accords LOL

Postby foss » May 10th, 2012, 9:26 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: yea I heard those accords can be tricky :shock:

Good luck with whatever you buy... you should get a reliable mechanic to check the car through before you buy. See if you can get records of previous maintenance records, etc..

Good luck!

mattu

Postby mattu » May 10th, 2012, 5:29 pm

thanks man

Postby crazybalhead » May 10th, 2012, 5:33 pm

What about an Imprezza? 4wd will help in the snow, should not be too bad on gas, and the hatch not bad looking.

My two padnas in Canada drive very different vehicles, one a mazda 3, that seems to be wukkin ok for a long commute, and the next one who is on tuner now and then drives a CRV and a G35, well more the G35, wifey drives the CRV.

So it's a realllll personal choice.

Postby maj. tom » May 10th, 2012, 5:35 pm

I think the monthly insurance rates in Ontario, Canada going to surprise you after you spend that CAD$15 000