3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

nicholas7129

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby nicholas7129 » May 4th, 2012, 1:55 pm

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » May 7th, 2012, 10:09 pm

tried taking pics at night tell me if i am doing something wrong . I used a GE X5 bridge camera also have a fujifilm HS20exr

napster16

Postby napster16 » May 8th, 2012, 12:30 am

nicholas7129 wrote:tried taking pics at night tell me if i am doing something wrong . I used a GE X5 bridge camera also have a fujifilm HS20exr

Try messing with your ISO and shutterspeed a bit more. Being a bridge camera I believe the aperture has only 2 selections, so you used the 1 that the camera decided?

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » May 8th, 2012, 12:40 am

i had the camera in shutter priority mode at 2 seconds i dont know much

napster16

Postby napster16 » May 8th, 2012, 12:43 am

nicholas7129 wrote:i had the camera in shutter priority mode at 2 seconds i dont know much

Perhaps if you don't prefer full manual mode as yet. Use Aperture priority for shooting at night... so that's all you set... and the ISO I guess as well... (probably about 400-800 iso for your lighting conditions)

It is more advisable to practice shooting in manual mode however, you are in more control...

http://www.geofflawrence.com/shutter_speeds_and_apertures.html

http://www.facethelight.com/aperture.php

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » May 8th, 2012, 12:45 am

good tanx for the info

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » May 8th, 2012, 4:38 am

Point and Shoot at the Mall last Monday

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » May 8th, 2012, 12:21 pm

Finally got myself a digital camera and new to the photography hobby.
Some of my pics so far. What y'all think?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 8th, 2012, 12:46 pm

salvation4U wrote:Image

thats the woodlands mall?

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » May 8th, 2012, 12:53 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:
salvation4U wrote:

thats the woodlands mall?

Its First Colony Mall, a pretty decent shopping area imo and lots of places to eat.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 10th, 2012, 1:40 pm

This is my oldest lens - a Nikkor "Q" series, 135mm f/2.8 MANUAL FOCUS lens.

Made in 1977, it's an AI-Modified model, meaning it originally didn't have a coupling ring or any way of transmitting the aperture size/f-stop to the camera body. After it was AI-modified, it can now allow the camera to set the exposure for you in "Aperture Priority" mode, or you can do it manually with "Manual Mode".

It's manual-focus only, meaning you have to turn the focusing ring to get your image in focus. It's a bit challenging at first when you start out, but when you get it right, it feels really good to get a clean, crisp and well focused image! I've had it for about 3 years now and I hardly use it, but it's really fun to use! It's totally made of metal, so it's a HEAVY lens, and the focusing ring is actually silky-smooth! It's a real pleasure to turn that ring and watch your image glide into sharpness, and then *click* - great picture!!

(note: it will meter on DXXX series Nikons (D100, D200, D300, D700, etc.) but on the D40 series and D60 series, it will only meter in Manual Mode - hence it's manual aperture/shutter settings and manual focus, turning your D40 into a totally old-school camera!!!).

Here's a shot of the lens mounted on my D200, just took this pic....

I put my 18-70mm f/3.5-4.0 AF-S DX kit lens next to it for comparison.

Here's a few test-shots that I just took outside my house, before the rain started falling about 10 mins ago.... (all shots were taken at a wide-open f/2.8, variable shutter speed with center-weighted metering, and ISO 500 - yeah my D200 is really sh!tty with light sensitivity... bleh)

Pretty sharp, for a 36-year old lens!!

Stopped at f/2.8

Aperture set to f/4.0 - compare the bokeh to the f/2.8 pic above....

.... and then set to f/8.0 - what a sharp lens, even if it's an old-classic!!!

So... tuners, what old and classic lenses do you guys have??

Postby RBphoto » May 10th, 2012, 2:39 pm

lighthammer wrote:So... tuners, what old and classic lenses do you guys have??

I have a few, but the ones that actually work properly:

1) Canon 50-200mm (Non-L version). One of the first EF lenses on the market. Little info on the net about it. I leant it out to someone to test for me on a digital body as i don't want to waste film on it if it is not working properly. Will see if it is good next week.

2) Mamiya 80mm, black lens (sharper than the silver bodied lenses) for the C220, one of the few TLR with interchangable lenses.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 12th, 2012, 7:21 pm

Couple shots taken today: Now I am not a people photographer so my images aren't really much good in my opinion... for example first pic was a color but flash was on and way over exposed the shot, so I ran black and white and cropped it to her facial area... came out ok"ish"

second one was a monochrome setting with a slight contrast adjust

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 13th, 2012, 10:19 am

You shoot with monochrome settings in camera? Its better to do that in PP.
First shot. Turn the body 45degrees to you so that the other arm can be seen. In the pic she looks like a one arm person.Her expression isnt bad either.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 13th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Went and watch turtles last night...

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2012, 3:31 pm

oh oh

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 13th, 2012, 7:31 pm

trini mk5 wrote:You shoot with monochrome settings in camera? Its better to do that in PP.
First shot. Turn the body 45degrees to you so that the other arm can be seen. In the pic she looks like a one arm person.Her expression isnt bad either.

Thanks for the info. the first shot was a normal color shot but the flash was on so it over exposed the pic: it wasn't even really a prepped shot (she was talking to someone else and got the candid). so I just made the most of it and made it black and white, then cropped...

The second I wanted to try with the monochrome settings... never used it so did it for the hell of it.

Here's another; was just mucking about really... didn't setup the camera properly for this but was shooting for the hell of it too.

Postby DVSTT » May 16th, 2012, 4:32 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RCT-YMgj ... ntext-vrec

The 7D is surprisingly durable! Did not expect this at all!

Postby wagonrunner » May 16th, 2012, 4:40 pm

Is white lights i'm seeing while turtles are on the beach? ignance is erything yes.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 16th, 2012, 5:09 pm

^^^ That's what I was wondering .

Postby SMc » May 17th, 2012, 2:57 am

Up in Grand Riviere last month...did not take the camera out the night before as didn't see the point

Nothing flashy by 'SMc', on Flickr

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 18th, 2012, 12:37 am

^^ The guides at matura said we can use regular lights/flash/strobes when the turtle starts to lay eggs - by that time she's so focused and distracted by the egg laying process that the light no longer bothers her.

Its only when she's coming up on the beach that we're not allowed to use lights unless it's a red-light.
Apparently the lights mimic the shine of predator's eye/retina's as the turtle comes up on the beach, hence she will turn around and head out to ocean, then come back in a couple hours later to try to lay again.

No worries though, I was doing long-exposures most of the time (handheld, that's why some pics were slightly blurry), so I minimized the use of my flash.

Terran

Postby Terran » May 18th, 2012, 6:32 am

^^ Same thing was explained to my group, and we went last Friday. I too was doing long handheld exposures, but my group was 100+ with kids and everyone was anxious to get a good view. Lots of bumps, and just when you think you're steady, you're sinking into the soft sand.

Postby SMc » May 23rd, 2012, 2:26 pm

The flasher by 'SMc', on Flickr
Last edited by SMc on May 25th, 2012, 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » May 23rd, 2012, 4:14 pm

Experimenting with a +4 macro filter on a fujifilm HS20exr

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 23rd, 2012, 11:17 pm

^^ i touched the screen and i get a picker in mih finger!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2012, 12:40 am

For all you budding young photographers out there who want to take your picture-taking to the next level.... or just want to grow as an artist and see your horizons expanded... you HAVE to read this list of

"21 things you can do today to change your photography"

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » May 24th, 2012, 7:53 am

Thanx light will read and try to improve

Postby RBphoto » May 24th, 2012, 8:01 am

^^^Ok read, and a few good points. ^^^2 best photo tutorials in action 21 is pure crock. External lighing and HDR will revolutinize your photography?...please. Also noted that these was no mention that you could try a film camera and develop some film to help with your pre-visualization..... even a disposable self.

Postby SMc » May 25th, 2012, 8:58 pm

Apologies for the wildlife pictures..

Mission impossible by 'SMc', on Flickr

bats maybe?

BAt Smc by 'SMc', on Flickr