What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Cooper

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby Cooper » April 18th, 2012, 6:53 am

droppa wrote:drive along munroe rd from the highway in an easterly direction, as if you are heading to the SMR, landmarks to be passed, matrix paint shop, dinesh muffler shop, kaljam ali auto, matches bar, lomart school of accounting, flashing amber lights, not too far after that u will see midway poultry depot and the tune up shop, right there,

its on the left side of the road, as of all these landmarks.....

the black bottle castrol, CRB turbo is $179 there, $190-$195 other parts place

while ur there u can pick up some amsoil DC and cetane boost, good price too...

man give detail directions dey :!:

I just tell everyone to look for the meat shop on the left a couple buildings after the mosque.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » April 19th, 2012, 1:34 am

PTME wrote:so wat about Chevron delo, is that any good?

Been using delo for a couple months and hv no complaints with it, a quality mineral for a dam gd price! Jus be sure to change every 5,000kms since the LE version was developed for use with low sulphur diesel and ultra low sulphur diesel, not the piss-poor stuff we got here

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 23rd, 2012, 1:01 pm

Been reading around on the interwebz and I found an interesting site.
A guy basically cuts open most of the popular oil filters available on the (american) market and has a look at the internal guts of each filter. He seems to be an experienced person when it comes to maintaining vehicles (though he doesnt' claim to be a certified mechanic or auto engineer) and he makes a comprehensive comparison between each filter that he looks through.

http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilters/opinions.html

And here are his comparisons between each filter (includes pics of each filter cut open and exploded views) :

http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilters/reference.html

WHat do you guys think?

Personally, I've used original Nissan, Bosch, Fram and Purolator. I like Bosch the best out of them, because of the price (costs less than the original nissan) and good performance out of them.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 23rd, 2012, 1:39 pm

last oil change i switched from Castrol CRB Turbo to the Total Rubia 7400, anyone else using it?
how do you find its performance to be?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 23rd, 2012, 2:38 pm

I'm with the Total Rubia TIR 7400 right now.. No complaints at all, and much cheaper than my old favourite the Rimula R4...

I will definitely go back with the rubia again next change...

How much was it and where you got it?

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 25th, 2012, 7:01 pm

D22 yd25 shell rimula R3 X

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » May 25th, 2012, 7:05 pm

i am thinking of using valvoline premium blue 15-40
what is the word on dat

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 26th, 2012, 7:12 pm

Fellas, where can i get the OEM filters for the frontier besides N&M. Some where convenient caroni side or environs.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 26th, 2012, 8:06 pm

pm filterproz de man got bessssssssss prices he on fb as well

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 26th, 2012, 10:53 pm

^^ what this guy said...

Postby sliderz1 » May 26th, 2012, 11:07 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Fellas, where can i get the OEM filters for the frontier besides N&M. Some where convenient caroni side or environs.

FilterProz --> viewtopic.php?f=6&t=440805&start=0

and ROC in the Bamboo as well

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 27th, 2012, 11:43 am

Thanks again guys,
What level do you all run your oil?
Is it on the top mark on the dip stick or pass the mark a little, the last owner ran the level pass the top mark it sound alot more silent. My engine is the zd30 right now i am using the shell r3 it is not running good, i am not pleased........i do about 3000kms a month easy any suggestions?
Thanks.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 28th, 2012, 2:11 am

Hmm.. I don't usually run over the mark simply because the theory is that it can place additional strain on your crankshaft seals... How true this is for such a small difference, I can't say..
So, I try to go to the top mark and it usually makes it to about mid-marks by time I am ready for an oil change..

Concerning the ZD30, try stepping up your oil a little bit.. No need to jump at $400 oil changes etc but maybe the Rimula R4 may serve you well..

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 28th, 2012, 6:30 am

Yeah i usually donot go over also.
The shell r4 looks like my next oil to try...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 28th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Shell R4 works well in our ZD30 frontier - idles smoothly and good power response.

Thumbs up from me.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 28th, 2012, 8:10 pm

You all would be amaze by the amount of mechanics advise me to use np ultra.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 28th, 2012, 10:04 pm

Sniper, try 15w-40 eh.. Not sure what other grades they sell in R4, but I really don't think you will need a 50 body oil (if you are currently using that)

Interestingly the Total Rubia 7400 TIR seems quite similar to R4 in terms of performance for me, a bit cheaper too

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 28th, 2012, 11:17 pm

Yeah i will stick to the 15w40.
Thanks.

droppa

Postby droppa » June 5th, 2012, 5:12 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:You all would be amaze by the amount of mechanics advise me to use np ultra.

almost all of them rice boys who beating their surf daily advise me to use np engine and transmission oil, they saying thats what they use on all their vehicle and equipments, and it works!!!!!!!!!

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » June 28th, 2012, 1:47 pm

From my experience having own three 4x4...and travellling from Aranguez to penal 5 times a week..
Schaffer 15w-40 ,,,and can give you up to 15k(Never left it longer,,,even thou they say 20k
Plus use there diesel treatment....every 3k

I have tried, Royal Purple, Amsoil-----give me 8k good, but after that, Burns out in diesel engine and increases vibration, etc
Castrol, shell Rimulax, mobil 1 delvac - Needed to change oil every 6-7k, worst oils I used.
Never used Total, NP ,,,,i afraid of putting them thing in my van.....

My experience is apart from using a good oil,,,,change your fuel filter and air filter every 3k.....In the long run,,,,,you diesel engine wiill feel no different.......

Mamoo-G

Postby Mamoo-G » June 28th, 2012, 9:21 pm

Shell R2 in my pajero, runnin good so far.

bt50

Postby bt50 » June 29th, 2012, 8:24 am

I used the following oils in my van- (fyzabad to Port of spain for the last 4.5yrs)

1) Shell Rimula X (black bottle) - for the first 15,000kms - this oil is the pits- van lazy after the oil does 4000km
2) Mobil 1 Delvac- now this is the deal- ran this for 100,000kms at 10,000kms interval. If the price for this didnt go through the roof will still be using same
3) Total 4X4 diesel - 5,000km- won 2 gallons of this in trailblazers rally so i used it-works fine however its a 50 viscosity vs 40
4) Gulf Supreme duty - 15,000kms so far- 5000km intervals. Works great -reasonably priced.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » June 29th, 2012, 10:14 am

but hw allyuh fraid cheap oil so?? at $100 per gallon and 5,000km oci's d chevron wukkin bess #nocomplaints

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 30th, 2012, 1:26 pm

The Schaffer 15w-40 sounding interesting hommes.

Val

Postby Val » June 30th, 2012, 9:50 pm

I found that I'm burning through a full quart of RP 15W40 between oil changes at 10000 kms, however no loss in power. Will probably give Amsoil a try next time since I've been reading a lot of good reviews locally on it.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2012, 12:37 am

yeah i noticed i burning almost a quart of amsoil in the navara - but I do my oil changes every 7500km.

Looked up on a popular offroading site and they actually recommend topping up every now and then on synthetics - apparently this helps restore some of the detergent qualities and other additives when you burn off some oil, esp. if you have a longer OIC like 10,000km +.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 1st, 2012, 10:00 am

A whole quart?
then your level on the dip stick would be under the low mark?
mines just drop a little from the top mark, i think is how fast you drive or rev will affect how the oil "burns" out. do you all see any coming out around the turbo lines or in the turbo housing?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 2nd, 2012, 9:02 pm

nah mih engine clean... and the dipstick was reading "full" whenever i pulled it.

The way I judged it was when I emptied the oil out of the sump pan... i got back 1 gallon + 2 quarts... and usually the nav takes 1 gall + 3 quarts approx.

I'm sure some of it was residual and remained in the engine, while a little bit of burnoff was normal esp. in a diesel engine.

jpec

Postby jpec » July 8th, 2012, 4:26 pm

so how much does the 2.5 hilux take if anyone knows? gonna change my oil sometime next week to the mobil 1 delvac, seems like that is a real good oil to use. i just have no idea how much oil the 2.5 can take tho..any help?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 8th, 2012, 5:20 pm

check the book for ur van if you have it. should be mentioned in it.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”