qg15 to qg18....brain and vtc help

smr_fingers

qg15 to qg18....brain and vtc help

Postby smr_fingers » May 28th, 2012, 1:50 am

i have a y11 wingroad with a qg15de e throttle and i changed the head and block to a qg18de same e throttle

i used back my harness and brain and all parts like alternator, pumps, tranny etc but upon research i saw that the qg18 brain is different and it uses this vtc which i dont have much info on

can u help me out with some info or recommend me to anyone who can help me....the engine works fine as is....(my opinion the 18 is more powerful but i dont kno if the brain and this vtc is limiting its potential)

i dont kno if the qg18 brain and this vtc will give me more out of the engine? do i need the brain and harness or just the brain and someone can jus wire up the vtc?

ddog

Re: qg15 to qg18....brain and vtc help

Postby ddog » May 28th, 2012, 6:08 am

I had a similar issue with a GA15 and GA16VTC. There was basically only one extra wire on the harness for the VTC which can easily be slipped into the main plug. But the GA16 harness itself was different with sensors in different locations. I am not sure what the differences between the two QG harness would be.

It would be better if you could get the original brain and harness. It might not be so hard because until recently the bamboo was flooded with the QG18 vtc engines.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 28th, 2012, 11:02 pm

kool man thanks but i wanna kno if this vtc would make a difference?

ddog

Postby ddog » May 30th, 2012, 12:40 pm

I think it would make a difference. The GA16vtc has a decent pull up to around 100k in terms of acceleration. I have no idea when it engages but I tell you after the 100k you feel like you get a speed cut. LMAO!!! I don't know if it's worth the time and hassle to get the vtc engine but it's definitely a bonus compared to the regular engines.

I personally know someone with a QG18vtc dougla car. The pull off is lazy when compared to the GA but then again the QG has much more top end speed.

If the QG setup is the same as the GA you should be able to slap in a normal 1.8 brain and condemn the vtc. At least that will be better than using the 1.5 brain.

QG

Postby QG » May 30th, 2012, 6:20 pm

ddog...every engine will perform or react different depending on what state or condition the engine is (not everyone maintains their engine at 100% :lol:) so any engine lacking a good tune up will move lazy and sluggish lol.
GA engines do have a good top end speeds as well meh boy; they don't say the GA16 is the SR20 cousin for nothing unno :lol: :lol:

smr_fingers, you should get the VTC...the QG18 will not be fun without it.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 30th, 2012, 9:37 pm

i talked to anil and he told me get the qg18 brain and it will work back with the same harness i have....he said he will do some tuning on it for me also.....next week i will buy it when i get time off....i do hope it makes a difference

QG

Postby QG » June 5th, 2012, 6:53 pm

Cool man...Anil is very reliable