Official BlackBerry Thread

stikid09

Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby stikid09 » July 10th, 2012, 9:47 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Avg Price of an 9850 LCD? Pref. with installation.

soldier doh waste yuh time dey

buy a whole phone viewtopic.php?f=11&t=447644

Postby S_2NR » July 10th, 2012, 9:48 pm

KiD09 wrote:

:roll: :roll: :roll:

:ban:

Postby sharkman121 » July 10th, 2012, 9:49 pm

RIM brass takes heat from shareholders

Senior management at Research In Motion Ltd. faced fierce criticism at its annual general meeting in Waterloo, Ont., on Tuesday amid declining sales and an uncertain future with a delay of its new smartphone platform.

Barbara Stymiest, RIM’s new chair of the board, began the meeting by stressing that she knows some shareholders are frustrated with the smartphone maker’s troubles but that the board has faith in the revamped management team.

But some of the investors present were not as committed to the board. During a somewhat confrontational question and answer session, one investor asked why members of RIM’s board had let the company’s continuing problems fester for so long, and argued that none of the old members of the board should stay on.

“What this company needs is an upheaval,” like the one that took place at CP Rail, he said, drawing applause from some of the 300 or so people at the meeting.

Even before investors had a chance to vent, a proxy shareholder asked several tough questions about the composition of the board.

Vic Alboini, of Jaguar Financial, first asked whether the board was searching for additional technology talent to augment the board – to which Ms. Stymiest said they were searching, and had enlisted a firm for such a task. Then Mr. Alboini asked for the number of votes withheld on the re-election of directors; many, when the list was read out, had percentages of votes withheld above 20 per cent, with director John Richardson having more than 30 per cent of votes withheld. “Clearly this is not an overwhelming approval,” Mr. Alboini said.

RIM’s board has come under pressure over the past couple of years as Apple Inc.’s iPhone and a variety of smartphones running Google Inc.’s Android operating system began to take market share from RIM. Many perceived the board as weak, dominated by RIM’s former co-CEOs Mike Lazaridis and Jim Balsillie who both served as co-chairs of the board.

As Apple and Google took more market share and RIM failed to deliver a competitive product to fight back, activist investors and others began criticizing the board - and the former co-CEOs - and demanded more drastic action. As results worsened, Mr. Lazaridis and Mr. Balsillie slashed their salaries to $1, and then resigned. They also requested that the board appoint Thorsten Heins, then chief operating officer, as the company’s new CEO.

At the same time in late January, Ms. Stymiest became board chair, Fairfax Financial chief Prem Watsa joined the board, and the company has since attempted to bolster its board’s credentials by nominating Goldman Sachs’s former head of investment banking for Asia (excluding Japan).

Following the formal part of Tuesday's meeting, RIM chief executive officer Thorsten Heins took to the stage to address investors. As he did in the company’s most recent earnings conference call, Mr. Heins acknowledged RIM is facing serious challenges.

“I want to assure you I am not satisfied with the company’s performance over the past year,” he said.

Although he did not reveal many new details, Mr. Heins updated investors on the company’s plans for the year ahead – chiefly, the launch of the new BlackBerry 10 line of smartphones, which has once again been delayed. Originally scheduled for launch early this year, then this fall, the new phones will now not hit store shelves until the first quarter of 2013.

Mr. Heins said the reason for the delay is the challenge of integrating large amounts of software code into the new platform. Once again, the CEO said he will not compromise on the issue of release dates, and argued that some telecom carriers prefer a 2013 launch because next-generation wireless networks will be more widely operational by then.

Mr. Heins also updated investors on RIM’s ongoing cost-savings efforts, which notably include a massive round of layoffs that will see 5000 employees – almost a third of the company – lose their jobs.

The company also plans to save money by cutting its external manufacturing facilities from 10 to three, and by outsourcing its global repair services, the CEO said.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/globe-in ... le4402705/

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 10th, 2012, 9:52 pm

S_2NR wrote:
KiD09 wrote:

:roll: :roll: :roll:

:ban:

haha ah desperate lol

Postby Trini Hookah » July 10th, 2012, 9:54 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Preshaaaaa

Hoss and if you know the easy knock it took eh. :lol:

jhtuner

Postby jhtuner » July 10th, 2012, 9:59 pm

what is the best blakberry to buy people????8520,9300,9320,9360 or 9860???????for a female

napster16

Postby napster16 » July 10th, 2012, 10:15 pm

jhtuner wrote:what is the best blakberry to buy people????8520,9300,9320,9360 or 9860???????for a female

Females tend to appreciate more sleek devices like the 9320 and 9360..... 9850/60 also.... Hope that helped

Postby S_2NR » July 10th, 2012, 10:16 pm

jhtuner wrote:what is the best blakberry to buy people????8520,9300,9320,9360 or 9860???????for a female

this female, she bess?

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 10th, 2012, 10:17 pm

9700, stable device.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 10th, 2012, 10:21 pm

KiD09 wrote:

9700, stable device.

Check for a 9780 jhtuner won't advise touchscreens to anyone, I find touch screen BB's tend to be a bit laggy.

ice_winged_angel

Postby ice_winged_angel » July 11th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Aye anyone having issues with their EDGE on digicel service?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 12th, 2012, 11:15 am

guys how much would it cost to unlock a BB curve... dont have the exact model no.

Locked to Fido in canada

firstchoicett

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby firstchoicett » July 12th, 2012, 1:33 pm

About 50 TTD it have a mammon tuners doing it

Jonathan_337

Re: F.S - HTC One X, Nokia 5800, BB 9860 & PS3 Games

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 12th, 2012, 5:20 pm

Ill do it for you for free..just gimme the MEP and ud get the code in about a day's time

Postby BrotherHood » July 13th, 2012, 1:40 am

Fellas, i'm getting a used BB 9800 for $1500 in excellent condition. IMO, this is a great price. Before I decide on the purchase, what are the pros and cons of this model BB Torch? Should I even consider? Some feedback plz, kthankzlata.

Postby tr1ad » July 13th, 2012, 7:26 am

battery life somewhat crappy due to larger display ( less than a day )

Postby BrotherHood » July 13th, 2012, 3:10 pm

I have a charger at work and in my car so that is a non-issue. That's all?

Postby S_2NR » July 13th, 2012, 3:27 pm

Torch slider mech gives trouble.
I wont advise u buy a used one, u dont know what it went through.

Postby BrotherHood » July 13th, 2012, 3:34 pm

True eh but for the price, it's somewhat enticing.

Postby S_2NR » July 13th, 2012, 3:35 pm

bolds are more reliable.
i would recommend u get that instead of the torch.

Postby BrotherHood » July 13th, 2012, 3:36 pm

^^ *noted*

casper

Postby casper » July 13th, 2012, 3:54 pm

yea i agree with S_2NR....when it comes to high end blackberries....BOLD or forget it

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 13th, 2012, 6:50 pm

S_2NR wrote:Torch slider mech gives trouble.
I wont advise u buy a used one, u dont know what it went through.

Or who it was stolen from

Postby Rooki3 » July 14th, 2012, 10:18 am

now updating my 9900 using blackberry desktop sotware, didnt kno this sheit takes so long

Postby Rooki3 » July 14th, 2012, 1:10 pm

ok the "upgrade" i did via BDS was utter crap, jus got the normal 7.0, so i reffered to the link that stephon posted a few pages back

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 14th, 2012, 7:32 pm

I wiped my cousin's torch with bbsak and reinstalled the OS but still find it kinda slow. Do hybrid OS'es help on the torch?

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 14th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Don't know for the torch. But it helps me bold.
Don't know which torch you have, but there is this hybrid: http://forums.crackberry.com/hybrid-os- ... -a-733962/

All Hybrids by B@stard are really good, been using them ages now.

Try it.

avenall

Postby avenall » July 23rd, 2012, 5:42 pm

so i have this blackberry 9780 and the screen recently broke. i bought a new screen from amazon and replaced it and the screen is appearing white. the phone got a dent ontop by the play/mute botton that was big from a fall about 2 weeks before the screen broke. anyone know what is the problem and how to solve it.?

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » July 23rd, 2012, 6:02 pm

avenall wrote:so i have this blackberry 9780 and the screen recently broke. i bought a new screen from amazon and replaced it and the screen is appearing white. the phone got a dent ontop by the play/mute botton that was big from a fall about 2 weeks before the screen broke. anyone know what is the problem and how to solve it.?

you purchased the wrong version of the screen.
blackberries have different screen versions for the same phone.

There is a way to get the phone to use any version of the lcd but you will loose all info on the phone.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 23rd, 2012, 6:07 pm

Anyone here know how to fix a BB 8520 that stuck on the loading screen it's a new phone .

I try updating but nothing . I guess you need a flash box or something .