ford ranger hard starting problem help

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
kalel316

ford ranger hard starting problem help

Postby kalel316 » April 17th, 2012, 4:30 pm

Aye fellas good day, i have a 2007 ford ranger xl 4x2, ah few days ago i started getting a hard start problem with it. This problem only occurs when the van is off for a long period of time, when i start after this period (e.g over night) it makes about 4 tumble then starts but with some serious engine vibrations and white smoke from the exuast. This only last for about 30 seconds and the van goes back into normal idle mode with no smoke. It works fine while driving with no loss of horse power. Does anyone knows what the problem with it. Fyi the van is maintained every 5000km full tune up. Any help wud be appreciated thanks fellas.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: ford ranger hard starting problem help

Postby Big Z » April 17th, 2012, 4:39 pm

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=432829

See lighthammer's response.

brawnybro

Postby brawnybro » April 19th, 2012, 5:58 pm

sounds like worn glow plugs to me

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » April 23rd, 2012, 12:06 pm

glowplugs, pump, injectors, check/service ALL. u wouldn't be disappointed.

kalel316

Postby kalel316 » April 23rd, 2012, 1:05 pm

Ah friend told me it cud be the head has a crack cause he experienced that on his previous van, is that possibility?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 23rd, 2012, 2:09 pm

^^ possible, the WLT engines are known to crack their heads after about 120,000km or so.
Check your water levels in the radiator every now and then.
ALso look for white smoke in the exhaust.

palmiste indian

Postby palmiste indian » June 19th, 2012, 7:41 pm

had d exact problem with my b2500 carry d head for testing if gud check yuh valves and stuff 2945528 shivanan dats d mech dat sorted out my prob and my van running real nice nw

colombian connection

Postby colombian connection » July 19th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Check the glow plugs if not check the relay that sends the current to the plugs... had a van once n that was the problem, the relay that is.

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » July 24th, 2012, 10:48 pm

I had that exact problem with mines and it turned out that the head was cracked.Initially I also believed it was the glow plugs but the white smoke and loss of coolant made me think otherwise (after changing glow plugs).
It works like that for over a month like that until i finally removed the head and got it pressure tested.

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » July 27th, 2012, 7:33 am

You might wanto try a complete fuel system cleaning using Liqui Moly. Liqui Moly is a top German brand of Additives, Motor Oils and Car Care. To find out more about the product ,or where you can service withor buy it check out facebook Liqui Moly Trinidad & Tobago

kalel316

Postby kalel316 » September 5th, 2012, 10:16 am

sorry it took me a while to repost this, but i got through with the prob, the head was really cracked, i replace the entire head (cost $6000) and prob is solved. My mech told me was the thermostat had stick causing internal overheating hence cracking of the head. Did some further research and found out the thermostat needs to be replaced every 750000 kilos as it has a tendency to stick after that causing the overheating. Anyways hope this info is helpfull to you guys and check you ranger to ensure this doesn't happen to you. Thanks for all the above info.

yohance_b

Postby yohance_b » September 14th, 2012, 2:28 am

same blasted thing happened to my van!!

yohance_b

Postby yohance_b » September 14th, 2012, 2:30 am

stay tuned.... gearbox next... the ford ranger was the worst f_kin investment of my life!!

sorry... venting... lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 17th, 2012, 10:23 pm

it's like a bad tattoo.. nice at first, hard to get rid of when it goes badly wrong and it gets under ur skin!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”