Gen II Suzuki Vitara 99-05

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

aidan

Gen II Suzuki Vitara 99-05

Postby aidan » February 27th, 2011, 7:10 pm

Hi Zuki 2nrs, I recently bought a 03 SGV with a G16, and enjoying it this far. I'm in the process of doing some basic maintenance and stuff, and decided to share some info that might be helpful to other owners.

The Vehicle: 03 SGV G16B

So in the process this far, i bought some original replacement parts for a basic tune up and some other stuff. So below is some parts and part numbers in case anyone needs them. Part numbers are suzuki genuine part numbers (SGP).

Body
Tailgate handle:
SGP: 82850-65D13-5PK
Seen a lot of SGVs around with a broken tailgate handle, so if you are unlucky this is what you need.

Engine:
All the following are for the G16B only

Plug Wires:
Got these from silversub (powerseller).

Spark Plugs:
BKR6E-11
OEM recommended in the repair manual.

Timing Belt & Tensioner:

Belt: 11407-71C00-000
Tensioner: 12810-71C02-000

Cylinder Gasket (Tappet Cover Gasket)
SGP: 11189-71C00-000

Spark Plug O Ring

SGP: 11179-71C01-000

Oil Seal
SGP: 09283-32042-000

Going to start on Thursday, will update how things work out after.

Add more info if you have!
Last edited by aidan on March 22nd, 2012, 10:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: Gen II Suzuki Vitara 99-05

Postby Big Z » February 27th, 2011, 7:35 pm

Why didnt you go with the iridium BKR6EIX-11? They're quite cheap now.

aidan

Postby aidan » February 27th, 2011, 7:50 pm

^Really? I'll look for them then. I saw that one in the repair manual, and got it the first place I checked so I bought them one time.

Around what price does a set go for?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » February 27th, 2011, 8:01 pm

$210 to $220 for a set of four

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 27th, 2011, 10:56 pm

how much u pay for the tailgate handle ?

aidan

Postby aidan » February 28th, 2011, 2:33 pm

Big Z, thanks for the info, i'll look into it.

Ignorant Ignis, I'll check the bill. I believe it was $500.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 28th, 2011, 6:16 pm

There is an unbreakable tail gate handle for the GVs available. Ebay supposed to have it..
http://www.extremelimitsoffroad.com.au/prod307.htm

The standard replacement sells for $35US here..
http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/shop_parts/tailgate_handle/suzuki/grand_vitara.html

Another website where you can purchase parts..
Parts Dinosaur
[url]http://www.store.partsdinosaur.com/page8.html[./url]

Postby pete » March 1st, 2011, 7:58 pm

How much were those normal NGK BKR6E-11?

Postby tr1ad » March 2nd, 2011, 10:46 am

yuh gone to a ver II and i gone the way of a ver I

aidan

Postby aidan » March 3rd, 2011, 9:55 pm

tr1ad, you have a 4 door gen I? I sold my 2-door and real regret it.

pete, $75 for the set of 4 plugs.

Postby pete » March 4th, 2011, 8:23 am

I myself am using normal NGK plugs. Don't really see the point of putting plugs that are 4x the price. My car made 91.6whp on the Dyno and I've been getting 450-500km/tank so it doesn't seem to affect performance.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 26th, 2011, 10:31 am

Nice info. looking to do timing belt change also!

rolly

Postby rolly » March 15th, 2012, 11:49 am

i own the same model but own of my spark plugs is getting oil on it. i was told to change the seal,is this the same seal u have here, if so what the price u pay for it .

aidan

Postby aidan » March 15th, 2012, 12:45 pm

^^Yep those are the same seals you need. I can't remember how much I paid, but I think it was around $63 or so.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 17th, 2012, 6:56 pm

Guys what are my option on engines for my vitara 2004 G16 engine.
It is smoking a lot when the a/c is on, white smoke it is not burning any oil though.

On another note i did a complete tranny flush it took 7 quarts.
Thanks.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 17th, 2012, 9:23 pm

White smoke sounds like coolant.
Are you running coolant? If so, does the exhaust smell sweet? - The smell of burning coolant.
Indicative of head gasket failure or cracked head and/or block.

http://www.carsdirect.com/car-repair/ca ... aust-smoke

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 18th, 2012, 7:21 am

Will call you^

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 18th, 2012, 12:09 pm

It may be remotely possible that your Throttle body has a pin hole leaking coolant into the intake manifold, but I consider this unlikely.

Disconnect the coolant lines to the TB and verify.
In Trinidad, we do not need the coolant lines on the TB to warm the air intake... we dont have winter.
Downside will be that you will have to clean the TB a bit more often.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 18th, 2012, 1:56 pm

Thanks for the advise.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 22nd, 2012, 9:19 pm

Got the coil pack at Bobby's for $350

Lifestyle wanted close to $1700.

aidan

Postby aidan » March 22nd, 2012, 10:02 pm

the problem got sorted out?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 22nd, 2012, 11:47 pm

Its still smoking.
Will do the compression test soon.

But parts is really difficult for this, might throw in a diesel....

aidan

Postby aidan » March 24th, 2012, 10:29 am

M&N was getting a diesel half but they wanted 22k for it.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 24th, 2012, 1:59 pm

It looks like the valve seals so i will change it and should be good to go.
Compression test was good.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 24th, 2012, 8:22 pm

Worn valve seals will cause a big puff of white smoke on start up.
The smoke will go away after a few moments.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 23rd, 2012, 8:36 am

Up date, i changed the timing belt, pulley,seals and radiator. Next i will be changing the plug and plug wires.
Got everything from Life style. Was going to buy the radiator also but got one made, The original was actual a good price $3200tt.

Next is shocks and ends.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 23rd, 2012, 8:39 am

Forgot to mension i did all of that when changing the valve seals. Cost around 600tt in Life style. After the change the smoking stop.

aidan

Postby aidan » June 20th, 2013, 3:22 pm

got a nice bush bar with bracket for 1998-05 vitaras; viewtopic.php?f=6&t=493876&p=6966264#p6966264

Postby pete » July 2nd, 2013, 8:26 pm

Where did you get your valve seals changed?

I'm getting a little smoke when I start my baleno, same G16B so I was thinking it was a valve seal problem. Hardly any oil consumption so I'm not really concerned at all.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 2nd, 2013, 10:16 pm

A mech in caroni did it for me.
pm if you want contact info.

Return to “SUZUKI”