Customs Officer

DionYorker

Customs Officer

Postby DionYorker » November 4th, 2013, 11:18 am

Want to know the process and length of time it takes to become a customs & excise officer.

1. Any exams with the interview ?
2. How long service commission does take (normally i.e. no bribes and crap) to call you back?

thanks ppl... :drinking: :drinking:

Re: Customs Officer

Postby zoom rader » November 4th, 2013, 11:19 am

^^^ check Pios

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » November 4th, 2013, 12:26 pm

More than likely hundreds if not more applied for this so firstly there would be an exam to eliminate some then from the remainder there would interviews for further elimination. I'm not sure how long they would take tho

Postby pioneer » November 4th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Depends on who know u fadda

If dem enno you, yuh eh gettin no wukk.

Customs is nice wukk. Most likely dem done lorse yuh application.

Postby pioneer » November 4th, 2013, 12:49 pm

And well time frame - Immigration received over 4000 applications last year, exam is set for 2014.

So you have a very long wait, I won't hold my breath waitin for da wukk. (possible 2015 or early 2016 exam).

Also is order of merit, jus cuz yuh "pass" don't mean u gettin de wukk...cuz it go have people who pass better than you...or people know them better than you

Postby Gem_in_i » November 4th, 2013, 6:46 pm

The deadline coming up. I know over 15 people who applied for this.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 4th, 2013, 7:05 pm

You can visit the scd.tt website and get the circular with the ad for the customs and excise officer ad and also the application forms

Send in to scd before the deadline Nd wait for acknowledgemt letter and then after letter to write the exams, ur results will be mailed to u, if ur successful wait on letter or a call when the set interviews

This will take a while, maybe 2-4 years or more, real ppl applying for this, even ppl who already appointed and just want to try something else

Postby pioneer » November 4th, 2013, 7:12 pm

droppa wrote:You can visit the scd.tt website and get the circular with the ad for the customs and excise officer ad and also the application forms

Send in to scd before the deadline Nd wait for acknowledgemt letter and then after letter to write the exams, ur results will be mailed to u, if ur successful wait on letter or a call when the set interviews

This will take a while, maybe 2-4 years or more, real ppl applying for this, even ppl who already appointed and just want to try something else

lol hahahahaha :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » November 4th, 2013, 7:19 pm

What is the Salary Range? Is it 30 something?

Postby pioneer » November 4th, 2013, 7:21 pm

People really have high hopes oui

This is just like applying to the TTDF, TTAG, TTR, Fire and Police Service.

What is de common denominator?

Postby pioneer » November 4th, 2013, 7:23 pm

disregard
Last edited by pioneer on November 4th, 2013, 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 4th, 2013, 7:24 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:What is the Salary Range? Is it 30 something?

4000 and change :|

Postby Gem_in_i » November 4th, 2013, 7:26 pm

I know people who applied previously and never even got an acknowledgment.
Someone applied and got called up for work about 8 yrs later.

Postby pioneer » November 4th, 2013, 7:28 pm

Here's a hint - they don't send acknowledgements anymore. It's too expensive.

Allyuh still in de 90's?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 4th, 2013, 7:38 pm

I was of the impression that police and prison was easy to get in once you can pass everything. Off course then 2 service is most dangerous

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2013, 7:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I was of the impression that police and prison was easy to get in once you can pass everything.

Postby Bizzare » November 4th, 2013, 7:58 pm

why go through all dat for a starting salary of $4,900?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 4th, 2013, 8:09 pm

It's not the salary that makes the money.

eel7

Postby eel7 » November 4th, 2013, 9:02 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:It's not the salary that makes the money.

Postby pioneer » November 4th, 2013, 9:14 pm

COI is dog work, the hours are ridiculous for the money you get.

The big fish get all the spoils while the COI climbing ship on a rope ladder and falling into the gulf of paria.

Mostly all the clerks4life will apply, seeing they can't go any further in their public service lives.

But anyhow, them done have they people already.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 4th, 2013, 10:24 pm

once u can make citizens life a living hell when they come to clear their goods...they you will qualify for a custom officer position....

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » November 4th, 2013, 10:58 pm

wtf - 3-4 years? allyuh serious ras!!! :(

Postby maj. tom » November 4th, 2013, 11:10 pm

One of dem occifers had marked a labelled 7 inch PC-tablet as an Mp3 player on an invoice once. I sure they even powered it on when they opened the package to inspect it. 35% duty + vat one time. Queried it twice. No response.

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2013, 11:29 pm

maj. tom wrote:One of dem occifers had marked a labelled 7 inch PC-tablet as an Mp3 player on an invoice once. I sure they even powered it on when they opened the package to inspect it. 35% duty + vat one time. Queried it twice. No response.

I thought was just my mind alone this crossed.

Plenty of them think if them is costum occifer they fren and famalee could bring eeen ting and eh pay tax. They seizing and theefing from aside and all alcohol getting confiscated.

With the Immigration Officer applications almost all of them cant swim and if i'm not mistaken that's a requirement. sigh

Postby pioneer » November 4th, 2013, 11:32 pm

CO's hadda swim too dsi...same military-type physical also.

People applyin feelin this is easy wukk

I know people who workin customs who eh eem botherin wid da chit

droppa

Postby droppa » November 5th, 2013, 6:51 am

pioneer wrote:CO's hadda swim too dsi...same military-type physical also.

People applyin feelin this is easy wukk

I know people who workin customs who eh eem botherin wid da chit

agreed!!!

is real wukk, thats where some ppl make their monies, from the overtime and travelling, and well ofcourse from the side thing, but thats when yuh reach big fish stage, not lil sardine......

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » November 5th, 2013, 12:38 pm

Welp I applied before looking at this post.

Postby pioneer » November 5th, 2013, 12:46 pm

Shot in the dark really

Postby Spitfir3 » November 5th, 2013, 1:08 pm

i tort the pay is like 7k or somn so after gubment tax