glow plug question

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
MadCrix

glow plug question

Postby MadCrix » June 17th, 2014, 8:47 am

so I bought a b2500

it has a switch I need to press to warm the glow plugs. it does not work automatically when you turn on the ignition.

what part went bad for them to bypass it, and where can I get the bad part, new?

Re: glow plug question

Postby 3stagevtec » June 24th, 2014, 2:57 am

I heard that the glow plug controller is made of unobtanium.. :lol:

Research on glow plug control module. You could get an electrician to check the wiring for you and make sure all relays are working. See if you could find it's location in the factory service manual..

Postby 3stagevtec » June 24th, 2014, 3:03 am

If all else fails, there is a simple circuit I could work up for you, you press a momentary contact switch to warm plugs up and the circuit will deactivate automatically after you start the engine.. Would help prevent you from leaving them on accidentally.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 24th, 2014, 2:53 pm

where is de controller located?
if that fails, 3stage we can do the simple circuit where when it gets an ignition source if start to warm the plugs. when the light come off on de dash, I can bounce starter. then it stops warming the plugs.

cost and when can we go this and where you located?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 24th, 2014, 3:39 pm

MadCrix wrote:where is de controller located?
if that fails, 3stage we can do the simple circuit where when it gets an ignition source if start to warm the plugs. when the light come off on de dash, I can bounce starter. then it stops warming the plugs.

cost and when can we go this and where you located?

No idea where it's located, never had to interfere with one.

Does the light come off automatically after you manually start the plugs or does it stay on until you manually switch the circuit off?

If it's a simple on / off design they installed, it would just cost you a relay and a momentary contact switch to do the setup. The circuit I could design will still require you to manually start the plugs, it will just cut off after you start the vehicle.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 25th, 2014, 7:16 am

yea it cuts off after i let go the swtich. so if it does not warm up enuff and the light is on i can release the swtich and it cuts the circuit.

so the switch is not an on off switch, its like a doorbell
so i hold de switch down till the light comes off then i release switch and then i bounce starter

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 26th, 2014, 1:18 am

mad crix there is an electrician Alan in montrose just opposite sonny's auto .. he was able to wire up the original module in our last b2600 we converted from gas to diesel

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 2nd, 2014, 7:52 pm

The unit is located under the injector rail on the right side closest to the firewall temp control unit, allows the plugs to stay active up to about 10 mins after start. And engine reaches optimal temp

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 2nd, 2014, 7:52 pm

The unit is located under the injector rail on the right side closest to the firewall temp control unit, allows the plugs to stay active up to about 10 mins after start. And engine reaches optimal temp

Postby black start » July 3rd, 2014, 12:06 pm

3stage would it be possible to post a schematic of that circuit?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 3rd, 2014, 12:29 pm

streetbeast can you post a pic of it?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 12th, 2014, 8:40 am

black start wrote:3stage would it be possible to post a schematic of that circuit?

interested also.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 16th, 2014, 7:58 am

so through research and reading the manuals, the glow plug activates initially to warm up befor eu start. however if your b2500 is below 65F the glow plugs come back on as you start to help with idle, emissions and fuel consumption.

so in other words yuh need to replace the bad part if yuh want good mileage and a smooth idle on cold start ups. cuase my van shakes like crazy on cold, as soon as I press the glow plug swtich, it settles down and idles smooth on mornings

I think I figured out what part went bad. I think its the glow plug relay as they have a standard relay and wired the swtich into it to send power to the plugs
gonna buy the new relay Saturday and test.

fiaz have it for 600ish
marod 400ish
ford 992

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 22nd, 2014, 3:14 am

Crix.. .did you get through with this?? is the van idling smooth on mornings now?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 22nd, 2014, 8:57 am

ok so I got the glow plug relay for 150 used.. I find that was a bess price btw :)

plugged it in with help over the phone from tr1ad as I needed to know where the power wires were plugging into.

van start normal now and how it supposed to.
wha ti found thou was white smoke and slight miss in idle now on cold mornings so I took off the glow plug rail and measured the resistance across each glow plug

results were

glow plug 1 : .36
2: .47
3: .38
4: 3.79

so number four is bad, walked over to mathuras and bought a ngk plug and replaced the faulty glow plug. now I get smooth idle on startup. white smoke thou until I start to move but smooth idle. gonna do a couple diesel treatments to see if it is a leaky injector that causing the white smoke when left overnight as it does not happen again for the day.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 26th, 2014, 3:29 am

yea white smoke is unburnt Diesel... let me kno if its the injectors... i have this same problem with my 4d56 with rough idle and white smoke on mornings.. once u start driving.. all is well!... :|

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 27th, 2014, 6:38 pm

well run a amsoil fuel treatment and it will sort it out for u as it worked for me. white on first startup is norms for older engines. if it goes away and does not come back during he day then doh stress

if it comes back it could be rings, cracked head ect.

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 27th, 2014, 7:10 pm

Wl this engine is ah pain in the ass at times,

Postby tr1ad » July 27th, 2014, 8:12 pm

If again! The issue I'm having now is I get black smoke at start up, sometimes a rough idle and van moving sluggish... if I stop in traffic, every time I move off I get a puff of black smoke... the sluggish feeling is not all the time

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 27th, 2014, 10:33 pm

i find with mine wrt sluggish, damn lazy with the ac on. when ac off i can easily run up to 4k rpm with plenty power. ac on it goes to 3k then takes longer to reach 4k with an obvious loss in power compared to no ac

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 27th, 2014, 10:44 pm

triad bring yuh van by me and we will test the glow plugs to see the resistance and see if it working.

wed onwards i can handle yuh

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 30th, 2014, 5:55 pm

tr1ad wrote:If again! The issue I'm having now is I get black smoke at start up, sometimes a rough idle and van moving sluggish... if I stop in traffic, every time I move off I get a puff of black smoke... the sluggish feeling is not all the time

Checked your fuel and micro filter? last time i suffered from black smoke the micro filter was clogged with crap. flushed the deisil tank with fresh fuel, purged the system and put in a new fuel filter. Ran perfect up to 4500 in every gear. (No smoke. start up etc)

Is there an alternative to the WL? can we bulk order some aussie engines?

Postby tr1ad » July 30th, 2014, 7:18 pm

Changed fuel filter, is the micro the one with the 17 bolt?
Next step would be flush and look at injectors

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 30th, 2014, 7:57 pm

tr1ad wrote:Changed fuel filter, is the micro the one with the 17 bolt?
Next step would be flush and look at injectors

Yeah the 17 bolt and a hook / magnetic screw driver to get the filter out safely, spray with wd-40 etc place back in and tighten. should free up your rpm and get back the top end if you want to speed.

I flushed without taking down the tank using 3+ litres, filled another 5+ put in a injector / treatment.
Drove straight to a good gas station and filled.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 30th, 2014, 8:08 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
black start wrote:3stage would it be possible to post a schematic of that circuit?

interested also.

Now saw this.. I was going to suggest using a basic start / stop motor relay control circuit. A momentary contact switch to activate the relay circuit. The output of the relay would be tied back into the input of the relay's magnetic coil, thus keeping the relay energized after releasing the momentary switch. If power is cut to the whole system, the relay would deactivate, opening back the circuit and cutting power to the glow plugs.

I have a similar circuit installed in my vehicle to control to remote turn on to my audio amplifiers.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 30th, 2014, 8:10 pm

Very interesting concept.

Postby tr1ad » July 30th, 2014, 8:47 pm

Yea DM that was cleaned already at filter change
I'm thinking it could be injector dribble on idle... as the smoke is mostly when at a stop/idle

Postby Ted_v2 » July 31st, 2014, 4:40 am

sounds like it,

i know a almost brand new bt50, just doing 86xxx. showing the similar symptoms. Smoke shows up anytime the vehicle starts after being parked for over 8 hours, after a quick rev, the smoke goes away and back to normal.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”