Registering a Business in Trinidad & Tobago

inter_elegance

How to register a business

Postby inter_elegance » October 1st, 2014, 5:49 pm

Hey guys I'm opening a a pet store and would like to know what are the steps to register it and then get a vat number and a linx machine.

Globalsstt

Re: How to register a business

Postby Globalsstt » October 1st, 2014, 6:42 pm

Ive tried to do this myself the process can be slow and somewhat frustrating. I suggest you do as I did and have an accountant do this for you. If you look in the phone book you can find one that can help you with it.

Postby wagonrunner » October 1st, 2014, 8:54 pm

all the forms you need are there.
http://www.legalaffairs.gov.tt/companiesForms.htm

a rather simple process. but the gov't side of things takes time.

the name search & approval - two weeks.
the incorporation - 6 weeks.

everything else you can do yourself.

Thetrance

Postby Thetrance » October 1st, 2014, 9:39 pm

hey buddy checkout https://www.ttbizlink.gov.tt/ you will find out all the necessary steps to register your businees and name all online

chevy659

Postby chevy659 » October 1st, 2014, 10:50 pm

wagonrunner wrote:all the forms you need are there.
http://www.legalaffairs.gov.tt/companiesForms.htm

a rather simple process. but the gov't side of things takes time.

the name search & approval - two weeks.
the incorporation - 6 weeks.

everything else you can do yourself.

2 weeks? where u getting ur info from? if you from south go to the birth paper place, i forgot the name of the street, the registrar general office is upstairs, u go in they give u a form to full out, it takes THREE DAYS to do the name search and the process takes 4 days to make the registration cert and u go and collect it so in total it takes 7 days also im speaking from a sole trader POV idk if u opening ur pet store under a partnership or llc etc

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2014, 12:02 am

chevy659 wrote:2 weeks? where u getting ur info from?

from my experience 4 years ago with the PoS office on south quay.
If it has improved that's great.

Postby cinco » October 2nd, 2014, 12:13 am

7 working days which will run across two weeks more or less

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » October 2nd, 2014, 6:54 am

cinco wrote:7 working days which will run across two weeks more or less

Correct. Just as chevy659 mentioned.

abusafaa

Postby abusafaa » October 2nd, 2014, 7:28 am

+1 (868) 361-2379 my pal Saleem he will organize u

Registering a Company

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 8th, 2018, 10:05 am

I know there have been a couple threads from a few years ago.
I believe some things may have changed with processes and TTConnect etc.

Hoping some tuners can chime in.

Situation: Thinking about registering a technology consultancy company for a second income stream. The work I do is a small niche and I get sideline work, but the lack of formal registration limits my international prospects and I usually have to jump through hoops to work with some organizations. It's nothing much, but I want to build my brand and do it properly and re-invest some of this sideline income to build my brand. Gotta start somewhere.

Sole Trader vs LLC.

Which is better, and why?
What are the pros and cons?
What are the tax implications and other obligations?
How much will this cost up front and/or annually?
Is it worth it?

Re: Registering a Company (2018)

Postby gastly369 » November 8th, 2018, 11:56 am

Check pm

Postby RedVEVO » November 8th, 2018, 12:18 pm

LLC is better than Sole Trader.
The main "pro" is that you are under the protection of an entity not personally liable.
The main "con" is the taxes .
Cost about $3-$4K (TT)

Yes it's definitely worth it .

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2018, 9:20 pm

Ok, I already have a TTCOnnect ID, so I'll be exploring the route of doing everything myself vs hiring one of these companies to help.

http://www.investt.co.tt/how-we-help/set-up-a-business/

Step1: Setup a TTConnectID (if you don't have it)
Step2: Register for TTBizLink
https://www.ttbizlink.gov.tt/tntcmn/fac ... uIndex.jsf

I'll update this thread with details as I go thru the process.

Postby RedVEVO » November 9th, 2018, 11:21 pm

Just get a law clerk or lawyer to form your company .

Why is focus now changed ? You really think Tuners what to know your process ?

Focus on your income , the new revenue stream .

You can form a LLC company by yourself .

It's so simple.

Why you sticking ?

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2018, 4:25 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I know there have been a couple threads from a few years ago.
I believe some things may have changed with processes and TTConnect etc.

Hoping some tuners can chime in.

Situation: Thinking about registering a technology consultancy company for a second income stream. The work I do is a small niche and I get sideline work, but the lack of formal registration limits my international prospects and I usually have to jump through hoops to work with some organizations. It's nothing much, but I want to build my brand and do it properly and re-invest some of this sideline income to build my brand. Gotta start somewhere.

Sole Trader vs LLC.

Which is better, and why?
What are the pros and cons?
What are the tax implications and other obligations?
How much will this cost up front and/or annually?
Is it worth it?

both can be done relatively quickly
sole trader is easier, less taxes and fewer requirements, as opposed to LLC, where you'll need to list the company's directors and bylaws etc.
LLC offers a degree of personal protection from liability of the entity. make note, only a degree. there are things you can still be held accountable for if you screw up.
LLC are required by law to have annual audits done and distributed to all investors including paid or unpaid directors .

my 2 cents? register as a sole trader, and you can always register as an LLC later on if business really takes off.

Postby Redman » November 10th, 2018, 8:48 am

I would say that if based on your activity level
3 or 4 years down the line you have an entity with history-the accounts done up and in compliance.
The accounts show the growth and expansion of your activities.
And the co can pre qualify for bigger projects tenders.

The LLC can be formed by you -and some of your current expenses fall into deductible against profits.

If the juice is worth the squeeze then LLC

Postby RedVEVO » November 11th, 2018, 1:07 am

LLC always the way to go for serious business man - future thinker - the next Ranger Rover owner - Rolex owner.

Otherwise your dream team is a hustle - gone tomorrow - dust in the wind .

So again OP dude , think big - LLC - think like the Apple Boys .

Exactly what type of programming or tech work do you do ?

Do you need / want investors ?

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » November 15th, 2018, 9:27 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

The main "pro" is that you are under the protection of an entity not personally liable.
Cost about $3-$4K (TT)

What exactly cost $3 -$4k?? Is this in reference to taxes?

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 12:27 pm

Coppershot wrote:

Cost about $3-$4K (TT)

Yes.
Actually it's less .

Postby 88sins » November 15th, 2018, 2:14 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Coppershot wrote:

Cost about $3-$4K (TT)

Yes.
Actually it's less .

Coppershot, doh waste yuh time & effort taking on idiotvevo. he eh have a clue what he tellin u.
sole trader registration is about $220, not including name searches
llc registration is about $650, not including name searches

linton

Postby linton » November 15th, 2018, 2:43 pm

The same person who quoted $3-4000, is the same person saying it's less. ???????????????

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 3:00 pm

Have an attorney do the needed for you - LLC is the best .

Why ? If your business is important to you then it should be organized in the best way going forward.

You need a good business entity (LLC) with a good attorney , good accountant and good banking relationship.

If it important to you and your family then do it the best way .

You can then apply for the numerous gov't contracts and private contracts .

Postby 88sins » November 16th, 2018, 8:25 am

linton wrote:The same person who quoted $3-4000, is the same person saying it's less. ???????????????

u eh realize that halfwit doh have an inkling of a clue on the topic?

widdyphuck

Registering a Business in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby widdyphuck » April 5th, 2021, 5:16 pm

What are the steps necessary to register a business (LLC)?
A lot of persons are offering packages but how does one do this himself?
Educated replies only.

Dohplaydat

Re: Registering a Business.

Postby Dohplaydat » April 5th, 2021, 5:32 pm

Good luck expect to go back in several times and for it to take 2 months

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 5th, 2021, 5:37 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Good luck expect to go back in several times and for it to take 2 months
Are you saying it's worth just to pay someone else to get it done?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 5th, 2021, 5:42 pm

wtf wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Good luck expect to go back in several times and for it to take 2 months

If it's your first time, and your time is valuable then probably yes. It's not hard, just annoying.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 5th, 2021, 5:46 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
wtf wrote:

If it's your first time, and your time is valuable then probably yes. It's not hard, just annoying.
What are the steps to getting it done?
Price?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 5th, 2021, 5:49 pm

wtf wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wtf wrote:

What are the steps to getting it done?
Price?

https://www.ttconnect.gov.tt/gortt/port ... usiness+++

Postby Dave » April 5th, 2021, 7:09 pm

In most instances those who are familiar with the Ppl and the process makes things happen quicker and easier than the average person walking off the street requesting the service to be done.