Saturday, July 31st, 2010
Our Sponsors

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Cartel on Celebrity
 Post subject: WTK-Shift Point for 5" Tachometer on a B16A
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:27 pm 

Yeah tuners first of all Happy Father's Day to all the Trini Tuner Dads.

Well tuners I finally got a gearbox for my SIR and I bought a 5" Auto Meter Tach with shift light to install. But I don't know how much RPM to set the tach for the shift light to come on dose anyone know the recommended safe shift point for the B16A engine :roll: I don't want to set it to high and blow the engine. Let me know please.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 3:29 pm 

3500... you go save gas.

or you could just use your brain and shift gears when you think it feels right, cause you dont HAVE to change gears only when the light comes on.

[img:183:100]http://www.comics.com/comics/pearls/images/index_icon_zeeba_neighbah.gif[/img]
Never truss anyfing dat does bleed for 5 days straight and doh dead!

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 5:33 pm 

7500rpm

http://www.iasca.com/

DLS Trinidad and IASCA Caribbean

Cartel on Celebrity
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 8:52 pm 

Bump

Zim
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:51 pm 

PLS doe cut up or drill up any plastic garnishes or upholserty....what wrong wit yuh factory tach :|

Cartel on Celebrity
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:23 pm 

Nothing just wanted the sporty look :lol: with the big tach and shift light

Zim
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:17 am 

Cartel on Celebrity wrote:
U go spoli d car hoss :idea:

also dem panels are near impossible 2 get :idea:

dragaholic
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:19 am 

If the ecu is stock the rev limiter should be at 7900/8200 so you can set it at any where in that area.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:15 am 

man is your car,do what you want with it :roll:

avoid drilling if possible though,you can use double sided tape if it allows

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:40 am 

drill and screw it down properly
but choose your location carefully

http://www.iasca.com/

DLS Trinidad and IASCA Caribbean

Samiir_Tuner
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:22 am 

shift when u feel your not making any power..most b16 dyno graphs show no power increase after 8000rpm

Cartel on Celebrity
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 2:28 pm 

Another quick question anybody know where I can get my ECU chipped or get an aftermaket one :roll:

red_dragon
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 2:31 pm 

if your engine is stock doh make much sense

NY4PD
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:17 pm 

safe place to set your shift point for when you racing is 8000 rpm, and for ecu well you can get them here in Florida chipped or buy a already chipped ecu here in florida, but if your motor is all internal stock and no bolt-on mods then leave the stock ecu in the car as it won't make any difference.

Good Luck...

Zim
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:55 pm 

reiXmann wrote:

:lol: :lol: doe make him spoil a good car nah sir...but d two sided tape is a good way to go, unless yuh have spare panels. If d car more or less stock it eh make sense tho

High_Speed_Imports
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:22 pm 

Zim wrote:
reiXmann wrote:

:lol: :lol: doe make him spoil a good car nah sir...but d two sided tape is a good way to go, unless yuh have spare panels. If d car more or less stock it eh make sense tho

yea boi mounting tape is way to otherwise when u remove it Dash looking like mess

CALL 771-4922
Email highspeedimports@hotmail.com

skylineGTR55036018
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:36 am 

6500-7500 is pretty safe.. wut otha mods do u have in the car though???

"Living Life In The Bo0sted Lane"...

Cartel on Celebrity
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:23 pm 

Year skyline the car stock right now but looking to add some upgrades soon :mrgreen:

JDM_GUY
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:44 pm 

I think you should do a proper engine maintains before you go running your RPMs so high, The RPMs will reach slower than the engine breaks if poorly maintained. :mrgreen:

abbow
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:46 pm 

you can just install a shift light and use it with your stock tach instead of having a wall clock on your dash...