Saturday, July 31st, 2010
Our Sponsors

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Lean Wid IT
 Post subject: wtk best brand of battery
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:15 pm 

lookin 2 invest in one soon n wantd 2 know which brand better? Track, power master or turbo?

turbo_beast369
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:58 pm 

use rocket batteries...dem other brands dont last very long....

vans
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:11 pm 

x2 i using a rocket 730 cranking amps and the thing wukkin

$t@y f!y 24/7

vans
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:12 pm 

btw you going and run music etc... and is that your evo 10?????

$t@y f!y 24/7

hong kong phooey
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:29 pm 

Lean with it
those 3 are about hte same use less many headache and u garanteed it will fail before or right after the warranty

go for excell (dont think u get yuasa again) die hard or rocket
something not manufactured here in trinidad

Snyper
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:37 pm 

AC Delco

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 8:56 pm 

hong kong phooey wrote:
Lean with it
those 3 are about hte same use less many headache and u garanteed it will fail before or right after the warranty

go for excell (dont think u get yuasa again) die hard or rocket
something not manufactured here in trinidad

dunno where you folks buy batteries but i've used local brands for years with little issue. their average lifespan for me has been bout 2 1/2 years. the only issue i ever got was bout 15 months into an 18 month warranty and ACL just replaced it without question and it went on to last 2+ years until i sold the car.

turbo_beast369
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:12 pm 

a good battery supposed to last much longer than 2+ yrs......
I have a foriegn bettery in a truck that has the year 2002 on it and It still have rel fire....

ACL go replace it without askin questions becuz they know their batteries are not well made and cannot last very long....

vans
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:23 pm 

turbo_beast369 wrote:
a good battery supposed to last much longer than 2+ yrs......
I have a foriegn bettery in a truck that has the year 2002 on it and It still have rel fire....

ACL go replace it without askin questions becuz they know their batteries are not well made and cannot last very long....

correct is right

$t@y f!y 24/7

allblacks
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:46 pm 

I got 3.5 years out of a Motorcraft® Tested Tough® PLUS and only because i let it run dry did it die....

D_bodyguard
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:54 pm 

hoss take it from me ....ROCKET all the way bro .....always they had a high reputation for auto batteries.I had a rocket battery in my old b11 (one of the blue tops 13plate) and that lasted ah wopping 12 years and was wucking relly good up to the day the stokle the car .. :( now I am running a 13plate 800cranking amps battery 2 years now and if bought from laughlin you can go every month for them to make sure your battery is good .....most of the time batteries seems to go dead is when yh acid breaks down. this however can be acided and will work for longer but when yh get y battery try and case it and protect from engine heat and debres. your battery will serve you for a long period . Rocket is a bit expensive but worth every cent. If you can't afford or get a rocket go for powermaster on time ..its a good brand too..!! :mrgreen:

Tired Accord
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:59 pm 

HOw much so for the bigger - like - "13-plate" batteries - 700+ CA -now - average? About $1000 - 1100? I paid ~$1700 for a D34 Optima yellow top battery at Sham's in San Juan - going in 18 mths now. No mtce at all. It run flat the other day - charge up with a lil household batt charger - and I on as normal. Supposedly men say they lasting up to 5 yrs...

For a few hundred more - you may want to consider it...although they don't come with a warranty. If you interested - do a search - it's been discussed here before.

sigma-turbo
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:39 pm 

Optima deep cycle marine batteries fo me thanks

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:51 am 

buy a deep cycle battery, like the Optima Red Top starting battery...

http://www.optimabatteries.com/optima_products/redtop/index.php

lead acid batteries is a thing of the past.. there are newer and better technology batteries out there..

quote Optima:
Strongest 5 second starting burst
Up to 2x longer life
More than 15x the vibration resistance
Completely spill-proof, mountable in many positions
Maintenance free
Faster recharging capabilities
Optimal starting power, regardless of temperature

alot of car audio shops have them because of their high power potentials...

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 1:23 am 

Location: San Fernando, Trinidad & Tobago. Contact: 1-868-620-9674
Optima FTW!

rx80
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:14 am 

Can the Optima be exposed to hight heat in the engine bay?
IMO AC Delco and rocket are very good batteries i've used both in cars that are only used on weekends and no problems for two years.

Lean Wid IT
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:31 am 

ok cool i end up buyin a turbo by master serv a 825 ca but i will look into the rocket thanx

timothymcdavid
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:39 am 

Optima run things ... but there is one big but ... Optimas dont like to get an overcharge so make sure your charging system is working properly otherwise your optima wont last.

turbo_beast369
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:02 am 

Lean Wid IT you should have bought an AC Delco or a Rocket....the Turbo may last you a lil while but you would have gotten a longer lifespan from the Rocket and AC Delco...is your choice yes....BTW them "local" batteries are NOT made in Trinidad....they are imported from somewhere i dunno and they just put ah set ah dam stickers on it....but there is a battery man that I know who opens up the "local" batteries and says they are cheaply made....they not even made to last any long period of time...even if your charging system is perfect...

neckto
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:30 am 

ACDELCO x 2
SMF

Lean Wid IT
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:58 pm 

well i only bought the turbo cuz of time but i'll look into the others thanx

M-Tech
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:27 pm 

3stagevtec wrote:
buy a deep cycle battery, like the Optima Red Top starting battery...

http://www.optimabatteries.com/optima_products/redtop/index.php

lead acid batteries is a thing of the past.. there are newer and better technology batteries out there..

quote Optima:
Strongest 5 second starting burst
Up to 2x longer life
More than 15x the vibration resistance
Completely spill-proof, mountable in many positions
Maintenance free
Faster recharging capabilities
Optimal starting power, regardless of temperature

alot of car audio shops have them because of their high power potentials...

x2...
Anything other than a sealed Deep Cycle is not worth the $$ these days because battery prices went up. The Red Top can take the heat.

I am using a Kinetic HC1400 currently and I never have to worry about not starting (but that is in the trunk as this one can't take heat)...

dregz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 7:00 pm 

ROCKET rel good
buh i hav ah AC Delco that running like rel rel long and it still goin strong.

type r
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 10:21 am 

turbo i find tat the acdelco is sheit

M-Tech
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:39 pm 

The man done buy his battery but trust me, I saw conventional batteries selling for about $900-$1200 and the maintenance free were more for my application. So I just put the extra and bought a Dry Cell.

I used Dry Cells in the past from Optima and I got over 5 years of service on 3 different batteries. I also had good experience with the Stinger SPV35 as a starting battery and currently I have a Kinetic in another car. Out of all the Optima Red Top was the only one that could take heat- all the others are meant for the boot area.

Tired Accord
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 8:52 pm 

M-Tech wrote:
Out of all the Optima Red Top was the only one that could take heat- all the others are meant for the boot area.

I never knew that! :shock: Good thing I put my yellow top in the trunk too!

sigma-turbo
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:14 pm 

25 miles out in the ocean you need a battery that will work first time every time cose you cant get out and push it

Optima has been in my boat for 4 years now and its never failed

M-Tech
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 7:25 am 

Tired Accord, I've had a couple yellow top Optima's swell to the top under heat but they cool down back to normal. They never failed me once for many years though. The Kinetic swells to the sides. I guess they are sealed and can't "breathe" as normal batteries that have holes on top.

Just keep the dry cells cool and the years they would last would more than offset the cost of buying it opposed to buying a few normal batteries like Rocket or whatever they have these days.

yellow
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:28 am 

Dont buy until you check out the MotoCraft car batteries sold by Mc Enearny............. 3 year warranty 13plate cost about $1000.00 vi :wink:

QG
 Post subject: Re: wtk best brand of battery
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:29 pm 

Lean Wid IT wrote:
lookin 2 invest in one soon n wantd 2 know which brand better? Track, power master or turbo?

Track!!

Or ACDelco maintenance free Battery

EVO 9 MR!!