Saturday, July 31st, 2010
Our Sponsors

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 1:59 pm 

I have a fear of having too big terminal holes..

Also fear of alternator failure(them thing na cheap).

SSC i was just asking if you ever did any cars big 3 with 0awg..

theblitz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:06 pm 

alt won't fail because the 'current pipe' from it is larger.... it will if you demand too much of it. With even 4AWG you can demand too much from a stock alt.

Anyway, I gonna do over mine with 0 or 2 b4 month's end since the 4AWG that's there came with the car and is old looking and getting stiff. Bigger alt too is the main reason.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:18 pm 

kurpal_v2 wrote:
I wanna use 0awg to eliminate any possible bottlenecks within the charging system but Ive read some stuff like this

Quote:
The biggest problem with output studs melting is actually the connector that you use. 99% of all 1/0 crimp-on cable ends have a 8mm hole in them. When you use a 8mm hole on a 6mm stud, the contact surface area is GREATLY reduced. This creates a restriction in current flow, and subsequently a hot spot that can burn up.

So the question that comes to my mind is should I get 4awg wire? I dont want to cause I have a lot of 0awg sitting around.

just read the bold part, ignore everything else.. you misread what they are talking about..

with ANY size wire, if there is an improper connection / slack connection / inadequately sized connector etc, that will cause an area of higher resistance, that section of high resistance will become heated when there is large current flow through the wire..

larger diameter wire has less resistance overall, which means more current transfer and less heat in the wire..

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:34 pm 

^^ Got a solution gonna try it and pass by bicks to see if they have rav4 alts just in case.. :D

theblitz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:48 pm 

obviously you won't have a slack connection in ur big 3.... yuh mad owat :lol:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:04 pm 

kurpal_v2 wrote:
^^ Got a solution gonna try it and pass by bicks to see if they have rav4 alts just in case.. :D

if you need any help in soldering up the connections, lemme know..

i would recommend in using a copper or brass washer when connecting the terminal to your alternator, it would increase the contact area, thus preventing any chance of melting.. :wink:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:29 pm 

Quote:
i would recommend in using a copper or brass washer when connecting the terminal to your alternator, it would increase the contact area, thus preventing any chance of melting.

Dude that is the plan self...what you doing this weekend? Gimme a call.

southside connections
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:54 pm 

or you can head to any eltrical store and buy copper ring terminals

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:58 pm 

blank terminals?

southside connections
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:00 pm 

but wait

that what u sad there

Quote:
i would recommend in using a copper or brass washer when connecting the terminal to your alternator, it would increase the contact area, thus preventing any chance of melting.

wont that come like putting a 20amp fuse and another 60amp fuse b4 it?

i don;t think that will solve the problem, because the the original ring terminal remains the same,and the washer will just become an extension of the alternator's contact

also,the more anything you put between there, you increase resistance right?

theblitz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:00 pm 

in the design of the alternators is it even possible that the studs are of adequate conductivity for its size and not be a restriction causing melt down?

And more over... for a stock alt he eh hadda worry bout nutting :?

Dj_Bee
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 1:01 pm 

Is this upgrade necessary with a diesel vehicle( Frontier)
because i see that they already come sith sum thick wires

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:11 pm 

Dj_Bee wrote:

get a digital multimeter, set it to DC Voltage, place the positive lead on your alternator output terminal and place the negative lead on the positive battery terminal..

the meter will now read the voltage drop across the alternator output wire..

turn on as much electrical load in your vehicle as possible (e.g. high beams, AC, crank up the music etc) and note the voltage drop you see.. anything over 0.3 - 0.5V of drop means you gotta upgrade the wire.. if it reads very close to zero, your wires are of adequate size..

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:15 pm 

southside connections wrote:
i don;t think that will solve the problem, because the the original ring terminal remains the same,and the washer will just become an extension of the alternator's contact

also,the more anything you put between there, you increase resistance right?

the wire terminal will be touching both the alternator output stud and the nut to hold it down.. increase the contact area between either two and the ring terminal and the overall resistance will drop..

longer wire = more resistance
thicker wire = less resistance

in this case we are trying to make the wire 'thicker' in a sense..

-----------------------------------------------------

and by the way, this should only be of concern when using those ultra high output alternators.. you wouldn't have any issues with most factory alternators..

Dj_Bee
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:11 pm 

3stagevtec wrote:
Dj_Bee wrote:

get a digital multimeter, set it to DC Voltage, place the positive lead on your alternator output terminal and place the negative lead on the positive battery terminal..

the meter will now read the voltage drop across the alternator output wire..

turn on as much electrical load in your vehicle as possible (e.g. high beams, AC, crank up the music etc) and note the voltage drop you see.. anything over 0.3 - 0.5V of drop means you gotta upgrade the wire.. if it reads very close to zero, your wires are of adequate size..

kool, ill check it when the rain eases up

me_ngod4eva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:12 pm 

I'm about to do this myself next weekend. I just have one question for those who've already done so:

Where exactly is the Engine block ground located on the QG15DE. I've looked at a few instructional videos and in some cases the connection was run to location that already had a stock ground connection.

If there isn't one on the QG, where would you guys recommend as a safe place to secure it.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:22 pm 

me_ngod4eva wrote:
I'm about to do this myself next weekend. I just have one question for those who've already done so:

Where exactly is the Engine block ground located on the QG15DE. I've looked at a few instructional videos and in some cases the connection was run to location that already had a stock ground connection.

If there isn't one on the QG, where would you guys recommend as a safe place to secure it.

there MUST be an engine block to chassis ground connection.. run the thicker wires in the stock location, if you can't find it, use the safest point on your engine to connect to your chassis..

make sure you run your wires away from sources of high heat / fans / belts / pulleys etc.. leave a little slack on the wire as well to allow for engine movement..

silent_riot
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:22 am 

In those engines, the grounding spot is on the transmission casing, just under the battery tray.

me_ngod4eva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:23 am 

Thanks 3stagevtec and silent_riot . I'll look for the connection later and do the upgrade over the weekend.

After that i'll look at changing my alternator. I hear the Tiida has 140A ? That should be enough for my system cause I don't think my current 80A Alt can keep up.

(...Rovin...)
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 1:21 pm 

me_ngod4eva, hey so ur back in town & u putting back in d music ... :fadein:

[See my items for sale in the Car Audio Classifieds section : Decks \ Speakers \ Subs]

me_ngod4eva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:05 pm 

(...Rovin...) wrote:
me_ngod4eva, hey so ur back in town & u putting back in d music ... :fadein:

Hey (...Rovin...), Yeah man I'm back in town for a while, so the Project continues...Headlights Dimming when I crank up the bass so I'm trying to rectify that fast.

Oh and the Box survive the Flood boy.(phew)... Baptized the Comps in a bucket of water, washed them off and they playing like nothing happen :lol:

I'll check you when i'm done so you can hear it.

TintMan
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:33 pm 

Has anyone really notice a difference with the big 3 upgrade ???

theblitz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:18 pm 

Yes

(...Rovin...)
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:22 pm 

yes saw a instant difference - used to normally be 13.8-9 & when i did it it went up to 14.2 ...

me_ngod4eva,

cool man - i want to make a even better box so that when d lows hit u cant breathe .... :wink:

[See my items for sale in the Car Audio Classifieds section : Decks \ Speakers \ Subs]

me_ngod4eva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:29 pm 

(...Rovin...) wrote:

me_ngod4eva,

cool man - i want to make a even better box so that when d lows hit u cant breathe .... :wink:

SWEET :twisted:

It already have people jumping out the car when it hits...Last week my pardna tell me it clear his Sinuses...lol

(...Rovin...)
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:38 pm 

1st time i hear that 1 ..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:40 pm 

TintMan wrote:
Has anyone really notice a difference with the big 3 upgrade ???

actually no I didnt..

carfreak1024
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:30 am 

^^^ i saw a difference when i did the big 3, the stock wires in the honda accord were 8 gauge and i upgraded them 2 4 gauge, except the battery to chassis which i did in zero gauge.

i noticed a difference with dimming lights when playing music. also i not sure if this is to attribute to the big 3 but bass is also slightly deeper, and amps run a little less hot, in terms of voltage i really cannot say as yet, but will check later.

also what i wanna do next is change the battery to chassis ground to the shock tower apparently this is a better place than stock.

me_ngod4eva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 3:40 pm 

silent_riot wrote:
In those engines, the grounding spot is on the transmission casing, just under the battery tray.

Is this the Connection you're talking about? It's just under the Battery tray as u described but the Battery Negative runs to it.
Can I also use this point for the Engine Block to Chassis Connection?

Or is this location better to use?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 11:38 pm 

^ either will do.. actually, any free bolt on your engine block will work..

but pick the safest of the two locations! connect your engine to a cleaned point on your chassis, and connect that same point to the negative terminal on your battery.. that is the best possible connection setup for grounding.. :wink:

another thing, don't remove your factory wires.. if in case the new wires you run have a fault, you can fall back on the factory wiring..