Saturday, July 31st, 2010
Our Sponsors

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Sanctifier
 Post subject: CAVEAT EMPTOR!... a.k.a. 4G63 BOGUS work.
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 1:24 pm 

CAVEAT EMPTOR!... a.k.a. "Let The Buyer Beware!"
An important follow-up to this post... "wtk tuning a vehicle (Evo 4G63)"
venum wrote:
...there are some mechanics who can't tune these engines...

Then there are some who call themselves "mechanics" but should use a different name...
"Bandits" (who do "sub-standard" work but overcharge for parts & labour becase they are EXPERTS!)...
Usually they don't own or even borrow a torque wrench when they assemble your engine.
"Breakers" (the clumsy ones who break your expensive parts... and try to hide it too!)...
"Butchers" (all too many who don't know their AZZ from their elbow... but they posing.)...
"Con-men" (who patch-up SH!T... knowing it's SH!T... and try to "stick" you with it for a VERY high price)
... but NOT mechanics.

Here's some work by one of the leading EXPERTS in the country... at least according to him!
It's a "built" 4G63 from an E7; assembled with Garrett GT35 turbo kit / Haltec /
"forged" pistons (???) and Pauter con-rods... etc. etc.
New Owner wrote:
Because they tuned the Haltec badly while also using NITROUS, the engine ran lean and detonated.
That broke #1 con-rod bolts... con-rod broke... pieces cracked the block in two places...
and broke the end clean off the Main-bearing Girdle...

"Mr Professional" tried to weld the cast-iron block... *
patched one weld with EPOXY (to hide the "sore-foot"???)...
welded the piece of the Main-bearing Girdle... and re-assembled the engine.
Customer sold it... It lasted for 2 days.
The first time "new owner" put down his foot... that was that!... Grey smoke!

This is what that professional "mechanic"... one of the best known 4G63 EXPERTS in T&T
did to the block before assembly...

EPOXY in yuh tail, when the WELDING DIDN'T WORK!

WE GO TRY WELDING DE NEX SIDE TOO!... (Lower right on Balance-shaft housing...)

Main-bearing Girdle repair... More "Professional Tuner" engineering at its BEST! :roll:

* It's impossible to weld cast iron successfully without specialist equipment, using special welding rod
... and the piece MUST be pre-heated (in a controlled environment) BEFORE & DURING welding.

Another way to repair a damaged cast-iron block (for N/A or Diesel applications ONLY) is to use
the "Metalock" method...
Cut out the cracked area, cut a steel plug to fit... drill a surrounding "ring" of small holes...
screw in Nickel plugs... surface grind plug edges.
Quote:

IMHO I would NEVER use any welded block for a high-boost turbo engine.

My $0.02¢

BTW what do you think the new owner should do now? Pay the remaining $50K...
or GET A COMPLETE REFUND?

Last edited by Sanctifier on Wed May 30, 2007 4:48 am, edited 2 times in total.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 1:46 pm 

complete refund and the chance to kick the A$$ of the mechanic and previous owner.

only in trinidad yes! :roll:

flatline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 1:51 pm 
3NE 2NR Spannerator

oh dammnn...if it needed that much repair, new block FTW yes.

Epoxy too :faint:

TREX
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 2:11 pm 

This is the level of WANTON stupidity that we have to deal with. Some poor Sucker get catch again (Uncle Sanctifier I hope is not U!!!). :x

They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 2:23 pm 

^ ^ ^ Nope (Thank God!)... I'd SUE the sukka! It's a friend of mine.
Previous owner refuses/can't refund downpayment...
so new owner will have to foot the engine replacement himself.

IMHO I totally agree with him. All he owes after is the difference between a new full
"forged" engine-build (good head included) and the $50k... if there is a balance left.
... and KEEP the old parts that are any good to cover costs for "loss of use."

My $0.02¢

Last edited by Sanctifier on Sun May 20, 2007 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 2:24 pm 

:shock: i wanna make sure i fully follow cause i doh wah believe this...

wah is it that someone paid money for? and still owing 50k>

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 2:28 pm 

^ ^ ^ complete E7. 4G63 had forged internals / Garrett GT35 R kit / Haltec ECU / Nitrous kit / "bling" instruments etc. etc.

Last edited by Sanctifier on Sun May 20, 2007 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 2:32 pm 

i still trying to understand how someone pay down for thsi and still owing 50k..how much this person really pay for tha jed...

anyway well judging from how tha looking up dere..i wuda go and slap him with de block on he head and take back meh money...

cause that is real shyit.
tha ting looking realllll dotish

u wudnt car 2 call the name of "the professional engineer"

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 2:35 pm 

PM me. I have the new owner's permission to give out his phone number.
He will give you the names of the so-called EXPERT "mechanic" and the previous owner.
IMHO the mechanic should have refused to put out that SH!T work... but
the last owner is the REAL big thief... He knew the engine was SH!T.

Last edited by Sanctifier on Sun May 20, 2007 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 2:36 pm 

okay then no scene ..i guh pm u now.,

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 2:39 pm 

btw wah kinda car the new owner had it in??

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:01 pm 

^ ^ jason he bought what was supposed to be a well developed Evo 7... the whole car.
The old owner and "Brainiac mechanic" couldn't tune it.
Old owner ran it badly tuned + nitrous... It blew... Brainiac did a SH!T patch job.
Old owner "stuck" my padna with it. New owner will tell you cost price etc. if he wants to. :wink:

BTW a new GT35R turbo kit can run more than $35k + with duty & VAT :roll:

Last edited by Sanctifier on Sun May 20, 2007 3:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:10 pm 

i wuda damage somebody mothercorunt!!!! serious...watch nah..i wuda keep the damn car and de 50k that i had 2 pay off...i wasnt givin dem a cent again...

and i wuda jus use some of that 50k and buy a evo engine thaz all..

how much so for a gud evo engine?? and ur panda cud jus swap out the gud parts from that old engine..which ever parts gud and he cud use it on a new evo engine??

tha making sense or wah??

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:18 pm 

I didn't see the head or valve-train... but forged pistons have broken/MELTED...
$5k Pauter forged con-rods are shaking on the wrist-pins...
so they have stretched... he needs a new block, crank, balance-shaft, pistons and con-rods
... GT35R turbo kit is still good... so is Haltec and Nitrous kit.
Nothing much left internally. Only accessories like starter, alternator, fuel-rail, injectors etc.

Last edited by Sanctifier on Sun May 20, 2007 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:22 pm 

:evil: tha real frig up jed..buh i tink if he keep the 50k he owe dem ppl still and the car he guh come out gud...hopefully the head is still gud..or well atleast he wud have spare parts that he cud keep...and well u listed a few there...

and well the haltec and nitrous kit still gud..and well the turbo still gud..thaz de main tings really i guess... he cud buy a evo 7 engine.and well he jus need ah evo 7 head and block tha shudnt be that much ent..and he cud spend some money and buy back the con-rods and ting...

even though is ah shitty situation i tink he cud come out gud once he jus keep the 50k and build it over..

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:26 pm 

Building a good forged 4G63 short-block could cost $25k-to- $40k + depending on parts used. Real $$$$... THEN you have the head, valvetrain, cams etc. etc. More $$$ :roll:

IMHO I wouldn't use any internal parts from that old engine in my rebuilt engine.

Last edited by Sanctifier on Sun May 20, 2007 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:30 pm 

hmm shyitt..well arite then so he have 50k ...buh wait..that 25-40k includes the 63T engine or no it doesnt...

i wud suggest that if he wanna keep the car..thaz nah ah bad idea..buh if he wanna get bak his money tha cud be ah plan also.

if he decided to keep the car.he can build the engine step by step while using the car, he cud install the haltec and the nitrous on the stock engine ent..and well he cud jus buy parts and rest dem down until he gets enough money 2 buy all and then build over the engine.

i wuda be curious 2 knwo how much he paid for the car eh....cause thaz de depending factor if he pay 2much he shud carry he arse back and get bak he money...buh thaz all up 2 him yes..i wuda atleast keep the 50k and maybe get a small refund for the engine from de ppl i buy it from..

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 3:35 pm 

jason you'll have to ask him what he decides to do.
AFAIK he doesn't want as much power as a GT35R... and definately doesn't want Nitrous kit.
So those two may be up for sale eventually... Again... his decision. Just give him time.
Right now he's still pissed-off.

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 4:19 pm 

haha yea i wud expect that jed..i buy ah damn evo and it eh wukking i wudda hit somebody ah fuorking jump kick jed to get meh money..serious ting..

well i confused if he dont want the power of the GT35R and the nitrous kit why did he buy the car with all that speed for..he cuda jus buy a normal evo 7 then.

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 4:34 pm 

Maybe he thought price was okay... buy what he wants... then sell extras...
Usually works out. Not everyone wants 500 + WHP
... sometimes just 450 WHP is cool too... :lol: Check Zorce... you'll see. :lol:

Last edited by Sanctifier on Sun May 20, 2007 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 4:35 pm 

true gud point..well i hope all goes well with him and his car..and well thaz uh panda so im sure u cud give him some gud advice...

when i check u i guh hear more bout tha scene

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 5:48 pm 

JB Weld on the block !! ROTFL !!!

Haven't seen that for donkey years !!! :lol:

What you gunna do now ?

Please keep the stupid on your side of the keyboard...

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 5:48 pm 

sanctifier... please PM me the info on that fewl....

What you gunna do now ?

Sanctifier
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 6:00 pm 

^ ^ ^ X2 you have PM.

MonsterPower
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 6:11 pm 

yeah ii'd like to know also ..

wont liek for him to touch any engine of mines

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:02 pm 

*whew*.... it wasn't me.... :lol:

j/k...

But I haven't seen shoddy work like this since when I was teenager and bought a gsr block off the net that turned out to have an epoxy'd in head stud.... :? Shameful meng....

but still kinda amusing... sorry for the buyer.

What you gunna do now ?

TRINIOUTLAW
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:40 pm 

DAMN!! :shock: But here is my question to you guys...when you are faced with customers that are not willing to spend money on a proper build "which I find Trinis love to do"....and your (tuner/mechanic) gives in and says... well we will short cut the job because you don't want to spend the money to fix it the right way who is at fault?? the Customer/Garage??

BulletProof
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 8:08 pm 

^^ If any professional in the US was faced with that he would probably either refuse the job or do it with a signed legal disclaimer, ensuring that his interests are protected. Should Trini mechanics start to do the same? Just to get the message across (that the customer is engaging in a potentially hazardous endeavour)?

venum
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 8:29 pm 

TRINIOUTLAW

every mechanic is a busionessman

and all businessmen know that word-of-mouth advertising is teh best kind

with that shoddy work, what the mech does is very badly advertise himself

resulting is less customers and a troubled business

yuh simply can't drop your standards that low just to make a dollar off some cheapo

it is inherently bad for business

'Venum spec'-ing the K74

JJ16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 11:22 pm 

^^^i agree with what u saying....now cause he did that, he going to loose real plenty customers ...cause i for one NOT carrying my car by that man..nah even to change meh damn oil!!!

example my mechanic make sure and scrub down my engine bay and ting.and real clean up my engine, he also painted inside my engine bay before putting back in the engine and box...he always makes sure that he does a great job thats neat and the last ting he does study is money...so that is what u call a great mechanic who has a very high standard!

and trinioutlaw^^^ and sure dere are many others like him in Trinidad but it also have some "back-ah-yard" mechanic like tha one who do that piece ah shyit on tha evo block

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next