Please download the latest Flash Player here

Thursday, September 9th, 2010

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Rahtid
 Post subject: My compressor not coming off
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:55 am 

D15b civic engine,compressor not turning off,electrician said it has to be disconnected from the brain,and switched otherwise,

any body knows about this?

slow323
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 1:26 pm 

do a search this problem was here b4 i think it had to do with a electrical part goin bad cah remember the name off hand

IMPREZZING
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 1:32 pm 

pressure switch?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:08 pm 

nawww. pressure switch senses the gas pressure in the system and allows it to switch on provided there's enough gas in there for operation

Rahtid, when u say it not switching off, do u mean it's not cycling on and off during normal operation? (which would appear to be a/c thermostat related)

or do u mean even when the switch is off, step-up and fan comes off but the compressor is still on and the engine boggs down?

slimshiney
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 4:56 pm 

isn't the thermostat (not the engine cooling one) responsible for the cycling of the compressor.....get it checked.... when compressors are not cycling properly they damage quickly......listen to the rev and even take a lil peek by the compressor..confirm if it's really not coming off....,

Rahtid
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:02 pm 

Hook wrote:
nawww. pressure switch senses the gas pressure in the system and allows it to switch on provided there's enough gas in there for operation

Rahtid, when u say it not switching off, do u mean it's not cycling on and off during normal operation? (which would appear to be a/c thermostat related)

or do u mean even when the switch is off, step-up and fan comes off but the compressor is still on and the engine boggs down?

yes,,the green light on the switch is on in the car,ac fan and compressor stays on once car is on,if u turn the knob for ac,,it comes out white like mist,really cold too,but if off,,and drivin,it boggs down the engine,burnin rel gas too eh,,,btw,,i gassed up a while ago

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:13 pm 

wow....something controlling the switch-off for the compressor has gone terribly awry!

seek a proper electrician who won't try to dig up in the ECU...the a/c pin on teh ECU simply indicates that there's a/c load on teh engine for the ECU to adjust for the extra load...has nothing to do with switching anything...a/c control is a separate control unit

I suspect it has something to do with the A/C control unit (it controls blower speed, condensor fan speed, thermostat switching/compressor cycling etc.) or it's possibly the compressor relay sticking with the contacts closed (seen this happen due to loose relay terminal on headlight relays heating up and moving to make permanent contact inside the relay)

I been told by an a/c tech years ago that if u don't cycle the compressor on and off, the oil gets very cold and thick and sometimes tends to crystallize and can ruin the compressor....sort this out quick before it costs u a compressor change and a re-gassing

Rahtid
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:35 pm 

ok,,maybe tomorrow ill chk one

manualmx
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:39 pm 

Yur compressor clutch is stuck in the closed position. Could be due to faulty rubber isolators on the unit. Will need to remove compressor and repair or replace.

D_bodyguard
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:17 pm 

hoss if yh going and change it take ha piece ah wood,rest it on the base ah the compressor and give him ah good few shots with ah big hammer lol.....it might work lol....i saw ah man do this on his b13 and i thought like the man madd but when he crack it ah few time the damm thing start to work one time .... :lol: :lol:

Rahtid
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:41 pm 

D_bodyguard,can i do it while it on d car??? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

manualmx,,,i just undid the jacks,,so its off,but when i plug back the jack,,the fan comin on,as well as compressor,,,

i go jus run witout ac for d while,,,i eh find a place where sellin compressors,,,i sold two this yr already eh,i shud have kept them as my mech told me :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: