Please download the latest Flash Player here

Thursday, September 9th, 2010

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 312 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:07 pm 

Poor Mans N97 on the way

[quote]The nokia N97 hasn’t be out that long yet there has been lots of talk of a new version that is smaller and to fix the lens cover in place so won’t move so it can’t scratch the lens. The origins come from an Irish vodafone forum which is where I had my doubts because I spent most of my life in Ireland and they are in no way the capital of new phones in fact its more of the place to go if you want three year old new phone. However now it appears that pictures have been leaked that show the extent of the difference’s. There is no official comment from nokia about the name of this phone and its spec but a there is a bit of speculation about this phone and many people are saying it only has 3.2mp camera and stuff like that but none of this is confirmed. There is a chance that these images are fake but its highly unlikely due to the detail so we could have a new N97 soon, as far as a name some people have called it the “poor mans N97â€

N3M3SIS
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:10 pm 

now all the N97 people lost all their uniqueness

Yuh guh see rell ppl running around with mini n97's

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:20 pm 

ent thats the fake one like what selling in misc for 1400?

N3M3SIS
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:51 pm 

no it's legit.

They removing the d pad, reducing the size and specs and selling it as a middle class phone....something the original n97 should have been marketed and priced at in the first place.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:53 am 

N3M3SIS wrote:
no it's legit.

They removing the d pad, reducing the size and specs and selling it as a middle class phone....something the original n97 should have been marketed and priced at in the first place.

rumour has it that the phone will lack Ngage support, have a 3mp camera, smaller HD, or maybe no HD at all.

I love my N97, this phone is WIN.

The mini N97 is going to be nokias solution to tap into the Apple iphone market share. Having more than one SKU seems to be a trend.

Im all for it though. Seeing that most reviewers (especially the apple cocksuckerz) want to mark down the phone because its price.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:05 am 

imma wait till next year to see what comes out.. i real like the E72, so its gonna be between that and the n97

N3M3SIS
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:17 am 

Cjruckus wrote:
N3M3SIS wrote:
no it's legit.

rumour has it that the phone will lack Ngage support, have a 3mp camera, smaller HD, or maybe no HD at all.

I love my N97, this phone is WIN.

The mini N97 is going to be nokias solution to tap into the Apple iphone market share. Having more than one SKU seems to be a trend.

Im all for it though. Seeing that most reviewers (especially the apple cocksuckerz) want to mark down the phone because its price.

I hated apple before the 3gs (still don't like it that much because it can't multitask)

But in all seriousness I agree the n97 is overpriced. Compare it to the 5800..You paying US$300 extra for a qwerty, slightly bigger screen and 32 gigs internal memory.

That's about it...

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:27 am 

lol doe forget d widgets...

btw you all dont find the 5800 a bit wierd to use :| the touch seems awkward at times and my word, typing a sms msg is beyond difficult.

N3M3SIS
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:10 am 

corolla_2nr wrote:
lol doe forget d widgets...

btw you all dont find the 5800 a bit wierd to use :| the touch seems awkward at times and my word, typing a sms msg is beyond difficult.

Touch is a little better on the n97.

Both are way behind apple in terms of touch though.

yeah d widgets are cool, but because of them, the n97 only has 42 MB of spare RAM after bootup.

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:22 pm 

Just got mine :D

this phone is 10lbs of WIN

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:32 pm 

Anyone with a WHITE N97 how's that holding up against dirt etc

Cid
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:13 pm 

i got one since it first came out..it doing pretty good ..... still white and clean...

what ah really looking fwd to is de new firmware due in October......check it out, it will blow u away.i think nokia got it right with this firmware upgrade.it will end the N97 blight....., it seems to fix everything an then some........they finally put the kinetic scrolling

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/c_iajkv2YE8&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

he Nokia N97 is set to receive a major firmware update that will available in October, bringing the backbone to version 2.0 and making notable improvements, a Nokia spokesperson says.

The company has managed to pare down the firmware, freeing up internal storage space while still managing to pack in a handful of new features. Kinetic scrolling has been added for long list navigation, along with new maps, performance improvements, and general bug fixes. There's new widgets available and long-pressing the keyboard brings up alternative characters. The music player has also been updated with more album art and information.

The exact availability date of the firmware update has not yet been announced.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Tks_cG01fFg&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

http://www.engadget.com/2009/09/07/noki ... in-points/

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:56 pm 

rodfarva wrote:

about effin time

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:58 pm 

Cjruckus wrote:
rodfarva wrote:

about effin time

fuh real

biggest complaint so far is fingerprints :|

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:59 pm 

no finger prints on my Zagg invisible shield.

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:46 am 

where u get urs?

camera is a big step up from the e71 :)

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:49 am 

Raptizzle has full body protection for like 200 i think

but you only really need top protection imho. The full body is kind of overkill seeing that the back is black matt

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:55 am 

agreed...and its chunky enough as it is...
Screen protector should do the trick

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:52 am 

any tips on where to get themes?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:53 am 

rodfarva wrote:

i so hate you

check zedge.net for themes

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am 

tr1ad wrote:
rodfarva wrote:

i so hate you

check zedge.net for themes

how the e71 working out?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:02 am 

look dok mek meh buss yuh head with it eh.....

it cool...but i bored already....
if zedge don't work out the symbian forum has for sure

Bezman
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:13 am 

how the interface looking like it was made in Corel Draw??

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 9:42 pm 

Bezman wrote:

because Apples OS is smoke in the mirrors. If only there was an ap for a Camera Flash.

Apple: Yesterdays Technology. Today.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:24 am 

Cjruckus wrote:
Bezman wrote:

because Apples OS is smoke in the mirrors. If only there was an ap for a Camera Flash.

and a larger ccd for the camera..

1sigh

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:50 am 

Cjruckus wrote:
Bezman wrote:

Yesterday's technology at double the price of TODAY's Technology

But they really polish this sh1t and wrap it in a nice pretty package.

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:06 pm 

Anyone check out speed touch lite for n97
damn addictive
http://store.ovi.com/content/6E48B6D030FEF915E040050A85323E71?clickSource=related%2Bcontent

High Score 302

Bezman
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:08 pm 

I asked nothing about the iPhone LOL

i asked, why the interface looks like its made in Corel Draw, thats all :)
it definitely needs a theme, cause the GUI looks dated.

(and to be honest - cause i know you coming back with a set of Apple and iphone talk etc, I have not upgraded from the 3G to the 3GS cause i am waiting on a GSM Palm Pre - which i think is better than the N97, G1's and BB's etc)

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:14 pm 

Bezman, this not directed at you, but just reading some stuff on gsmarena (wasnt there a while now)

Quote:
Nokia considering Palm acquisition, we hold our breath

Now we don't normally deal with that kind of rumors but this one is too interesting to let go. According to a leading financial website the world leading mobile phone manufacturer is interested in obtaining the troubled Palm.

The company standing behind the development of one of the most exciting touchscreen devices of the year - the Palm Pre, is going through a really rough patch lately and might just find an offer from Nokia too hard to refuse.

Despite having an R&D budget more than 10 times smaller than that of the Finnish giant, Palm managed to develop a touch-driven OS way more fluid and user-friendly than Symbian S60 5th edition. That makes such an acquisition quite sensible as it would allow Nokia to close the gap to its competitors much faster.

At this stage both companies refuse to comment on the rumors but we guess we will understand whether its true or not sooner raher than later.

http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_consideri ... s-1136.php

and i'll make a thread of the next hitter.

ohh i have to PM about some stuff wrt to a blog i have :)

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:28 am 

Bezman wrote:
I asked nothing about the iPhone LOL

i asked, why the interface looks like its made in Corel Draw, thats all :)
it definitely needs a theme, cause the GUI looks dated.

(and to be honest - cause i know you coming back with a set of Apple and iphone talk etc, I have not upgraded from the 3G to the 3GS cause i am waiting on a GSM Palm Pre - which i think is better than the N97, G1's and BB's etc)

function>form

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 312 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next