My logitech Z5500 now powering a RE SR 12" 300 RMS YO!!

RadeonHD

My logitech Z5500 now powering a RE SR 12" 300 RMS YO!!

Postby RadeonHD » April 10th, 2009, 10:04 pm

Ok bought it from IDRC on tuner today. As you all know my 10" driver in my Z5500 had damaged some months now and getting it repaired was a bit of a problem. Sent it by crackie and it damaged yet again so I decided to get a new box and speaker and screw that useless 10" logi uses.

Got no camera so using back the same pics he took with his camera.

First off let me just say is I never taught I would have such impressive BASS in my PC room here. I have to admit this. I was thinking of replacing the original tang band with another tang band probably from someone who can order logitech parts. BUT I thank god that I decided to buy this RE SR MOFO and a whole new box re design than replace it with that load of crap that logitech does put in.

This has to be the best $700 I ever spent in my life. Imagine this frecking sub actually playing Crunk music like is a piece of cake. I talking Lil John get low and Salt Shaker etc before with the original woofer it was one note and the sub was just dead when it came to rap music literally silent.

I don't know what to say you know its like what the hell???? When buying home audio subs like this is real real $$$ you does have to put out. This sound even compares to my Sennheiser HD 555 headphones. You could almost say its audiophile quality!!!

I run Bass I love you by basstronics and all kind of complex bass testing song and this sub handles anything you can throw at it. There is nothing that this sub cannot play. I am very impressed with RE Audio. Plus this SR model is 300 RMS and the logitech AMP is only 188 RMS for sub so there is no way in hell this sub gonna blow now!!!

I wired it in series to get 8 ohm because its a 4 ohm DVC
Just imagine this sub almost compares to the Denon D2000 audiophile headphones I had previously owned!!! And thats saying a lot cause that headphone is approx $3000 TT.

The box is 3.0 cu ft its a rather long box its very very long actually as you will see in the pic thats a 12" so it should give you an idea. What i find amazing is even using back the same amp this sub sounds a million times better than the original Z5500 woofer. It makes the original tang band seem like garbage really. The Bass is Deep, LOW Low, Tight, controlled, serious excursion!!! And it even damage the light bulb in this room. lol

Building a new box and buying a RE SR really was the best move I made for my logitech Z5500 woofer. Should have done this earlier but who cares I reall happy with this, and I couldn't ask for anything more YO :P
Put it this way it was like Vtec kicked in YO lol.

Last edited by RadeonHD on April 16th, 2009, 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 10th, 2009, 10:14 pm

think i was d 1st 1 who suggested a RE but was d RE RE i said

even though ur 1st impression is good take ur time & dont firetruck it up ... :lol: ....look at how d sub is behaving & take u time

now this encouraging me to go build over my z5500 too .... :mrgreen:

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 10th, 2009, 10:23 pm

^^ LOL yeah you was the first man who did say buy a new box and sub lol but I shall take my time. But this time its just a feeling that the AMP will be in danger now instead of the SUB. LOL

Yes I was actually gonna buy ah RE RE but since I get ah Box and ah SR for $700 I say what the hell. lol

Man I tell yuh Rovin I had no idea a new box and sub could make such a difference. lol

And yuh know whats Amazing, the old lady and meh mother and them not complaining :shock: :shock:
Now that is quite shocking. lol The Bass seems to be kept in the room somehow. I was surprised at that part.

LOL all I have to do now is buy a pair of them Polk Audio satellites on Amazon is like $140 US for the pair and just replace 2 of my logi sats here and then I go be one of the few people in the world to have achieved real high end home audio quality for a fraction of the price that others pay for brands like klipsch etc. lol

I feel this sub better than klipsch no lie.
God Bless RE YO!!! lol

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » April 10th, 2009, 10:44 pm

sweet, freal those Polk audio sats will be a gr8 combination to compliment that bassline......

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 10th, 2009, 11:13 pm

Yeah the Polk Audio sats is all I missing and I got near audiophile grade home audio for a fraction of the price that people for in klipsch yes lol

Postby 3stagevtec » April 11th, 2009, 4:16 pm

nice!

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » April 11th, 2009, 10:54 pm

nice...i remember when i had my sqx in my room hooked up to my stereo it sounded 500% better i was like :shock: even though my stereo said it was 4ohms i wired it parallel to 2 ohms and it stayed like that for a very long time no probs nvr went into protect.

now that is not there any more i find my room missin d bass so i gonna invest in like 2 12" XPRO OR something or maybe even that 1 sr re for my room

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 12th, 2009, 1:23 am

pyromaniax, All I can say is the hype over RE really was true yes.

I mean I hear men saying how RE can compare to JL audio you know and that RE was one of the closest thing to high end home audio after JL when it comes to car audio. But I did doubt it in a way.

Low and behold when I get it was music to my ears yes. Sure RE may be more expensive but totally worth it. You don't come across car audio that has such great SQ everyday you know. Usually car audio is more towards SPL you know.

I would recommend one 12 RE SR over dual 12 XPRO for about the same money. The quality just to precious to trade for the extra power you would get from the XPRO. Besides 300 RMS is more than enough for me.

When you play late night tip, BTW lol can I say publicly that for the first time my Z5500 can actually play late night tip. lol
Before I was like what the hell logitech really make here jed? lol

Not this RE YO this mofo mashing up late night tip like Movado mashing up some. :|
I don't mean to bash logitech eh but its surprising for just such little extra cash you can make such a gigantic step in bass quality.
When low frequency kick in you does kinda get a bit scared I eh go lie its actually a bit frightening sometimes you does swear there is a earthquake.
The lows are very deadly and horrific if you watching a horror movie to.

All I missing is one of them Polk Audio audiophile sats now. The have them on Amazon for $140 US for the pair, I only need 2 since music is 2 channel.
But I go have to get someone who coming down from the states to bring it to avoid vat and duty. I may buy it next year or something so yes. This mean I am building one of the cheapest audiophile rig ever. lol

Screw them Klipsch and thing for $20k yes. I have other tricks of getting real high end sound. lol

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » April 12th, 2009, 9:42 am

ah man like he real enjoying he self :mrgreen:

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 12th, 2009, 12:42 pm

lol I sure am and I also running this on a Asus Xonar DX audiophile sound card to eh so yuh done know it just keeps getting cleaner and cleaner. lol :mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 12th, 2009, 2:03 pm

in future i want to buy an 8 or 10" re re and tune to like 20 - 23hz or something

no horrors for me

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 12th, 2009, 7:54 pm

WOW tuned to 20hz now thats quite sweet man.
But why not a 12" RE RE tuned to 20hz. :)

I also think the 12 is cheaper than the 10 lol

This crackie guy never came for the driver though. Even though he said he gives warranty on all his products that he repairs.

No horrors for me neither served me right next time I will know better than to repair drivers. I just wasted $120 but say what thats how it goes sometimes.
If I took the advice on the forum and just repaired it by KP in Arima or just bought a new 10" I would have saved that $120 I wasted repairing it only to blow within 1 hour.

But say what yes still got to be happy with my new purchase.

Cunupia_soundz

Postby Cunupia_soundz » April 12th, 2009, 8:03 pm

u had to open it up to get d power wires to run to d re sub?

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 12th, 2009, 8:33 pm

Cunupia_soundz wrote:u had to open it up to get d power wires to run to d re sub?

yeah you need to remove the front grill and then unscrew the screws and them holding the driver in place.

Then use a knife or something and open out the silver clips that holding on to the driver to get out the red and black wires.

And thats it just tie a red and black extension onto it and tape it up and just connect it to any 8 ohm sub.

Series a DVC 4 ohm and you good to go.

You can remove the metal grill with a flat head screwdriver it has a guide on youtube how to do it. Its real easy and looks much better without the grill anyways to. For the quality you getting with a external sub more than worth the price yes.

Plus the AMP is 188 rms for the sub and the RE RE audio is around 200 RMS
So yuh good to go.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » April 12th, 2009, 8:44 pm

BTW the sub does take about 2 seconds to power up now when you turn up the volume.
like when u have the volume on low and then you turn it up fast to halfway you does have to wait 2 seconds before the sub starts to get power fully.

I don't know is the AMP now having to do more work hence take more time to charge that bigger magnet? Cause this magnet is massive compared to the original one int hr 10" that came with the sub.

To bad the sub underpowered. The sub is 300 RMS and the amp is 188.
Hope I am not missing out on to much. But then the floor shaking like crazy now.

zcarz

Re: My logitech Z5500 now powering a RE SR 12" 300 RMS YO!!

Postby zcarz » August 27th, 2011, 5:11 pm

bump! this is nice.. so who made the box ? and how hard would it be for me to go about doing this? my z5500 sub blew yesterday..was thinking of buying a cheap $250 300watt 8ohm 10 inch car sub to put in the original enclosure.. but this might be a better idea

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » August 27th, 2011, 7:22 pm

LOL at several posts in this thread..... 2nr great yes.

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2011, 7:45 pm

evolution7tt wrote:LOL at several posts in this thread..... 2nr great yes.

x2 :lol: