Sunday, May 26th, 2013

- It is currently Sun May 26, 2013 1:31 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

NickJr.
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:56 pm 

Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves
Well last weekend I changed the seals on the D15B of a 91 Civic and I took some pics during the process so I will give a little run down as to what I did.
First off I must thank Inshan and X2 for the run down on what to do, and Yeo for use of his tools (spark plug socket and rachet).

These two pics show the engine before the work starts you can see where some oil was leaking out of the 3rd tube.

Well these pictures speak for themselves after removing the wires some more oil poured out of them. Also I detached the accelerator cable from the valve cover, followed by the ground wires (not pictured)

After removing the bolts and grommets the valve cover popped off fairly easily. Had to pull the accelerator cable out of the way to get it off completly. N.B. remember to disconnect the breather from the valve cover to the air filter.
You can see where the 3rd seal was bad and was seeping oil into the tube

A closer look at the oil in the 3rd tube.

Well these show how much oil was down in the tube, at first I thought it might of spilled over. :D You can also see big particles of whatever in the oil :(

The seal kit from FelPro, you can see the grommets and the valve tube seals in the bag.

The shaded area shows the seals and I pointed out the bad seal which is covered in oil.

Cleaned out the tubes and the seal seats with some gumsolve, also cleaned off the area where the valve cover seal sits on the engine.

I cleaned off the valve cover and put in the new seals, reconnected the accelerator cable and ground wire to the cover (need to change that) On the half moon of the cover I placed a bead of silicone as instructed by Inshan before placing the cover back on and tightened the bolts down, being careful not to over tighen them.

The new NGK's just before I put them into their new home

The new wires are put in place and the engine bay given a wipe down.

I hope this helps anyone who might want to do this, it's pretty straight forward as I was told, and after starting it up and buring out the oil that went down into the combustion chamber the engine was running smoothly and starts in one go and it no longer misses.

For the Honda guys and anyone who may know, this engine says PGM-FI (Programmed Fuel Injection) What exactly is it? As the car does not have a fuel rail like newer cars, it looks like a hybrid carb to me. I think I will open up the air box and take a look see and take some pics of it.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 6:14 pm 

Great Post NickJr... lots of detail and clear pics !

The engine don't look like a fuel injected one... strange... maybe that part is from a fuel injected sohc since the TB would be in the same place....

I've not seen that manifold before either.

Glad ya got thru.

The easiest way to win an argument with a woman... is to stop talking.

NickJr.
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 6:29 pm 

I'll see if I can get the manual from my aunt and read up on it, also I will take some pics and see if I you can make out anything else from them. Thanks again man

horsepwrjunki
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 7:00 pm 

hey kool post man nick...just one question...dah car does rally or wah.. :lol: :lol:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 7:45 pm 

An excellent article.........much thanks to you Nick Jr for taking the time to provide such a wonder ful demonstration.........hope we can continue in this trend as we dig up and try to solve our problems 8)

Sober since 9/12/2010

Teana JK stuff For Sale

nash
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:16 pm 

Nice post !!I like the do it yourself approach :)
Thanks for making the effort.

Yeo
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:20 pm 

Well done Nick! My car next! :mrgreen:

I'll make this a sticky.

DIESELTRINI
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:30 pm 

JR! I proud of you boy! You do real good, and you make a boss pictorial dey!
Look like you have a clone of my car, down to the color and all. X2, that wold be the Dual-Point fuel injection (TBI) on the 4th gen civics. D15B2. 2 injectors in a throttle body... real good for fuel economy, but doesn't respond well to mods.

Yeah boy JR, you did well! Like you didn't change the dist. cap or what? At least take the cap off and inspect the inside for corrosion, cracks or tracking. I notice your dist. O-ring leaking as well, but it not that bad yet.

Next time you feel like getting your hands dirty, you can tackle that one. Take a file/screwdriver and scribe a mark from the dist. base to the head. Right where the top bolt is... See the mark in the pic...

Then you can remove the 3 12mm bolts holding in the dizzy. Pull out the dizzy and replace the O-ring. Replace dizzy, using only 2 of the bolts ( DOn't put back in the one on the bottom (you'll see why... PITA) Line back up your scribe mark, and you good to go.

I hope you gapped the plugs before you install them,a little anti-seize on the threads don't hurt either. I notice like your dizzy bolts still have the black tamperproof caps on them, they probably never come off! :shock:

How many miles on that engine? Makes me wonder about timing belt and thing... :shock:
Anywho... I have that same car, so if you have any specific questions... I basically know that car inside-out. BTW, you can get rid of the snorkel from the airbox, and the airbox... and put on a cone with a Home-Depot ghetto setup that I use. I can further instruct on this if you need. YOu will feel a difference with it.

NickJr.
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 2:34 am 

Thanks Inshan, Well I only had $100 to play with I could of bought the dist cap, but forgot about it when I was by the parts place, I will check to see if it's in good order or not this weekend and advise my aunt. I really don't know the service history of the car so I am sorting it out as I go long.
The timing belt I am "told" was changed recently, and one of the belts looks rather new, but I need a torch to get a better look as there are some hoses running untop of them.
The plugs were pre gapped, so I would hope they are correct, I could always take them out and get them checked.

Inshan could you eplain that engine for me a lil more in depth with the dual point injection. Thanks

Spyrogyra
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:44 am 

Excellent man Nick, yuh kinda gimme the balls to open me b16a cam cover.......................yeah right !

but good article man ! :mrgreen:

DIESELTRINI
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:07 pm 

Quote:
and one of the belts looks rather new

BOth the alternator and the alt. belt look new or recently changed, to me.

DIESELTRINI
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:18 pm 

I have an old DPFI unit somewhere... I'll find it and take some pics. It is amazingly simple. Basically a regualr TBI(throttle-body injection unit). It is like a carburetor, but instead it contains a primary and secondary injector.

Barring a swap over to MPFI, there is not much you can do to work around it. But when they are working good, they are fine. Seeing that the car does not belong to you, I would expect that you would not be trying to do a lot with it. I would suggest continuing what you are doing now, just maintain it in good working order, but don't modify anything.

You can't see the timing belt without taking off the timing cover, which involves taking off the valve cover again... You may have had a look at the belt or at least the side of it, under the timing cover, when you had the valve cover off?

NickJr.
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:03 pm 

Your correct Inshan the alternator and the belt were changed recently, I really didn't pay much attention to the timing belt as I was told that they changed it....But I would go back in to make sure it has been. Wouldn't want that to fail on her.

NarendZORCE
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 2:48 pm 

NickJR, if you can see the 'teeth' printing out on the BACK side (smooth side) of the belt then it needs replacing.

plex
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:57 pm 

Great infor. I learn something.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:01 am 

Location: Im Either In Side, front side or Back side. Trying to de Fckuing side
well done.this is gr8 info......one last move though......ENGINE WASH!!! :mrgreen:

villain
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 8:19 pm 

good post... what was the cost range to get the new seals...i have to do that same thing when i get time

33 hertz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 9:54 pm 

ok looks simple but i still dont think i can handle it myself. ne one knoww a good mechanic who can do this on a 97 hyundai accent and what would be the avg. cost of parts and labour