Wtk the difference between the Sr engines

Boneyard

Wtk the difference between the Sr engines

Postby Boneyard » October 5th, 2005, 9:56 am

Wats the difference between the Black top, Red top, and Silver top Sr engines, in terms of power, age , michanics ect. Pluse are the VE s the black top.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 5th, 2005, 10:19 am

There are 2 balck tops yuh have the UK Spec which basically is noice indeed.. more power than the other SR's other SR which is the VE series carry more power than the UK spec .. it is currently D SR to have if you going N/A power.. The Red top comes turbo and non turbo it is a nice engine also good power for street bullying. The silver top is the normal one a few are boosted which comes in some Bluebirds and Nissan Avenir.. The silver top has a history of being able to stand up to mods over the years.. I dont have much info off the top of my head concerning the history of the motor as it moves from being the new kid on the block to the grandfather of Nissan Performance.. TriniGT will be able to tell you alot the UK spec SR20DE....

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » October 5th, 2005, 1:02 pm

Trini Gt any info u can share on the topic :)

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 5th, 2005, 1:21 pm

Alright it goes something like this:

There are the older model SR20De Silver tops - Stock power should be around 120-140HP These can be noted by having the highport setup (highport meaning the intake port runs below and the injectors can be seen from above). These are from around the 1992-1995 range.
There are also the red top SR20De from the UK and these are basically the same as the silver top and from the sam years as far as I know. Same power as well, just that they came from the UK.
Then there is the GT model Blacktop that cam with about 165HP because of difference in the cams and the exhaust flow as well as the Compression ratio in this model is 10:1, beats me. These have the lowport setup, meaning the intake port is on the top and the injectors are not seen from above. These came in late 1996-1998
Then there is the new silvertop engines that came in 1998-1999 that are the newer SR20DE with the intake on the top as well (low port) and they supposed to net 150HP, these are sometime found int he primera CVT cars and Bluebird SSS cars. They are CVT but not VVL.
Then there is the beast of the SRs the Neo VVL HyperCVTM6 Primeras that come with the VVL(Variable Valve Timing Technology) and come with high compression ratios netting 190HP, this too is a blacktop and has the NeoVVL badge on it.

I can probably find more but off the top of my head that's it for now.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 5th, 2005, 2:09 pm

^^ yeah what he said.. No woder so many guys run down the UK spec.. but yuh miss out the Red top eh boss :|

krack korn

Postby krack korn » October 5th, 2005, 3:58 pm

generally what TriniGT, say dey is correct. VVL stand for Variable Valve timing & Lift , varible valve timing (alone) is where dey does rotate d cams (usually one cam, d intake) with respect tuh d cam timing drive system (gears or chain) via direct oil pressure or servo controlled oil pressure. nissan typically refers to this as VTC, GA16DE has this system.

VVL is very similar to honda VTEC except that vvl has the capability of switching intake and exhaust cams at different rpm (except for new model VE). SR20VE is 187hp, new model is 204hp, SR16VE is 175hp, N1 spec is 190 something.

older SR's '91-'96 have a history of oil problems culminating in rod bearing failures, plenty people spin bearings. Also it had ah timing chain tensioner issue with dat fella ratling. Older SR gearbox had some issues as well, breaking by d diff under pressure and gears poping out under pressure. HP is 140-150.

Newest SR which is d Roller Rocker produced from about 97 come up doh have dese problem. It have new oil pump, lighter crank, thinner rings, lower redline stock, bigger bore MAF dat plastic not aluminum, different distributor. Re-designed oil sump. Crank pulley has harmonic balancer integrated in it. HP is 150

All japanese spec non turbo SR have compression ratio of 10:1 except the VE which is 11:1 in all VE models except the SR16VE N1 spec which is 12:1. American spec SR's come with less compression cause of exhaust emission laws. Turbo come 8.5:1.

Another SR of note is the GTI-R dat come in the pulsar, it turbo have wider rod bearings and have ah generally beefier bottom end. It have individual throttle bodies (ITB's). Shorter intake manifold than the other turbos.

VE and GTI-R have purely mechanical valve train, all d rest have hydraulic lash adjusters (lifters).

All turbo SR's and the SRxxVE's come with oil squirters dat spray oil on the underneath of the piston dome at higher rpms (higher oil pressure) the aim of this is for cooling to reduce the possibility of detonation.

TriniGT is your black top uk spec a roller rocker? Ah believe so but ah ent see inside ah one yet.

d older uk spec GT from the P10 is red top (non turbo highport). it come with ah bosch ECU and electronic transmission if it didnt have ah gearbox. It come with ah OEM header and EGR system. Oil filter up on top right side of engine at about head level.

It have more stuff but ah cyar remember just now, plenty fine differences and variations between engines in different model cars too.

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » October 5th, 2005, 4:18 pm

wat u said up top is wat have me looking of an engine now dam bearnings spun well by now any ways guess thats wat caused the rattleing in my car, where u dose get your info i want to have enough info so when it comes time to get my engine (hopefuly by January) i know specificly wat i want and wat year,black, red or silver top, VVL the regularspecs. let me ask u this when u go to the bamboo to get an engine (SR) they dose tell u the year, black top, red top or silver and give the specs? or u dose have to know dem tings u self, finaly the newer modle engine iam guessing are more expencive.

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » October 5th, 2005, 4:35 pm

so the engine tha urbanracer has in his gts is lowport and the one in his lucino is high port ? was just looking at his engine pics and was wondering

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » October 5th, 2005, 4:47 pm

These have the lowport setup, meaning the intake port is on the top and the injectors are not seen from above.

These can be noted by having the highport setup (highport meaning the intake port runs below and the injectors can be seen from above).
dont realy understand

krack korn

Postby krack korn » October 6th, 2005, 1:54 am

The names highport and lowport kinda deceptive. It refers tuh d way or the angle that the air enters the cylinder tru the head from the intake manifold and flows across the valves.

Generally where the plenum (big ugly thing with throttle body) sits underneath the intake manifold is Highport, where the plenum is above is Lowport. Yuh know it must have ah exception and the exceptions are: all d VE's and the GTI-R these both have the plenum higher up but if u look at the ports in the head or even the angle it enters the head u will see it is highport. On the SR20 forum they say that it low port in the faq I think dat is ah mistake, dat faq sitting dey ah while.

The only concern for low or highport is if yuh doing headwork such as deshrouding and/or want tuh back cut yuh valves tuh improve flow, what would work on one type of flow isnt good for the other but if yuh know what yuh doing and looking at the parts in front yuh, yuh will know what is d best approach for your setup.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » October 6th, 2005, 2:32 am

Ah get meh info from reading and compliment that with working on these engines and verifying what ah read, doh believe all that yuh read it have a lot of misinformation out there as well as good info, yuh have tuh pick sense from nonsense.

When yuh go in d bamboo yuh will have tuh know what u looking for doh depend on dem fellas, plus if u know what u looking for a lot of times yuh would get it at ah better price.

New model DE is about 3000-3500 complete, harness and ecu, no gearbox or tranny. Unless yuh looking for ah replacement engine try tuh stay away from the new model DE dat come connected tuh d CVT tranny ecu in dat kinda different.

New model DE blacktop uk spec don't know price, kinda rare, ask TriniGT, or JWT.

For the VVL yuh could hear anything from 4000-8000 for engine alone complete. A lot of confusion about them, I expect the price tuh raise initially as all this posting about them going tuh create ah flurry of interest and law of economics: supply and demand.

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » October 6th, 2005, 12:59 pm

this is a little off topic but i am hopin someone can help me out here. I heard about an M6 Neo VVL engine. Only heard of it once. Person said it's better than the Sr's. I see alot of M6 badges on Primeras. And only one Primera with a big ass M6 and GT badge on it. Can someone give me a little insight on this engine? :?:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » October 6th, 2005, 2:42 pm

Ok, the M6 refers to the transmission, not the engine. I have a SR20VE with a CVT M6 tranny, meaning that I can shift the tranny sequentially through 6 "gears".

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » October 7th, 2005, 3:14 pm

Ok thx.So the Neo VVL is the engine. What do you folks think about the engine(In comparison to any of the SR20's.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » October 18th, 2005, 8:42 am

Picasso wrote: .. it is currently D SR to have if you going N/A power.. .

i beg 2 differ....
although it hurts 2 say it i will give honda the n/a class....

but boost is a different story :twisted:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 18th, 2005, 3:54 pm

^^ I belive in the SR20VE on the SR20 forum there are guys that are doing some ridiculous N/A power with those engines vurses a SR20DE :|

Postby Dave » October 18th, 2005, 4:07 pm

gimme a bit nah and will show allyuh what a ve could do just like what an auto de does do and guess what, the ve would require use of one foot to drive :mrgreen:
ve unless u could afford parts would be better left as a na project whereas turbo is concerned a sr20de-t or det would be better
as for nitrous then de again
the ve and nos would prove to be an expensive challenge as the ecu advances the timing at a ridiculous rate and detonation would be almost prevalent
however i have the necessary to make a sr20ven a reality MUHUAHAHAHAHAHA :twisted: :mrgreen:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 18th, 2005, 4:18 pm

^^ Dave yuh know I coming in the the game too I just eh know if I will be able to handle the power :twisted: AHHHCHOOO coming in 2006 sniff sniff :mrgreen:

Postby Dave » October 18th, 2005, 4:24 pm

make sure u have the funds to support a cold cause it gonna run a big budget if it is to be reliable and a daily driver and keep up with me :twisted: :mrgreen:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 18th, 2005, 4:31 pm

^^ Well I will be running small sneeze formula lets say about 9 :| ..... HOpefully once the doctor performs surgery I will put out about 20 on a hot sunny day :twisted: