Saturday, November 1st, 2014



- It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 9:52 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Jump to:  


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ] 
Author Message
nismotrini
 Post subject: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:02 am 
Offline
Riding on 13's
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 2:25 pm
Posts: 12
Guys, I noticed my dashboard CVT light flashing a few times this morning when i started my car. It flashed for a few seconds then went back to normal. What does this mean or do I even want to know? The car is a Primera Hyper CVT M6


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter
Top
 Profile  
 
flatline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:24 am 
Offline
3NE 2NR Spannerator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: cd /pub | more beer
did you get any problems with the ratios changing after the light flashed? Usually indicates a problem with the stepper motor or even a blown CVT fuse. If you haven't changed the CVT oil for the past 40000km, it may be time to do so


Top
 Profile  
 
nismotrini
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:32 am 
Offline
Riding on 13's
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 2:25 pm
Posts: 12
I noticed a loss in power a few days before at pulloff (at various points of driving). I didn't feel any power loss after the lights stopped flashing on that day. I changed the CVT fluid in January this year, I haven't done 40,000 since. I intend to change the fluid within the next few days. Where can I go to troubleshoot this problem and if I have to, get it sorted out?


Top
 Profile  
 
flatline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:53 am 
Offline
3NE 2NR Spannerator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: cd /pub | more beer
try somewhere with a diagnostic tool to hook into the consult port. Masterserv has one. But they may send you by a transmission specialist anyway e.g Charles in Duncan Vge who also has a diagnostic device. Check the fuse first to be sure. (it's one of those under the steering wheel.)


Top
 Profile  
 
RYO3149
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:11 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:53 pm
Posts: 238
Location: VE Ready.....Starting MODS>>>
Nismotrini.. Did the CVT Light blink approx. 16 times.. This happened to me, and i had to change the STEPPER motor. At first I lost power while driving, i cycled the power to reset the ECU and then i noticed the CVT Light blinking.
After the car remained in a low gear after that. Is a light I wish never to see again bro.. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
nismotrini
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:40 pm 
Offline
Riding on 13's
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 2:25 pm
Posts: 12
RYO, it looks like I need to be changing my stepper motor pretty soon. I think I'm experiencing the same thing as you. where/ who/ how much/ how difficult?


Top
 Profile  
 
flatline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:57 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR Spannerator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: cd /pub | more beer
check the fuse first and then have them run the diagnostics to confirm. It IS sounding like the stepper motor, but I have seen symptoms like that occur because of a blown CVT fuse, so just to be sure you are not getting robbed... then you can proceed to your nearest tranny specialist


Top
 Profile  
 
RYO3149
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:01 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:53 pm
Posts: 238
Location: VE Ready.....Starting MODS>>>
The Stepper Motor is available at Motorist for approx $900. The mechanic is from Pville (south). Call [765 6364 Rishi]
Its not that difficult to replace but timely, may have to leave your car for about a half day or so.
Will Also need to buy CVT Transmission Fluid to replace. CVT NS-1
I also heard that the replacement motor "supposedly" to be improved meaning more rugged so it should last much longer.


Top
 Profile  
 
RYO3149
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:06 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:53 pm
Posts: 238
Location: VE Ready.....Starting MODS>>>
Flatline.. The blown CVT Fuse that you are referring to, could that affect the gear ratios to the point that it remains constantly in one gear??
What are some other symptoms of a blown CVT Fuse???


Top
 Profile  
 
flatline
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:17 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR Spannerator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 2431
Location: cd /pub | more beer
RYO, someone I know was experiencing the same symptoms of it being stuck in low gear and it turned out to be the fuse.

Those same symptoms I also experienced myself and took it to Masterserv for diagnostics, thinking I'd definitely have to change the stepper motor. Ran the car and returned zero errors even though it was stuck in 3rd and not accepting manual mode shifting, suring the diagnostic run. They sent me to that person in Duncan Vge, but after I left Masterserv everything worked fine :? Not sure what caused the hiccup, cause I thought i had to replace stepper motor, but that was earlier this year, and it's been fine since :| *knocks on wood*


Top
 Profile  
 
RYO3149
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:35 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:53 pm
Posts: 238
Location: VE Ready.....Starting MODS>>>
OK..Well my car remained in a contant low gear.. but it slipped me to check that fuse...
So it is a VERY GOOD idea to check that fuse first..
I have a pardner with a M6 as well. Encountering intermiddent porbs as described by Nismotrini especially after driving for long extended periods. After he cycles the power .. no probs until the car heats up again. [Thas the tricky part]
Flatline ... Your expertise required again...
We checked everyting... and this time we will be leaving Mr. Stepper Motor for last... :)


Top
 Profile  
 
olton
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:12 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 12:41 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Trincity
What about the 'no-tools' check?

The procedure is like
- Check for TPS connectivity (optional)
- Warm up the engine
- Turn ignition from ON to OFF two more times, then OFFF
- Turn on in 'P' and verify that the CVT lamp lights for 2 sec
- Turn OFF
- Press the brake, and shift to 'D'
- Turn ignition ON
- Release brake and shift to 'L'
- Fully depress both brake & gas. Do not release, and shift back to 'D'
- Read the lamp

4th flicker out of ten being longer than the others points to the stepper

The full crap is on page AT-25 of the FSM


Top
 Profile  
 
samchiko
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:14 am 
Offline
Riding on 13's

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 3
RYO3149 wrote:
OK..Well my car remained in a contant low gear.. but it slipped me to check that fuse...
So it is a VERY GOOD idea to check that fuse first..
I have a pardner with a M6 as well. Encountering intermiddent porbs as described by Nismotrini especially after driving for long extended periods. After he cycles the power .. no probs until the car heats up again. [Thas the tricky part]
Flatline ... Your expertise required again...
We checked everyting... and this time we will be leaving Mr. Stepper Motor for last... :)


Do you have an idea where I can find the stepper motor, is it inside the gearbox or is elsewhere because I have my car with CVT which remains in low gear and the diagonistic machine is reporting the stepper motor. Please advise


Top
 Profile  
 
samchiko
 Post subject: CVT GEAR BOX
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:26 am 
Offline
Riding on 13's

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 3
flatline wrote:
RYO, someone I know was experiencing the same symptoms of it being stuck in low gear and it turned out to be the fuse.

Those same symptoms I also experienced myself and took it to Masterserv for diagnostics, thinking I'd definitely have to change the stepper motor. Ran the car and returned zero errors even though it was stuck in 3rd and not accepting manual mode shifting, suring the diagnostic run. They sent me to that person in Duncan Vge, but after I left Masterserv everything worked fine :? Not sure what caused the hiccup, cause I thought i had to replace stepper motor, but that was earlier this year, and it's been fine since :| *knocks on wood*


WHERE DO I FIND STEPPER MOTOR ON CVT GEAR BOX?


Top
 Profile  
 
samchiko
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:30 am 
Offline
Riding on 13's

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 3
RYO3149 wrote:
The Stepper Motor is available at Motorist for approx $900. The mechanic is from Pville (south). Call [765 6364 Rishi]
Its not that difficult to replace but timely, may have to leave your car for about a half day or so.
Will Also need to buy CVT Transmission Fluid to replace. CVT NS-1
I also heard that the replacement motor "supposedly" to be improved meaning more rugged so it should last much longer.


PLEASE ADVISE WHRE ABOUT IN THE GEARBOX IS THE STEPPER MOTOR LOCATED


Top
 Profile  
 
neoc35
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 12:23 am 
Offline
Riding on 13's

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:04 am
Posts: 3
Location: princes town
i hear dat man Charles bogus :evil:


Top
 Profile  
 
turbosnail
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 12:34 pm 
Offline
Chronic TriniTuner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 9:38 am
Posts: 578
Location: Fear the ban key :)
samchiko wrote:
RYO3149 wrote:
The Stepper Motor is available at Motorist for approx $900. The mechanic is from Pville (south). Call [765 6364 Rishi]
Its not that difficult to replace but timely, may have to leave your car for about a half day or so.
Will Also need to buy CVT Transmission Fluid to replace. CVT NS-1
I also heard that the replacement motor "supposedly" to be improved meaning more rugged so it should last much longer.


PLEASE ADVISE WHRE ABOUT IN THE GEARBOX IS THE STEPPER MOTOR LOCATED


u need to remove tranny sumpan 2 bolts hold the stepper motor


Top
 Profile  
 
crazyhorse69
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:47 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 104
Location: \couva
my cvt light blinking and the tranny feels slugish in reverse and pull of also it sticking onces it reaches 3rd gear......need help plz plz oh it's a lsd m6 cvt tranny in a primera


Top
 Profile  
 
crazyhorse69
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:16 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 104
Location: \couva
ok just to update my posting got my problem sorted out by anil sooknanan it turned out to be the resistor ontop the tranny was damaged so just changed and back to normal...


Top
 Profile  
 
turbosnail
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:56 pm 
Offline
Chronic TriniTuner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 9:38 am
Posts: 578
Location: Fear the ban key :)
whats this resistor u have a pic


Top
 Profile  
 
krack korn
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 3:44 pm 
Offline
3NE2NR is my LIFE
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:56 am
Posts: 749
dropping resistor, its right next to the secondary speed sensor, its metal encased, the main harness clips into a support bracket off of it. Part of it is bent at an angle down and back this is where the harness plug (light grey) enters.


Top
 Profile  
 
2fast4u
 Post subject: Re: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 7:42 pm 
Offline
Ricer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:58 am
Posts: 21
ay fellas i have ah cvt m6 tiptronic tranny in my n16 well i mean bluebird sylphy..It's paired to a qr20 neo di but i realise dat wen i am pulling off d tranny is dead an lazy ,but after pulling off it works fine dat is until i hit d highway an run it at 140-160kmh at 4000-4500rpm,it gives me this jerk an den it,s like the car is accelerating at its own pace an intermittently gearing down by itself..if i pull aside an stop switch off d engine,wait for ah click an den start back up the cvt light starts blinking rapidly for a few moments an den stopps an the car is back to normal..also wen this happens it does not shift into manual mode any help any one?


Top
 Profile  
 
Big Z
 Post subject: Re: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 7:58 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR Power Seller
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:58 pm
Posts: 1970
Location: Mobile# 734-7669 Amsoil, Redline, Royal Purple, Valvoline & Luberfiner, Fuel Injector Cleaning
The blinking CVT light is also known as the "something in the CVT got fuct light".
Which means drive the car to a competent mechanic and let him check the code.
He will then tell you what the possible causes are, and what your options are.


Top
 Profile  
 
redrum
 Post subject: Re: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 3:46 pm 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:16 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Underground !!!
I am currently having the same problems with my cvt m6 tranny, when driving the trannny would race off, and down shifts on its own, when this happens manual mode is non functional, the engine rev's but the car seldom moves.

I would have to turn of the ignition and let the tranny cool down, for at least 15 min before I continue to drive again.

I went to do a car diagnostic scan 3 times and nothing showed up. I know it's not the fuse, because the cvt light blinked exactly 16 times, and I changed the resistor.
The diagnostic guy suggests that it's probably a mechanical problem.I don't think so because the car drives normal afterwards, but with a loss in power.

Any other suggestions? Bye the way the stepper motor is $1400.00 at the motorist. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
Tommy 2
 Post subject: Re: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 3:54 pm 
Offline
Riding on 13's
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 4
Location: El Socorro
I have a P11 Primera with the hyper cvt m6 transmission, and I'm experiencing a problem with the transmission being stuck in the start off position/ratio and not moving from there. The car redlines @ 80 kph and I can't access tiptonic mode. The funny thing is that it doesn't alaways happen, but seems to be happening 90% of the time now.

I had two 'experts' check it out - Jai's Transmission (Aranguez) and Steve (williamsville) - and they both ran diagnostics and suggest that its something electrical/electronic. Steve said it looks like the control box for the transmission, after changing sensors and testing. He says the STEPPER MOTOR and Belt are fine - mechanically nothing is wrong. However, research on the internet all points to the STEPPER MOTOR.

Any advice? My car has been down since March (2 months)


Top
 Profile  
 
redrum
 Post subject: Re: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 2:54 pm 
Offline
Street 2NR
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:16 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Underground !!!
Last resort, to replace with new stepper motor! Since the cvt light blinked exactly 16 times before.

Replaced the stepper motor with a brand new one, problem solved....


Last edited by redrum on Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:26 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
2fast4u
 Post subject: Re: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 10:27 am 
Offline
Ricer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:58 am
Posts: 21
i still aint get no sound advice on mine yet will let you all know as soon as i do


Top
 Profile  
 
JesuEric
 Post subject: Re: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 1:27 pm 
Offline
3NE 2NR for life
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:20 am
Posts: 237
hey guys.....I have a M6 CVT trani primera as well and I have this problem where it sticks in a low ratio as well... I dont get any CVT light flashing tho but I think it is because I havent wired up the CVT control box as yet.....now im experiencing a loss in power after 4000 rpm or so is like the engine screaming all into VVL and still lack of power....cud this be stepper motor as well? I heard about cleaning the filter but havent tried it...the powerloss started after i changed trani oil last saturday and it has the correct amount and NS-1 oil in it as well....idk what direction to turn...last night after pressing in VVL it felt like it had a slight jerk to it as well.....


Top
 Profile  
 
abbow
 Post subject: Re: CVT flashing light
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 7:27 am 
Offline
Sweet on this forum

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 2:30 pm
Posts: 329
Location: Around...
there is a sensor on top of the tranny...look down where your intake pipe bolts onto the throttle body, u'll see a sensor...i think its a speed sensor or turbine sensor...some crap like that...

change that one and see what happens...i did with mine when i had a similar issue and it worked fine.

initially i got 16 blinks from the cvt light indicating speed sensor.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Who is online

Registered users: @!!St@r AF, a little louder, Adrian.J, ALARM MASTER, amd-dude, APACHE, arsene, betsy6481, Bing [Bot], blingdown15, BushmanStarz, caution sounds, chadvieira, chookoblaise, chosen1, clevie, coltspeed, computer, crackindian, Custom Options, daron, Darryl, deadstuntman, FAMILYGUY101, gas_brains, gastly369, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, goon, grimer, Henry, honda123, iM@st@1, In 2 Deep, jason23, Jet, jusmrdavid86, kliq, konartis, Madniss, medic, Mercenary, mitisubishiboi22, modifiedtoys, mojosodope, music stuff, nivelli, Nperry, pelpa, pororoca, randy100ist, randykaloo, Realtalk, redsled, RickyJ12, ronel44, rx80, scareboy007, sheldonpeters, shellybelly85, skulls, slickrick777, SNR, sonic100, src1983, streaminhonda, sub-pro, tatt2 wizard, tattoman, tian108, tomahawk, tramp, Trini Hookah, Viiii, X_Factor, xapruda, Yahoo [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
3NE-2NR