Please download the latest Flash Player here

Thursday, September 2nd, 2010

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

qscpower
 Post subject: WTK: 1JZ to 1 G GTE TWIN TURBO
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:43 am 

hi guys i need some help here i have a 1 JZ none turbo in a royal saloon right now and want to know if it makes scense putting in the 1 G GTE twin turbo in it, if you all have any problems or know of any problems with the 1g gte plz let me know thx

slimshiney
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:34 pm 

u shuld know the 1g gte output is just about 210 with 203 ft-lbf..it's the older engine..(88-91)...1jz n/a i believe puts out somewhere around 200hp....I knew a guy that has the 1g gte in a celica....it pulls okish...........considering a royal..depending on your needs...Weighing of the issues i think the n/a 1jz is better to jus swap...if ur gonna put a trubo engine..better u go 1jz turbo..a lot higher outputs in comparison to the 1gte (besides the age of the engine).....my lil two cents :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 2:38 pm 

Engine Type Valv/Cyl Year Disp. BHP Torque Bore Stroke CR stock boost+other remarks
/angle [*=JIS] [lb ft] [mm or inches]

1G-GTE DOHC 4 85-90 1988* 210@6200 203@3800 75 75 8.5:1

1JZ-GE DOHC 4 98- 2491 200@6000 185@4000 86 71.5

1JZ-GTE DOHC 4 90- 2491* (280)@6200 269@4800 86 71.5 8.5:1 JP (voluntary 280hp limit, real hp ?)

1JZ-GTE DOHC 4 98 2491 (280)@6200 278@2400 86 71.5 9.0:1 VVT-i JP Soarer, Mark II (voluntary 280hp limit, real

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 2:50 pm 

so yuh see if yuh do ah 1ggte transplant on yuh crown den yuh ent gettin much more power dan yuh already puttin out unless yuh plan tuh upgrade d 1ggte....yuh better option is 1jzgte which as yuh see from above puttin out much more dan d 1jz n/a an also d 1ggte.....d onli ting is dah d 1jz gte ah bit more expensive buh if yuh hv d money it is d better swap.....an trust meh yuh guh like it.....or if nt turbo den if yuh cud get yuh hands on ah 2jz n/a.....buh daz jus sum ah yuh options still check around man.....it hv more experienced men in dis field.....an dey guh hv ah better idea dan me....jus wait fuh dey input on d matter....

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 2:58 pm 

also post this in d TOYOTA FORUM an yuh sure to get better feedback on dis matter.....

X2Board
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:15 pm 

dont do this .. the ijz is a much better platfrom to build on if you plan on modifying.
the 1ggte was not a performance oriented engine & not much internal parts are avialable for this ..
the extra 10 hp is definitely not worth it

X2Board
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:16 pm 

dont do this .. the 1jz is a much better platfrom to build on if you plan on modifying.
the 1ggte was not a performance oriented engine & not much internal parts are avialable for this ..

qscpower
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:45 pm 

thx guys for the help ill keep my 1jz then thx

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:11 pm 

1jz is def the sweeter engine

qscpower
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 9:39 pm 

thx guys

QG
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:32 pm 

X2Board wrote:
dont do this .. the 1jz is a much better platfrom to build on if you plan on modifying.

Well said!!

my pick exactly

EVO 9 MR!!

qscpower
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:58 pm 

thx guys save meh frm doin ta ta

A.M. Distributors
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:06 pm 
there is no comparison,...IMO both will give you the same job. Best you keep your 1jz.

My $0.02

skylineGTR55036018
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:30 am 

ummm theyre both around the same power... just keep the engine 1jz..if ur lo0kin 4 sumtin wit alot more pep get the 1jzgte...

"Living Life In The Bo0sted Lane"...

THE_FUGITIVES
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am 

buy 1j turbo , sell the n/a, enjoy boost