Thursday, June 20th, 2013

- It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:43 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

mugen power
 Post subject: no vtec
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 8:32 pm 

check light come on and the vtec not working. what can cause this in a eg9?

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

scientist
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:28 pm 

do a CEL diagnostic

DrunkenMaster16
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 12:25 am 

pull the code! then research it :wink:

scientist
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:13 am 

Way to check codes on your 92-95 civic.
If you go to passanger side kick panel and raise up the carpet u sould see your ecu. and above your ECU there will be a lil plug. iIts grey. with 2 wires coming out of it. One wire is black with a white stripe and the other is a red with a black strip.. I take a spare piece of thin speaker wire and cut off both ends so that the actual copper of the wire is showion on both ends. i twist up both ends so that they are in a nice point. stick one end of the wire into the fist socket on the plug. The other end of the wire into the other socket. Turn your key to the ON position.. dont start your car. just to the ON position. Watch your check engine light on your cluster. it will flash.. 1 long flash is 10. the quick flashes are one. so if ur CEL goes !.....!!! that is a code 13. !....!....!!!!! code 25. then take the code #'s and hop on this thread and see what it is. i hope i could help you all.

scientist
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:13 am 

taken from tegger.com
1 O2A - Oxygen sensor #1
2 O2B - Oxygen sensor #2
3 MAP - manifold absolute pressure sensor
4 CKP - crank position sensor
5 MAP - manifold absolute pressure sensor
6 ECT - water temperature sensor
7 TPS - throttle position sensor
8 TDC - top dead centre sensor
9 CYP - cylinder sensor
10 IAT - intake air temperature sensor
12 EGR - exhaust gas recirculation lift valve
13 BARO - atmospheric pressure sensor
14 IAC (EACV) - idle air control valve
15 Ignition output signal
16 Fuel injectors
17 VSS - speed sensor
19 Automatic transmission lockup control valve
20 Electrical load detector
21 VTEC spool solenoid valve
22 VTEC pressure valve
23 Knock sensor
30 Automatic transmission A signal
31 Automatic transmission B signal
36 traction control found on JDM ecu's
41 Primary oxygen sensor heater
43 Fuel supply system
45 Fuel system too rich or lean
48 LAF - lean air fuel sensor
54 CKF - crank fluctuation sensor
58 TDC sensor #2
61 Primary oxygen sensor
63 Secondary oxygen sensor
65 Secondary oxygen sensor heater
71 random misfire cylinder 1
72 random misfire cylinder 2
73 random misfire cylinder 3
74 random misfire cylinder 4

scientist
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:16 am 

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:17 am 

Boss Post up there, and it works.

As for the VTEC not engaging, does the EG civic run a Preset map when the Check engine light is on scientist?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 6:56 am 

It depends on what is wrong. Say for eg. the O2 sensor is disconnected, VTEC will still engage but the preset map will be rich.

If something like the vtec solenoid causes the CEL then it will not engage. it really depends.

mugen power
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:15 pm 

i getting a code 21 vtec solinoid any sugessions on what 2 do?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:35 am 

Solenoid could have gone bad and needs to be replaced.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:46 am 

Sticky this post... good presentation scientist.

First off... do the CEL code routine... also check your oil immediately... low oil pressure will kill vtec and possibly your engine.

Any oil leaks ?

The easiest way to win an argument with a woman... is to stop talking.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 8:01 am 

Quote:
Solenoid could have gone bad and needs to be replaced

Or get a sensor borrowed and see if that is your problem.If it is well then you are certain you need a new one.

Silvermike
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 11:17 am 

vtec solenoid oil filter clogged?

Clerique
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 11:43 am 

Silvermike wrote:
vtec solenoid oil filter clogged?

That reminds me! :mrgreen:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 2:58 pm 

silicone is a beyotch when it come to dat^^^ very common problem too

mugen power
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:22 pm 

no oil leaks the oil was bout 3/4 i top it up take out the solinoid and clean the filter reset the ecu and same problem

Silvermike
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:23 pm 

well the solenoid gone then.
i have one if u interested.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 3:13 pm 

wtk: Whats the average price for a V-Tec Solenoid?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 6:07 pm 

well FIRST test the solenoid meng... that doh mean it just gone.

Pull off the connector to the vtec solenoid and hook it up to a + and - power source... you should hear it *CLICK* when power is supplied. If that works... the solenoid is not the problem...you then inspect the switch.

The easiest way to win an argument with a woman... is to stop talking.

mugen power
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 8:38 am 

well i did what u said x and i heard the click this means it working. where is the switch and how do u test it?

Val
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:25 pm 

try to locate a Service Manual for the model of engine you have. That will give you the schematic of the electronic system so you can find the switch. It will also tell you what to look for in a tabulated form. I don't have the manual for the civic, but ask around, I'm sure you can get one. Check Kes_Vtec etc.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 6:54 am 

Take off the solenoid and check the little oil filter, lookls like a strainer. DO NOT PUT SILICONE, change the damn rubber gasket instead if it is worn. When a Honda gives a code it could also be the wiring. Is it an Original SiR? Was a Swap done? If it is the latter there may be a loose wire going to the ECU.

trincivic
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:09 pm 

For a stock ecu, vtec engagement depends on speed, rpm and temperature. Also check oil pressure and level. Codes will tell everything except level

mugen power
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:13 pm 

i checked the filter and gasket it good ,its not an original sir i did a swap. i have to check on the loose wire but i doubt it though. will a slight leak on the base gasket cause it ?a little fumesing