02 civic tranny swap

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Sudhaakar

02 civic tranny swap

Postby Sudhaakar » July 8th, 2007, 4:23 pm

hey i recently bolted on a turbo kit to my 02 civic with a D15y4 engine, problem is its a foreign used with a cvt transmission, it worked for a few days but recently the tranny started slipping while driving and engine light on the dash comin on. i guess this is because the cvt cant handle the extra jamming. i have opted for a gearbox since. only problem now is a gearbox for th d15y4 engine is not easily available. will the gearbox from the 99 civic (d15z engine) or the d15b engine be compatible with the d15y4 engine? or if anyone has any suitable alternatives please help.

r_4sr

Postby r_4sr » July 9th, 2007, 9:01 am

i dont think any other d series tranny can work with this engine.. how much u spent on the kit?

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 9th, 2007, 12:47 pm

nope, the gearboxes from civics 2000 and backwards wont work on your application as the 2001+ civics use a cable type gearbox and the 92-00 do not!

talk about sheit outta luck

Sudhaakar

Postby Sudhaakar » July 9th, 2007, 1:00 pm

the kit costed close to 11k, using a garrett t3/t4 unit. nice power but
tranny cant deliver. dat really is sheit out of luck. i might hadda order a box now. if anybody come across a box for the 02 model, gimme ah shout nah. thanx 4 d advice fellas

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 9th, 2007, 4:18 pm

mine doesnt have cvt...:)

Sudhaakar

Postby Sudhaakar » July 9th, 2007, 4:44 pm

breds thank yuh lucky stars. i think if i cant get a box, i might as well go with the normal 4 speed transmission. rebuilt of course.

Sudhaakar

Postby Sudhaakar » July 9th, 2007, 5:34 pm

aye aaron u tink u could source a box for mih? u waz telling me for d rally dat u had some links. try ah ting nah.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 10th, 2007, 12:23 am

^^ just make sure u get EVERYTHING for the conversion, cus no 92-00 parts gonna work in helping your swap be easier.

ravs

Tranny Housing...

Postby ravs » September 10th, 2007, 6:43 am

Hey,

At the same time if anyone knows where I can get a trans housing for the same 1.5 vtec cvt 2001 civic i would appreciate it. My tranny has a slow leak because of an accident..
Thanks...

sinnas

Postby sinnas » September 10th, 2007, 9:12 am

So i was in Classic motors the other day and felt real idle and asked the got of a gearbox for the 02' civic.

approx $40,000.00 was the parts dept. answer. WITHOUT pedals etc. :shock: :shock: :shock:
to which i replied..................thank you and walked away :lol:

k20 or one of those swaps way better yes

Mad Hatter

Re: 02 civic tranny swap

Postby Mad Hatter » July 12th, 2016, 10:46 pm

Ever got a gearbox? Considering a similar route

Return to “HONDA”