whats wrong with my engine

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

mayinde

whats wrong with my engine

Postby mayinde » August 13th, 2007, 11:27 pm

i have ah b16a5 with ah 1800 auto tranny but for some reason i can't get the car to go passed 160km/h in D4 and 180in D3 its like the 4th gear has no power please somebody tell me what is the problem

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 13th, 2007, 11:35 pm

Stop using your automatic like a manual!

Unless you want to buy another tranny... plus your car might be electronically limited to 180km... or it may just not have power to past that :?:

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » August 14th, 2007, 12:21 am

Yep sounds like limiter. Get ah japanese ECU :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

mayinde

Postby mayinde » August 14th, 2007, 7:23 am

i don't think its ah limiter cause for the first 3 gears it goes to about 8k rpms but the 4 just goes to about 4k rpm and no i don't use it like ah manual i just leave it in D3 or D4. But if it is the ecu where can i get ah proper ecu or ah gear box

abbow

gearbox

Postby abbow » August 14th, 2007, 10:44 am

jus buy a gearbox for about 9k for ur b16 and u would enjoy driving ur b16 alot more....trust meh... :lol:

pm kes_vtec he should link u up

import

Postby import » August 14th, 2007, 12:01 pm

i have ah b16a5 with ah 1800 auto tranny but for some reason i can't get the car to go passed 160km/h in D4 and 180in D3 its like the 4th gear has no power please somebody tell me what is the problem

Ammm ok so whats the problem.. :| Thats how it supposed to work..Thats how all honda transmissions work. Fourth gear is not the " sport " gear, it's 3rd or D3 in your case..

4th is what they call in NISSAN terms overdrive, It's a cruising gear.It was not designed for you to run out the speedo with.

... But amm yuh need to stop driving the car like a manual eh.. Trust me you ent gonna like the price of a clutch kit for your Transmission.

Go easy on D3

Or yuh could jus buy a Gearbox... Ahhhhh did i jus say that :!: :oops:

Postby X2 » August 14th, 2007, 1:54 pm

you are not running out of 'rpm' meng... you are running into a speed cut that does not allow you to pass a particular speed in KPH or MPH. That fact that you can't go past 4k in the top gear is because the ecu is not letting the car create enough power to get past 180k.

I remember the first time I hit a speed cut with my sohc 5 spd.... same deal... around 5000rpm in 5th gear, clipping 120mph.... I hit a brick wall... no more power... and the Grand Prix just sailed on by... :lol:

Zim

Postby Zim » August 14th, 2007, 2:42 pm

X2 wrote:you are not running out of 'rpm' meng... you are running into a speed cut that does not allow you to pass a particular speed in KPH or MPH. That fact that you can't go past 4k in the top gear is because the ecu is not letting the car create enough power to get past 180k.

I remember the first time I hit a speed cut with my sohc 5 spd.... same deal... around 5000rpm in 5th gear, clipping 120mph.... I hit a brick wall... no more power... and the Grand Prix just sailed on by... :lol:

Postby X2 » August 14th, 2007, 3:09 pm

^^ I had him from about 50mph to the speed cut.... weight reduction FTW !

mayinde

Postby mayinde » August 14th, 2007, 4:47 pm

but i heard of men with auto sir that running up to 200+ easy . who in trini could get rid of that speed cut

Postby X2 » August 14th, 2007, 4:51 pm

honestly.... I'd rather not tell ya until u upgrade ur brakes.... 0X

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 14th, 2007, 6:41 pm

X2 wrote:honestly.... I'd rather not tell ya until u upgrade ur brakes.... 0X

With great power comes great responsibility :roll:

mayinde

Postby mayinde » August 14th, 2007, 11:07 pm

actually the brakes are up graded i just need to get some braided brake hoses but i have drilled bigger rotors and aem brake pads

Postby X2 » August 14th, 2007, 11:40 pm

ingalook wrote:
X2 wrote:honestly.... I'd rather not tell ya until u upgrade ur brakes.... 0X

With great power comes great responsibility :roll:

hEY... I gotta watch out for my own arse....

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 15th, 2007, 12:10 am

Hoss... we juss trying to make sure yuh doh kill yuhself (an maybe run off de highway and kill other people)

On de odda hand... it sounding like you will put some nice second hand parts on de market if any survive :wink:

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » August 15th, 2007, 1:06 am

import wrote:

Ammm ok so whats the problem.. :| Thats how it supposed to work..Thats how all honda transmissions work. Fourth gear is not the " sport " gear, it's 3rd or D3 in your case..

4th is what they call in NISSAN terms overdrive, It's a cruising gear.It was not designed for you to run out the speedo with.

... But amm yuh need to stop driving the car like a manual eh.. Trust me you ent gonna like the price of a clutch kit for your Transmission.

Go easy on D3

Or yuh could jus buy a Gearbox... Ahhhhh did i jus say that :!: :oops:

Yuh could source one for my car ? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

trinish

Postby trinish » August 15th, 2007, 1:43 am

ah see like is yuh first post, like yuh now get the car to seeing you ain't know how yuh car does wuk. Relax a lil bit, then look to piggy back yuh speed limiter. Good move in upgrading yuh brakes. I yet to do this. And yuh see what them fellas saying, try and listen to then, stop yuh it as if yuh had a tranny, unless yuh rich. In that case fix up.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » August 15th, 2007, 10:31 am

ingalook wrote:Hoss... we juss trying to make sure yuh doh kill yuhself (an maybe run off de highway and kill other people)

On de odda hand... it sounding like you will put some nice second hand parts on de market if any survive :wink:

hahaha!.... that was mean jed! ...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 15th, 2007, 2:37 pm

I juss looking for de silver lining... :lol:

VIcivic

Postby VIcivic » August 15th, 2007, 5:54 pm

mayinde I'll tell u who to contact for an ecu upgrade. All I ask is if you can't drive and you're gonna kill some1.

Please ONLY kill yourself. I hope you atleast have ABS.

KESTER 461-8465

mayinde

Postby mayinde » August 15th, 2007, 9:54 pm

ah taking all ah alyuh advice and ah could drive and i didn't just get the car ah had it two years now, but ah just want it to work to the best of its ability . i living in bago and it just have some men up hewre that just feel that lancer and nissan in the sheit so ah does just want to show them that when it comes to n/a honda is king. but what i feel i might do is just leave this car as is and see if ah could put my hands on ah type r anybody know of anybody that have one to sell or ah manual 99-00 sir

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 15th, 2007, 10:34 pm

Type-r is de boss... yuh will spend a fortune to get a SiR up to Type-R spec, but the SiR is still a damn nice car :wink:

mayinde

Postby mayinde » August 15th, 2007, 10:38 pm

fuh real the guy that own kc confectionary when he was selling his i got ah drie in it it was mad but somebody had already secured the sale but al looking for one like it again

mayinde

Postby mayinde » August 15th, 2007, 10:39 pm

but anybody have the newer ones the ep3 model in trini

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 16th, 2007, 1:41 am

If you want something that new I suggest you go with the type-r integra, and go for the models after 2003, thats the facelift with the suspension that doh kill yuh everytime yuh hit ah pothole... yuh watching 120k there though :(

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » August 16th, 2007, 8:26 am

mayinde wrote:fuh real the guy that own kc confectionary when he was selling his i got ah drie in it it was mad but somebody had already secured the sale but al looking for one like it again

KC is owned by more than one brother just so that you know, but you right the teggy was nice

mayinde

Postby mayinde » August 16th, 2007, 4:09 pm

ok cool thanks for the info there Zh@ne

Return to “HONDA”