K20 engine project

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

nkhan

K20 engine project

Postby nkhan » November 25th, 2007, 8:35 am

I have a spare K20 engine Civic Type R. I am going to attempt to upgrade the internals. Any input as regards to pistons , rods and sleeves.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 25th, 2007, 11:37 pm

Dude... thats a 212hp civic NA engine you got there

unless you have destroyed the internals somehoe I say leave it alone and put it in your car.

You keeping it NA right?

Messing with a K is gonna be expensive, I say throw on some bolt-ons, ecu etc and see how it runs first

paz

Postby paz » November 25th, 2007, 11:54 pm

breds k20's respond well to intake,exhaust and tuning .

if you have to do anything internal get a complete cam upgrade(cams,cam gears,valvetrain etc..arp headbolts

fellas putting down 250whp with those mods with good tuning. dont mess with the compression or block work on the head

k20rDC

Postby k20rDC » November 26th, 2007, 1:22 am

Come on guys... give the man more encouragement then that...

By the way, that engine has a PRC intake manifold so most likely it is a ITR not CTR
Hear wa' yu' du'

1) Kpro... tuned, this motor will make nice power. Mine made 233hp/156tq (stock internals)
2) good flowing headers
3) change the PRC intake manifold on put on a CTR RBC... 5-7hp increase easy.
4) get some Honda RSX injectors.. they flow 410cc v.s TypeR which is 310cc

Run that first... then later on get ...

1) nice set of cams... IPS, buddy club or Skunk2
2) valve springs and retainers... eibach, supertech or skunk2

Get it tuned again on the new cams... and you nice!

no need to do pistons, rods and sleeves.

that 11.5 compression is decent plus Trini is hot as hell so don't raise the compression ratio.

kezay

Postby kezay » November 26th, 2007, 8:52 am

k20rDC wrote:Come on guys... give the man more encouragement then that...

By the way, that engine has a PRC intake manifold so most likely it is a ITR not CTR
Hear wa' yu' du'

1) Kpro... tuned, this motor will make nice power. Mine made 233hp/156tq (stock internals)
2) good flowing headers

that 11.5 compression is decent plus Trini is hot as hell so don't raise the compression ratio.

Hey pal you have a few things wrong

1)KPro tuning on this stock motor will not make 233hp He can expect about 200-210hp.
2) The header is very good but cut out the cat.
3) To use the RBC intake manifold you'll need an adapter plate. (Too much money for too little power and the RBC manifold is only better than the PRC in the very high RPM range.)
4)Its RDX injectors not RSX.

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » November 26th, 2007, 9:15 am

The Boss Talk yes! :twisted: Good Luck keep us posted...don't forge up unless you have reason to! Boost in the future?

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » November 26th, 2007, 10:09 am

...wow nice ...

Postby X2 » November 26th, 2007, 10:38 am

pfffft.... ya'll have it all wrong....

...jus go B series...

*X2 runs out*

kezay

Postby kezay » November 26th, 2007, 10:59 am

^^Shoot that lad...

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » November 26th, 2007, 11:18 am

kezay wrote:
k20rDC wrote:Come on guys... give the man more encouragement then that...

Hear wa' yu' du'

2) good flowing headers

Hey pal you have a few things wrong

1)KPro tuning on this stock motor will not make 233hp He can expect about 200-210hp.

2) The header is very good but cut out the cat.
3) To use the RBC intake manifold you'll need an adapter plate. (Too much money for too little power and the RBC manifold is only better than the PRC in the very high RPM range.)
4)Its RDX injectors not RSX.

who are you to say that the man's hp figures are wrong when he's posting what HE got on his tuned K20? maybe HIS setup was properly tuned...

Postby honda hoe » November 26th, 2007, 11:22 am

man say he make 233hp on STOCK internals yes :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

kezay

Postby kezay » November 26th, 2007, 11:23 am

A stock K20 (DC5) cannot make 233hp to the wheels. He can have the best tune in the world and he still would not make 233hp. Take yuh time soldier. If yuh tell meh that is with some mods then alright but not stock. Understand now!!

kezay

Postby kezay » November 26th, 2007, 11:25 am

honda hoe wrote:man say he make 233hp on STOCK internals yes :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

^^ This chap owned a DC5 once upon a time .. So let me ask the question and his own was completly stock. So here goes Honda Hoe how much power did your car make.

Postby honda hoe » November 26th, 2007, 11:42 am

180whp

kezay

Postby kezay » November 26th, 2007, 11:47 am

There you go... But that is still a bit low for a stock DC5. Oh BTW that is wheel hp not crank hp.

Postby X2 » November 26th, 2007, 11:49 am

ya'll race much ? :lol:

'stock internals ' means everything INSIDE the engine is stock... has nothing to do with bolt ons...

plus brother k20rDC is running on 93 PON gold.

Postby honda hoe » November 26th, 2007, 11:49 am

well dats to be expected on our piss gas

Postby SR » November 26th, 2007, 12:01 pm

walks in htread

k20 in what chassis...........................................................no traction PFFFT

bseries YO

uses x2 as a shield

Clerique

Postby Clerique » November 26th, 2007, 12:29 pm

pornstar4777 wrote: Boost in the future?

All yuh have real bad memory jed.
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... c&&start=0
Check the last page. The man say he see a boosted EP3 park up in his yard. :D

k20rDC

Postby k20rDC » November 26th, 2007, 12:31 pm

clarification... my numbers were off, I just pulled the dyno sheet

they say a picture is 1000 words... 228hp/155tq

Sorry for the incorrect info.. but let me fix kezay cause he think ah don't know what ah talking bout....

kezay...
1) 200 - 210 tuned, shut yu mouth and look at the dyno sheets!

Motor made 212hp/148tq... base run on the dyno, stock (untuned)

2) RBC manifold makes 5-7hp consistantly throught the entire dyno curve, not just at high RPMs... duh le' mi pull out another dyno sheet!

3) And yes.. I ment RDX 410cc.. not RSX. RSX a.k.a DC5 flow 310cc...sorry typeO

So watch where you pointing yu' guns.. get yu' facts right.

Now back to our regularly scheduled program

Help the man get the motor running.... He did ask for input!
Last edited by k20rDC on November 26th, 2007, 12:46 pm, edited 4 times in total.

k20rDC

Postby k20rDC » November 26th, 2007, 12:35 pm

SR wrote:walks in htread

k20 in what chassis...........................................................no traction PFFFT

bseries YO

uses x2 as a shield

1995 Integra DC2

Postby SR » November 26th, 2007, 12:45 pm

keep it stock

use a good cai and install a good mandrell bent exhaust system

get rid of the catalyitic converter

see how the handling is and check yuh brakes

work on the suspension etc

get comfortable with the car

then after all of that look at engine mods

as i assume this is going to be a street car
talk to kezay regarding costs etc and his experience to date so far

and be ready for the old talk from x2 :mrgreen:

Postby Sinister_Audio » November 26th, 2007, 1:40 pm

waw....interesting thread...
learnin much..
yall keep goin at it!

yo k20rDC, wha gas yall runnin on?
n u made the 228 with pump gas or racing fuel?

buh even.... 228...fwd....light chassis....

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
lovin it much!
ever tried it on the track?

kezay

Postby kezay » November 26th, 2007, 1:53 pm

K20rDc your car as pictured above clearly have an intake and maybe a good exhaust system, with a fuel pressure regulator which could be used to make power. and with a good tune would set your numbers right. But the guy in question here has a STOCK k20a engine. Do you understand the difference?? sheit man.

k20rDC

Postby k20rDC » November 26th, 2007, 3:22 pm

Aight... understed how this thread started.

nkhan stated... "I have a spare K20 engine Civic Type R. I am going to attempt to upgrade the internals. Any input as regards to pistons , rods and sleeves."

My response was a list of suggestions that I recommend based on my experience and knowledge of K20A.

11.5 CR is sufficient, so no need to up the compression ratio. Unless you want to hear Phase II Pan Groove beating pan in your engine...

I mean Pinging... I you did not get that!

Then kezay interjected.. "KPro tuning on this stock motor will not make 233hp He can expect about 200-210hp"

I never said my motor was stock... I said "Stock Internals"

Please comprehend my friend!

So my mistake when I stated, "Mine made 233hp/156tq (stock internals)" when it actually made 228hp.

I have seen higher than 230hp on stock internal K20A, you can referance www.k20a.org anytime.... guarantee you will be surprised to see the numbers.

Regarding my motor.... intake, headers, good exhaust system, fuel pressure regulator... etc just enhances performance but it all boils down to the tuning.

By the way.. Sinister_Audio asked about fuel.
I am in the US, for those who do not know, so this setup was street tuned on 93 oct.

Postby X2 » November 26th, 2007, 3:54 pm

k20rDC wrote:....but it all boils down to the tuning.

^^ YA HEARD ?!

Knowing how to tune an engine does not mean one can tune well. Alot of ppl in our local scene still don't understand this until they get banged up by someone else running the same setup with a quality tune.

Oh yeah... and the 93 octane in the US is on pump... the RON number on thier gas is around 100 to our 95.... you can do WONDERS with those extra points..... particularly on motor. Running on Trini 'premium' is the equivalent of running on 'special' in the states.

kezay

Postby kezay » November 26th, 2007, 4:23 pm

K20rDc if I install the DTR\SSR header for the K20 engine automatically the car will get approx 15-18hp and that's just a header. What I'm saying is if your engine was stock meaning that you had the stock air box, stock 4-2-1 headers, and the fuel pressure set at 51psi and well of course all internals stock then I don't care how well the car is tuned you will not make 228hp. The point I'm trying to get at is that the K20 engines repond very well to bolt ons compared to say the older B series. Oh and BTW you have on the RBC manifold which did not come with the DC5 so you're still not stock. Change it back to the PRC. And lets see if you can make that claim of 228hp.

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » November 26th, 2007, 6:02 pm

:2gunfire: Shots fired man down!!! :lol: Kezay he didn't state whether power is at the crank or wheels..."Mine made 233hp/156tq (stock internals)" Probable I say! :twisted:

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » November 26th, 2007, 6:33 pm

Motor: k20a
Header: Rcrew header
Cams: oem
Intake: custom intake
exhaust: none specified
Tranny: none specified
Misc Mods: stock spark plugs gapped at 38

ps - temp was 98deg and 80% humid

Horsepower measured at the wheel will be lower than what's measured at the crank for one simple reason. Drivetrain losses. Losses from friction, inertia, etc.

Typical losses for manual trans FWD cars is from about 10-15%...Best case scenario based on the above dyno:-
Crank HP approx 214 by 1.15 = 246 HP Worse case = 214 by 1.1 = 235 HP
Crank TQ approx 152 by 1.15 = 175lbs torque Worse case = 152 by 1.1 = 167lbs TQ

"Mine made 233hp/156tq (stock internals)" He falls between and he also get's good gas! Plausible :twisted:

nkhan

Postby nkhan » November 26th, 2007, 7:14 pm

Its going great guys.
Love the views and suggestions.
People learn a lot from these thread.
I will like to introduce my love that I had from new but later modified.

But since adding turbo I would like more.

Having a spare engine from a HONDA CIVIC TYPE R original 2002 K20 that I brought back with me from England.

I would like to upgrade as a project.

Return to “HONDA”