Smokin!!

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Jinx2004Riceboy

Smokin!!

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » April 19th, 2004, 3:16 pm

I have a bit of white-blue smoke (mostly white) coming from the exhaust. It's only bad when you get on it or are at a stop. Definitely not he head gasket-I checked, and I replaced the valve cover gasket too. My oil pan gasket & my distributor O-ring need replaced, but would this be enogh to cause it to smoke? It seems to be getting better....very...slowly. I added smoke stop too.

Postby crazybalhead » April 19th, 2004, 3:49 pm

Yuh rings must be a bit worn.

Postby X2 » April 19th, 2004, 4:07 pm

word on the rings....

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 19th, 2004, 4:11 pm

time to pull the head dear chap!

ZORT

Postby ZORT » April 19th, 2004, 5:50 pm

Why not valve seals?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 19th, 2004, 8:14 pm

how about if your oil need changing?

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » April 19th, 2004, 8:27 pm

nah dude its de rings. I had de same prob. what engine do you have?

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 20th, 2004, 3:15 am

Ps JINX

GETTING on it wont help teh situation... :wink:

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 21st, 2004, 6:47 pm

Sounds like a combination of valve seals and worn rings. The rings not that bad yet... when they are, the smoke will be pouring out the exhaust as you accelerate under normal conditions.

Slayer

Postby Slayer » April 22nd, 2004, 11:16 am

can anybody tell me what would cause my car to let out white smoke when adjusting timing? i haven't a clue. the car just started blowing white smoke while i was adjusting the timing , it eventually trailed off , and hasn't done it again since.
any opinions?
temperature is normal, not losing any water, car's operating fine, the oil line to the turbo is leaking and has to be fixed , so i can't say difinitively that its burning oil

sorry if i hijacked this post

keegan

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 22nd, 2004, 11:18 am

Really white or white grey?

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 22nd, 2004, 11:20 am

Oil smoke is generally blue or whitish-blue. It might have smoked white when you had the timing too retarded.

Slayer

Postby Slayer » April 22nd, 2004, 1:09 pm

white greyish i think, can't tell 4 sure.
ok so if it smoked when the timing was retarded it should have smoked b4 i adjusted it ( i retarded it prevoiusly to run boost), i was advancing it when it started to smoke ( from 1 deg to 2 deg )

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » April 26th, 2004, 5:56 pm

Maybe that's my problem. Bad timing. Smoke seems to be getting better. It only does it when I'm stopped for a few minutes. I still have to replace that O-ring in the dizzy though.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 26th, 2004, 6:15 pm

It only does it when I'm stopped for a few minutes

Valve seals.

hilux junkie

Postby hilux junkie » May 9th, 2004, 10:29 pm

if it is a forin use and yuh take out d cathaylic converter d oxgen sensor would read wrong and therfore giving off white smoke when u stop a friend of mine had that same problem :lol:

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » May 12th, 2004, 9:18 am

Inshan wrote:
It only does it when I'm stopped for a few minutes

Valve seals.
ok, ok. I replaced the distributor cap, rotor and o-ring. I checked the timing, and adjusted the idle a little bit. I was driving and I noticed I needed a little oil. I had actually blown all 3 quarts out with all my smokin! This is within about 4-5 weeks. I thought it was all better. So I added 3 quarts when she was cool, checked the oil and I fired her back up. After she warmed up for like 2-3 min., she started smoking again. I mean POURING whenever I hit the gas. At idle it was just coming out constantly in a light haze. So what would cause the car not to smoke with only a quart of oil, and smoke as soon as the oil level is raised. It's an old D15B2, so I'm pretty much expecting bad seals and whatnot. Or could it be the valve seals, like Inshan said? How do I know for sure? Sorry so long!! :|

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 12th, 2004, 3:36 pm

POURING whenever I hit the gas

Now that sounding like rings... you might be in the market for a replacement engine. THis is in a 88-91 civic, with DPFI?

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » May 13th, 2004, 8:33 am

Yeppers.

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » May 13th, 2004, 8:39 am

Thing is, I wanted a new engine a while ago, but there is nobody around here that can do a swap for me. Or they want some outragrous price. I can get a new engine for $400, but I don't have a place to put it in. Any suggestions? :cry:

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 13th, 2004, 3:43 pm

WHere are you located? IF you in South FL. then go by Jesse and he will organize you. If you in Orlando area, I can do it for you. Let me know where you are.

imemark

Postby imemark » October 10th, 2006, 10:17 pm

oh.......ok...coool..........would tell ppl...then

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » October 11th, 2006, 1:36 am

Ravers

Postby Ravers » October 16th, 2006, 5:17 pm

Buy a head and block ...you dont need the entire engine....

Return to “HONDA”