NITROUS OXIDE

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

TriniParts.com
Location: As of June 1st 2008, we NO LONGER RETAIL.We will strictly be involved in MARKETING & WHOLESALING

NITROUS OXIDE

Postby TriniParts.com » June 25th, 2004, 8:40 pm

what the the smallest shot without long term damage to your engine :?:

Postby X2 » June 25th, 2004, 9:16 pm

Your engine ?

It depends if you go with a single fogger or a direct port setup. I'll assume single fogger... and in that case... you can go as low as the smallest motorcycle nozzle can... Which is like 20 or 25hp... not definite on those figures, but somewhere around there.

You engine should hold as much as a '70 shot' with stock internals. After that... the pistons get overheated.

TriniParts.com
Location: As of June 1st 2008, we NO LONGER RETAIL.We will strictly be involved in MARKETING & WHOLESALING

Postby TriniParts.com » June 25th, 2004, 9:21 pm

thanks X2

any advise from people who have used IT in Honda engines.

Postby X2 » June 25th, 2004, 9:24 pm

I haven't ever used nitrous myself... I have only known and seen many others that did it.

I intend to spray my engine in the near future too, so I gotta brush up on my nitrous knowledge soon...lol

BTW... with the exception of ONE person... EVERYONE I've ever known that used nitrous for whatever period of time... eventually sold the kit and went turbo.... :oops:

TriniParts.com

Postby TriniParts.com » June 25th, 2004, 9:29 pm

nitrous = cheap
turbo = expensive

Postby X2 » June 25th, 2004, 9:44 pm

By my calculation... if you fill the bottle often.... nitrous will add up the cost of a brand new turbo kit in 2.5 years.

TriniParts.com

Postby TriniParts.com » June 26th, 2004, 12:14 am

X2 wrote:I intend to spray my engine in the near future too, so I gotta brush up on my nitrous knowledge soon...lol

if you start spraying you will remain the fastest LHD Honda in T&T for awhile and one of the faster Honda s at the tracks.

Postby SR » June 26th, 2004, 3:24 pm

downside to nitrous
you have to get the bottle refilled eventually and u will need to get a license to do so
the serial # on the bottle is also registered to the person who has the licence

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 26th, 2004, 7:36 pm

WHAT ?? Are you serious !?!?!?

Postby SR » June 27th, 2004, 8:38 am

ask anyone who has nitrous and who does not race officially under autosport
and see where they get their nitrous bottles refilled
more than likely it is done indirectly thru someone else who has a license
however this puts the person who has the license at risk as the bottle will be registered to them and if a vehicle is in an accident and it was discovered that the vehicle had the nitrous bottle iinstalled the serial # can be traced back to the licensee.........
nitrous is only allowed fro use on the track and not the street
however there are quite a lot of vehilce that have nitrous kits installed on them and do not go to official racing
some go to gangsta drag and others use it on the street
there are no definate laws on use of nitrous on teh street as yet
but there is a little loophole that the police are using regarding performance enhancment to the engine of a vehicle (its an OLD law) until they get the motor vehicle act updated
eg it is against the law to play a musical instrument in a moving vehicle
and the police are using this law to charge people with loud music in their vehicle
however you can fight this as the law clearly states musical instrument and car audio is really electronic devices and not INSTRUMENTS

Mini

Postby Mini » June 27th, 2004, 9:54 am

sr.. interesting information

1. do have any details on the law regarding performance enhancement

2. can I fill NOS bottles through ANP (say as registered garage)? Or do I have to registered directly with Autosport.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » June 27th, 2004, 12:37 pm

Trinidad laws so frigging outdated and stupid! No wonder ppl always looking to get out of Trinidad!

Dirty Face

Re: NITROUS OXIDE

Postby Dirty Face » June 27th, 2004, 6:31 pm

ADAH 303 wrote:what the the smallest shot without long term damage to your engine :?:

hmm remember that ANY up in performance is more wear to your engine so its like any shot causes some long term damage...

I can see a 75 shot making it..In fact I have faith in the b 18's to hold a four fogger 100 with msd, plugs and correct fuel delivery.. I sprayed a Gsr engine for like 8 months on a 100 (not abusing it) before it started to go seriously downhill.. the silver crx that I had that ran a 12.08 was only a gsr motor and spray..

Side note , I like the Jacobs mastermind, Ive seen a stock H22 take 140 Shot with a mastermind and up to when I left Fl. it still hadnt blown, I used it on a b16 I had in my 99 si at 100 Shot with only cam gears, msd, a port match and some stainless steel valves <-- probably the best investment for a sprayer....

Postby SR » June 28th, 2004, 12:07 am

mini
i hadda look for meh motor vehicle act for that info for yuh
as for ANP filling the bottles.............uhm not any more due to the irresponsabilty of drivers who have had their bottles filled before
ANP would be at risk of losing thier license so it was decided not to offer that service any more
i belive the correct way is thru autosport however you must have a registered vehicle that races with autosport using nitrous
i may be wrong here but rawle mahabir from autosport is the best person to answer this

TK!

Postby TK! » June 28th, 2004, 5:16 pm

of course there must be an easy illegal alternative? who makes NOS?

Postby SR » June 28th, 2004, 6:10 pm

we dont do anything illegal sorry fella

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » June 28th, 2004, 6:25 pm

tk421 wrote:of course there must be an easy illegal alternative? who makes NOS?

NOS makes NOS systems. It is a brand name. Who makes nitrous? I guess IGL? YOu want to try something illegal? Lemme see...you have a extra Ramco 20lb tank? Drill and tap a hole into your intake manifold and use your gas head and regulator. Hook up a solenoid valve, run a switch to your shifter... and BOOM, you have the real deal... volatile sheit, better than nitrous oxide.

Nitrous oxide only helps to provide a higher concentration of oxygen, propane will add fuel as well.

Ok, go brave!

Disclaimer: I am not responsible for any damages or injuries resulting from this stupid advice just put forth. I do not know what I am talking about. (Not uncommon on this website)

Postby X2 » June 28th, 2004, 8:48 pm

DO NOT LISTEN TO THIS MAN.... HE HAS BEEN DRINKING !!! :shock:

As far as what an engine can hold up to.... That H22 on 140 shot ? I've seen one on a 150 shot, but engine didn't last 6 months (h22's are not the best engine to mod...lol)

I've seen a guy progressivly up the shot on a stock d16z6 engine (sohc) and made it up to a 100 shot. That car ran a low 12 on slicks.... engine lasted almost a year.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » June 28th, 2004, 10:17 pm

^^ yep I can beleive thats why i love the mastermond.. you ever used one of those X??

Allows you to increas nos as rpm increases, a lot of people dont know if you double rpm you can almost double nos flow safely..

Also it has failsfae thatll cut the nos in case of a lean condition...

Postby X2 » June 28th, 2004, 11:28 pm

mastermond ? Is that like the Venom module ?

I've heard that teh Venom is the best overall system on the market. A few buddies that run nitrous seem to agree. Like partial throttle progressive delivery, etc ?

I am not big on nitrous, never have been, so I am not up to speed on all the items available

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » June 28th, 2004, 11:35 pm

jacons mastermind is who they ALL copied...

and I still think its teh best

Postby Dave » June 30th, 2004, 8:35 am

jacobs mind is a real good safe nitrous controller, the nos is totally predictable
ah think they stop making it? Dirty?

Postby X2 » June 30th, 2004, 9:51 am

Ok... same shizz as the venom. Then that is a good type of controller...

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » June 30th, 2004, 3:39 pm

Dave wrote:jacobs mind is a real good safe nitrous controller, the nos is totally predictable
ah think they stop making it? Dirty?

yes I think they did.. but some places still have new ones in stock for sale.. It iss THE BEST one out there

heres a link for you guys who wanna see/read/buy

http://www.prostreetonline.com/buy/jaco ... ac-383806/
Last edited by Dirty Face on June 30th, 2004, 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » June 30th, 2004, 3:40 pm

the nos one not supposed to be that bad
ever heard anything bout them?

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » June 30th, 2004, 3:43 pm

Eidted read up....

yeah teh nos one ok but doesnt have teh same failasfe as jacobs..like I said they all copied jacobs

jstar

Postby jstar » August 20th, 2016, 10:19 pm

how much for a nitrous kit, 50 shot

jstar

Postby jstar » August 20th, 2016, 10:25 pm

how much do you pay for a nitrous kit with 50 shot jets n solenoids n stuff

Postby X2 » August 21st, 2016, 6:40 pm

expect to pay around 3500-5500 for a single fogger full wet kit brand new.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 3rd, 2016, 2:44 pm

What is the average cost per pound of N2O?

Return to “HONDA”