Page 1 of 2

Type r wannabe for 2015

Posted: September 3rd, 2012, 9:15 pm
by Mr. Go Slow
Simple question to the honda fans ...

Looking to get back something sporty and fun to drive.

I enjoy lightweight well balanced FWD cars and I've found that locally, a turboed car
can be more hassle to own / operate than it's worth ...

So is a type R (dc2/dc5) a relatively easy to own and operate in Trinidad in this day and age?
I realize that any DC5 will be 6 + years at least, DC2 worse yet ... What's a viable "fun" drivers car on the used car market?

Thanks

Re: Type r wannabe for 2012

Posted: September 3rd, 2012, 11:00 pm
by r3iXmann
cant speak for a 5 but a 2 is easy and fun to own

just stay on top of your maintenance game

as for operating..you have to respect the car...learn the limits etc

Posted: September 3rd, 2012, 11:40 pm
by Mr. Go Slow
r3iXmann wrote:cant speak for a 5 but a 2 is easy and fun to own

Thank you for the feedback! That's because the dc2 was in the US, so parts easier to come by?

Posted: September 4th, 2012, 4:43 pm
by r3iXmann
Mr. Go Slow wrote:

Thank you for the feedback! That's because the dc2 was in the US, so parts easier to come by?

generally but there are a lots of minor differences with some parts..even between the different yrs as I learned the hard way :oops: :oops: :oops:

generally it's best to thoroughly research everything for differences before you purchase

also, stay away from buying cheap parts..really not worth the headache and extra money you'll have to spend

Posted: September 12th, 2012, 4:32 pm
by dread_2002
get a old school eg hatch....
drop in a k20 if u have d cash or a h22...guaranteed there is no replacement for displacement..
i have no clue why men does mods a d15.. baffles me..
suspension da beatch down..
u running like a tief

i know someone that had one with a k20.. it ran 13.2 in wallerfield days.. with no management..

tola is king

Posted: September 12th, 2012, 6:40 pm
by speedfreak44

its about time you pass the torch :lol:

dread_2002 wrote:get a old school eg hatch....
drop in a k20 if u have d cash or a h22...guaranteed there is no replacement for displacement..
i have no clue why men does mods a d15.. baffles me..
suspension da beatch down..
u running like a tief

i know someone that had one with a k20.. it ran 13.2 in wallerfield days.. with no management..

tola is king

talk done...

Posted: September 19th, 2012, 5:18 pm
by X2
dread_2002 wrote:i know someone that had one with a k20.. it ran 13.2 in wallerfield days.. with no management..

tola is king

King you say ? The king is dead...

The hatch with the K20 that ran 13's had bolt ons and management in a stripped out hatch that only seemed to see the track.

Either way, can't go wrong with a dc2 or a dc5... dc5 is newer tho and should 'last longer' than the older dc2s

The newer civic models are great cars tho... not speed demons, but great car... so is the honda fit.

Posted: September 20th, 2012, 2:45 pm
by honda hoe
buy a DC5R if u can afford it

Posted: September 20th, 2012, 5:15 pm
by Zim
Is where u getting one to buy :lol:

Posted: September 20th, 2012, 9:08 pm
by BlackMamba
Kezay DC5R still for sale...thas ah bess ride!

Posted: September 21st, 2012, 8:25 am
by honda hoe
u can also import an '06 model if u want

Posted: September 22nd, 2012, 3:05 pm
by Zim
BlackMamba wrote:Kezay DC5R still for sale...thas ah bess ride!

Yeah, it sweet, transfer go be poison doh (tax go be high like Snoop Dogg)

honda hoe wrote:u can also import an '06 model if u want

I know but I eh like how dat model is look so much nha :| Reminds me of an ES Civic :oops:

Posted: September 24th, 2012, 10:31 am
by BlackMamba
22621 on trinicarsforsale.com

Posted: September 24th, 2012, 10:45 am
by Zim
^Sweet ride buddy :)

Posted: September 24th, 2012, 10:48 am
by BlackMamba
^^^ yea boy if only i had d cash....sigh

Posted: September 24th, 2012, 12:10 pm
by r3iXmann
i wrap my wing, everybody wrapping theirs now yes :lol:

Posted: September 25th, 2012, 9:06 am
by honda hoe
thaz snakey old car

it was wrapped years now

1pat

Posted: September 25th, 2012, 9:35 am
by r3iXmann
honda hoe wrote:thaz snakey old car

it was wrapped years now

1pat

snakey had a mugen gen 1 :roll:

Posted: September 25th, 2012, 10:20 am
by honda hoe
that broke when he crashed :roll:

Posted: September 25th, 2012, 10:28 am
by r3iXmann
oar. :oops:

Posted: September 25th, 2012, 6:46 pm
by Zim
honda hoe wrote:thaz snakey old car

it was wrapped years now

1pat

And there goes the desire fuh that DC5 :(
Weeeeeey

:lol: @ wrapped tho. Good one!

Posted: October 5th, 2012, 7:32 pm
by turbochinee
Many of the rsx parts can work on the dc5r but not all. It is also easy to get from america.

I actually prefer the 05-06 model

Posted: October 6th, 2012, 7:52 am
by halfdef
I say a EK hatch with a B18c R 98 spec and you in a gear

Posted: October 6th, 2012, 9:13 am
by speedfreak44
halfdef wrote:I say a EK hatch with a B18c R 98 spec and you in a gear

offer def good price and you inna better gear

Re: Type r wannabe for 2015

Posted: June 25th, 2015, 2:58 pm
by Mr. Go Slow
Can anyone tell me if this looks legit? What should I be looking for?

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=632670&hilit=b18c

Posted: June 25th, 2015, 7:41 pm
by X2
Real type R chassis have a few (difficult to describe) differences to the chassis itself (seams and bracing).

You should look at the chassis code on the dash and the engine front cross member under the hood... there should be a reference to the DC2 and 'R'

Posted: June 25th, 2015, 8:25 pm
by 10-01
i think thats was sold .... check FB on the honda parts group

Posted: June 25th, 2015, 8:25 pm
by COROLLA KID
dread_2002 wrote:i have no clue why men does mods a d15.. baffles me..

Why must it be a Type R though?
SiR's are cool too :D....especially the EG9 :mrgreen:
There's a blue with orange wheels EK SiR hatch with a H22 "i think" for sale, looks good, price kinda high 75k but it well put together i must say

Posted: June 26th, 2015, 4:24 pm
by 10-01
i know a guy with a b16b in A MINT condition ek hatch SiR

if u interested ....

Posted: June 26th, 2015, 9:45 pm
by Mr. Go Slow
Project-JDM wrote:i know a guy with a b16b in A MINT condition ek hatch SiR

if u interested ....

Once it's manual yes. Please send me his contact ty