JDM Guy's Car Blog (02/10/2017. Engine upgraded)

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

JDM_GUY

JDM Guy's Car Blog (02/10/2017. Engine upgraded)

Postby JDM_GUY » January 29th, 2013, 9:45 pm

Wanted the engine to look a little nicer for the upcoming race meets. So this is the 5 day period after work RICEing my civic.The next RICE should be the end of this year when i pull the engine to upgrade and replace some OEM stuff.
2013-01-29 18.43.10.jpg
Swaped my damaged shifter with this new OEM unit.
2013-01-29 18.00.37.jpg
2013-01-29 18.00.14.jpg
Wraped... That got my had iching all day today.
2013-01-29 18.00.23.jpg
Mr Spoon...
2013-01-29 18.00.44.jpg
Prime and re-sand today will paint in the morning before work.
2013-01-29 07.28.46.jpg
Taped up
2013-01-29 07.17.00.jpg
2013-01-29 07.16.56.jpg
Striped and ready for paint after 2 afternoons of cleaning and sanding.
Last edited by JDM_GUY on October 3rd, 2017, 8:43 am, edited 11 times in total.

CD4Accord

Re: Painting my valve cover and wraping my spoon header

Postby CD4Accord » January 29th, 2013, 11:14 pm

What wrap did you use? I recently did a header in the new DEI "Lava" Header wrap.. Aka dry wrap..

It looks great and was pretty easy to do.. The ends fray a little if you are not careful but overall was a good experience...

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » January 30th, 2013, 9:42 am

^^ same thing...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 30th, 2013, 8:08 pm

hMMM, looks a bit different to mine but it could be the pic..

Anyway, how many feet you end up using? To wrap that one accord header i used almost 45 feet yes..
I did wrap the header all the way down to the collector though

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » January 30th, 2013, 9:50 pm

I used about 55 feet.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » January 30th, 2013, 9:54 pm

First coat:

2nd:

Last:

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » January 30th, 2013, 10:52 pm

dude i could swear u had a ek9 when u was talking to me orn the fone ^^^^^^^^^^^

that b16a u hav ther came out of a eg9 ? jus looking at the trottle cable ?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » January 30th, 2013, 11:42 pm

Mooooooooooses.... back at it again

have fun

Postby X2 » February 1st, 2013, 12:15 am

How'd you get the lettering on the VC clean ? Hand sanded or dremel ?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 1st, 2013, 10:43 am

Razor blade and some sanding with a flat block. Time is also a factor.

Postby r3iXmann » February 1st, 2013, 12:30 pm

Next time, just put some grease on the lettering with q tips before you paint..comes off much easier.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » February 1st, 2013, 2:13 pm

Valve cover looks good man..clean

Not that im showing off or anything, but here's mines that i did couple months back..
Flat black cover with metallic red lettering and semi circle cuts to show off cam gears :wink:

Postby r3iXmann » February 1st, 2013, 4:25 pm

this is mine..i have 2 more to do..one for another 2nr and one for myself (spare)

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 1st, 2013, 7:21 pm

Here is a shot of the bay this morning.. I was going to paint it flat black but I wasn't getting the heat-resistant paint. They only had gloss. Next time I will order a flat black online.
2013-02-01 07.44.51.jpg
Engine shot this morning before work!

Postby r3iXmann » February 1st, 2013, 7:27 pm

you can get both flat and wrinkle paint at FT Farfan

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 2nd, 2013, 9:18 pm

Painting the grill
2013-02-02 12.24.01.jpg
Ready
2013-02-02 12.23.57.jpg
Painting the grill

JDM_GUY

Re: EDIT** Brake servicing...

Postby JDM_GUY » February 3rd, 2013, 7:57 pm

Did some servicing today. The brakes were in need of it...

Washed after........

dark x

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread

Postby dark x » February 5th, 2013, 11:49 pm

thumbs up guy true tuner

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 6th, 2013, 9:26 am

Update. I will be ordering some new brake parts before the 2013 Autocross start. So hopefully I can get some better times in.

What you guys think about HAWK HPS?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 6th, 2013, 10:33 am

I'd personally recommend Stop-Tech Street Performance over the Hawk HPS... I have owned and used both on the accord and the stop-tech lasted longer, felt better at low temps and most of all were cheaper... The dust was also a less annoying colour..

Do your research on said topic though.. Also, upgrade to a nice DOT4 racing brake fluid if you can.. ATE Superblue/TYP200 is the best value in this field..
If you have the $$, you can also switch to stainless steel braided brake lines but this is less vital..

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 6th, 2013, 3:05 pm

I plan to:
*SS brake lines
*Brembo blank front and rear rotors
*1" MS and Booster
*Upgraded brake fuel DOT racing
*Hawk or EBC brake pads

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 6th, 2013, 6:02 pm

Concerning the rotors, Brembo blanks are just OEM replacements, measure the thickness of yours and determine if they need replacing.. If not, keep them for now and when you ready maybe invest in some Brembo Sport rotors.. They actually priced very similarly
I have also found ATE PremiumOne rotors to be around the same price as the brembo blanks so you can consider this as an option if you are looking for a slotted rotor..

Concerning the SS lines, Goodridge is probably the gold standard, but I have found Techna-Fit to be comparable in quality and can usually be found for significantly cheaper if you look around..

The MS and Booster are not VITAL, but if you can get them at the right price, then why not I say..

Also, you already got my review on the pads.. You won't be disappointed by the Hawk HPS, but I think you will be happier with the Stop-Tech

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 6th, 2013, 8:19 pm

cheapest upgrade used to be Prelude 11" front , ek4/eg9 rear
and ek4/eg9 booster

did u replace the front to EK4/EG9 after u install the engine ?
sometimes simple scuffin of rotors and new lines make a difference

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » February 7th, 2013, 10:19 am

nice,

hopefully, i will have a thread like this running someday

hatch is best

Postby hatch is best » February 7th, 2013, 4:08 pm

The Prelude 11" front rotor and caliper easy to come by?

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 7th, 2013, 6:04 pm

-----------------------
Last edited by Gx7 on February 8th, 2013, 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 7th, 2013, 7:31 pm

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 7th, 2013, 7:36 pm

sti7, you a bit late to that rotors party padna.. I already gave my correct assessment of the Brembo rotors he is looking at...

Concerning SS lines, the worry is not about the stock ones bursting or swelling, its more to do with pedal feel.. SS lines tend to give a much firmer pedal which is usually better for braking modulation

Finally, only a fool will upgrade engine first to then find out if the braking system is adequate...
Upgrading brakes is one of the cheapest and most effective upgrades you can do on ANY car.. You are guaranteed to see an increase in performance and this is beneficial regardless of what engine and power you are running..

Finally, the value of good tyres should not be underestimated.. Those look like Maxxis MA-Z1 right? If so, I'm pretty sure they will be up to the task, but be sure to give us reviews of the rubber..

Concerning the magnetic drain plug, I can't justify the expense for a "Greddy" plug.. A cheap $4 usd magnetic drain plug will have the same exact properties and will function the same exact way.. I swear by it though.. Add a nice strong neodymium magnet to the oil filter (eg from an old dead hard drive) and you have some great extra protection there
Last edited by CD4Accord on February 7th, 2013, 11:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 7th, 2013, 8:29 pm

---------------- take win bro im a fool :mrgreen:
Last edited by Gx7 on February 7th, 2013, 9:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 7th, 2013, 8:35 pm

----------------
Last edited by Gx7 on February 7th, 2013, 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “HONDA”