JDM Guy's Car Blog (02/10/2017. Engine upgraded)

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

JDM_GUY

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread

Postby JDM_GUY » May 3rd, 2014, 2:24 am

* Fozzy * wrote:
i don't agree on the above , 7000 km u say dey :| , it cost 350 to change oil and filter i will stick to the regular 5000 km rather spend $$$$ to rebuild a engine after

i change my oil every 4500 km on the dot don't trust this 10 000 km thing

how muc oil do u top up in between oil change im guessing a qrt and more ?

Using the 10w30 mobil 1 only use half a quart.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 3rd, 2014, 2:40 am

The only thing that makes me uneasy is the fram filter. "8000km" and the ability to Rev to 8000k using a fram filter :sad:
Just saying I wouldn't
Purolator l14459 :smile: ... Then again everyone has there reasons and if it ain't broke don't fix it
Can't complain about the oil though

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 3rd, 2014, 10:49 am

kamakazi wrote:The only thing that makes me uneasy is the fram filter. "8000km" and the ability to Rev to 8000k using a fram filter :sad:
Just saying I wouldn't
Purolator l14459 :smile: ... Then again everyone has there reasons and if it ain't broke don't fix it
Can't complain about the oil though

i think if Moses going to 8000km every oil change he should know to use a oem filter , i saw men putting a hose clamp around the oem filter so it wouldn't expand under the hi oil pressure at hi rpms
and these are in the b18c R and it holds out , but they change at 5000 km on the dot , i still don't like this 8000 km thing i feel it mite shorten d life of the engine no matter what oil u use .

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 3rd, 2014, 2:15 pm

The hose clamp trick was something I had observed from a best motoring video done by Spoon sports.
With the advances in filtration and oil technology 8000km intervals is safe...The only time I might reconsider is if you plan to be at the limit everywhere in which case I would shorten that interval.
As I mentioned in another post. .. what makes you sleep well at night :smile:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 3rd, 2014, 2:45 pm

Erm.. when I had a SiR i use to change my oil EVERY 5000ks or before..

Why use Mobile 1 10.30 and not Honda 10-30 oil?

Plus people buy fram? i sorry but I always rock OEM.. Honda OEM and now Subaru OEM... they not really expensive...and i never chonks on oil... I use the very best oil I could find and filter.

That climate talk, i doh get into that because of the fact thats its trini logic..never saw any official thing about the country temperature doing with buying a certain type of oil...thats like men saying trinidad hot, so don't use a thermostat.... -_- I sorry but that serves a purpose.. HOT COUNTRY or NOT...

my $3.00

Postby Ted_v2 » May 3rd, 2014, 3:26 pm

Original oil and filter?

0.0 besssnesss

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » May 4th, 2014, 9:24 pm

Same here. Never used anything but oem oil and filter. Never had to go into the motor and not losing oil. And thats even after drag racing the car for a few years at wallerfield and Camden.

Postby X2 » May 5th, 2014, 8:40 am

I change oil every 3494 Km...

Nice job with the 2nr blog... gives ppl inspiration to walk outside and get grimey.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 5th, 2014, 4:03 pm

dragaholic wrote:Same here. Never used anything but oem oil and filter. Never had to go into the motor and not losing oil. And thats even after drag racing the car for a few years at wallerfield and Camden.

agreed..i may not have ever went to wallerfield with my car lol..but i bought a honda cause i wanted a NA car to just licks...and i never lose ANY oil with the 10-30...Honda oil ftw!

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 10th, 2014, 7:44 am

JJ16 wrote:
dragaholic wrote:Same here. Never used anything but oem oil and filter. Never had to go into the motor and not losing oil. And thats even after drag racing the car for a few years at wallerfield and Camden.

agreed..i may not have ever went to wallerfield with my car lol..but i bought a honda cause i wanted a NA car to just licks...and i never lose ANY oil with the 10-30...Honda oil ftw!

so why is it that alot of honda owners say they add approx 1 qrt between oil changes ? im quite confused with this , as i run a b18c and i dont lose a drop of oil and my engine is about 100k km + oil is changed at about 4500 - 5000 km on the dot

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 15th, 2014, 5:26 pm

Vtec engines do burn oil when revved to redline. If your using a tick oil then sometimes you dont see a change. But 10w30 is the best oil for these engines for performance and fuel consumption.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 15th, 2014, 11:44 pm

Well... I used the Genuine 10 30 honda oil as i stated before, I use to drive my civic like a goat in the closing stages.. as in, I would MAKE that RPM sing... and I never lost a drop of oil.

Main reason is I had a b18c in my storeroom at home, and had a b16a installed, and had no intentions of removing a working engine, so I had me some fun, but i maintained my engine EXTREMELY well...

So I guess it depends on other engine factors... as i've never lost oil with ANY engine i've ever owned in ANY car.. boosted or N/A

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » May 16th, 2014, 5:57 am

im about to use Valvoline 20w50 in my b16 doing 180km+ with purolator filter....... pros and cons?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 16th, 2014, 8:19 am

^^ i used that oil already, it worked normal, any specific reason why you'd wanna use that body oil though?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 16th, 2014, 8:32 am

Try a 10w40 first "rolling_hard" that 20w50 is too tick.

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » May 16th, 2014, 8:57 am

@JJ16 high mileage?

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » May 16th, 2014, 8:58 am

I was going with Amsoil same blend but didn't get any at the time

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 16th, 2014, 9:18 am

mileage doesn't mean condition though... my b16a had a decent mileage and never burnt any 10-30...so try a thin oil before using such a heavy body.

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » May 16th, 2014, 9:59 am

Thanks buddy

Postby Ted_v2 » May 30th, 2014, 7:22 pm

those engines fast orwa? :lol:

Would love to get my hands on a b18c 4door

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 30th, 2014, 9:55 pm

@ sound boy 64

Speed is relative. .... but I would say No its not fast.

Honda has masked the lack of torque in these engines by gearing it short and allowing them to Rev high (this is also the reason they get the high horsepower figures as horsepower is directly proportional to torque and RPM)

Having driven a 1.8t audi my eyes have now been opened to what effortless acceleration in a planted chassis feels like. Scary thing with those vehicles is that you don't feel the speed with the glass up and that's the entry level.

For cheap speed I would honestly suggest the sr20...if you going Honda be prepared to spend some money.

Btw that 3.0l accord moves.
For those that doubt me on torque their is a reason most of Hondas newer cars utilize 2.0l and greater or turbocharging in their future pursuits of power.

The b18c is a good engine but technology is always progressing

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » November 10th, 2014, 2:59 pm

Re-tuned the Hondata for some mid range improvements. Really felt good as I left the dyno with some more power.

JJ16

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread (update pg 7)

Postby JJ16 » November 11th, 2014, 12:17 pm

Whats with the dip in the curve though?

IDK what RPM you set your VTEC to engage but the dip first occurs at approx 5300RPM and another right before 6000RPM

Also what figures do a stock b16a make?

(im assuming if its a b16a you have right) can't remember, didn't read the thread in a while.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » November 14th, 2014, 12:31 pm

"JJ16" the car needs a better exhaust now. Because of the cams the CTR exhaust is holding it back. Stock with just a intake it made 134. When we re-tuned with hondata s100 and the CTR exhaust it made 139. But dont focus to much on peak power as mid range is where is makes allot more.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 17th, 2014, 2:53 pm

Went to NARA drags on Saturday thanks to Aron Foster. Got in 1 run after waiting all day. Manage to get a 15.711 on some used slicks.
10683627_10154988466780441_477470413799653137_o.jpg
1534879_10154988466680441_3436467479049926826_o.jpg
10382227_10154988466255441_6339565895060207316_o.jpg
10818208_10154988465350441_2768960757336824270_o.jpg
10869781_10154988465780441_830563185030425263_o.jpg
1400575_10154988464455441_794528202219647698_o.jpg

10-01

Postby 10-01 » December 17th, 2014, 4:29 pm

Rematch sun if all goes well ^^^^^^

Postby Ted_v2 » December 18th, 2014, 8:57 pm

them rims :|

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » April 4th, 2015, 12:46 pm

With the new suspension fitted (Ground control with tokico used blue shocks) I went for a long over due mountain pass drive.

Postby DVSTT » April 4th, 2015, 3:05 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:With the new suspension fitted (Ground control with tokico used blue shocks) I went for a long over due mountain pass drive.

Where is that?

Postby Morpheus » April 4th, 2015, 3:28 pm

DVSTT wrote:
JDM_GUY wrote:With the new suspension fitted (Ground control with tokico used blue shocks) I went for a long over due mountain pass drive.

Where is that?

Return to “HONDA”