JDM Guy's Car Blog (02/10/2017. Engine upgraded)

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

JDM_GUY

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread (Fitted rear struts pg8)

Postby JDM_GUY » August 8th, 2015, 10:31 am

So after 3 years of driving around with a bottle neck in the exhaust i decided as i was on vacation i would get it repaired. Upon getting it sorted we discovered I have been driving around with a broken header for 1 year.

Where the header collector meet with the exhaust was only 1.3"

11863500_10153051023988870_8558649967200346903_n.jpg

The exhaust size on this side is 2.25"
11822291_10153051023903870_3253641240012921950_n.jpg

The used flange i got that now is 2.25"
11822526_10153051024068870_4327584276691356758_n.jpg

Exhust kid doing his work. This man knows his stuff (Golden star)
11817285_10153051024183870_2074504235461537062_n.jpg

11825938_10153051024258870_4415975241077192118_n.jpg

Also got the bends out the down pipe, painted it when we took off the heat wrap.
11828812_10153051027278870_1911036899400437003_n.jpg

Unwrapped the headers also, I think that contributed to the crack because of the heat buildup. Original Spoon sports.
11828761_10153051027198870_3799988917364753692_n.jpg

11828632_10153051027133870_2038773184702184335_n.jpg

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread (update 08/08/15 pg8)

Postby Ted_v2 » August 8th, 2015, 12:12 pm

Any difference noted?

JDM_GUY

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread (update 08/08/15 pg8)

Postby JDM_GUY » August 11th, 2015, 10:17 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Any difference noted?

Cannot tell. Will have to dyno it soon.

JDM_GUY

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread (update 08/08/15 pg9)

Postby JDM_GUY » August 11th, 2015, 10:26 pm

What a weekend it was. All the hard work changing parts and getting the car sorted out payed off. I took the top podium at Autocross #5 posting the 4th fastest time of the day from 25 cars. The tune up def help, new oils and plugs are the way to go.

Here is the car ready for the morning run.

IMG_20150809_112122.jpg

First place trophy for Autocross #4 in July.

IMG_20150809_113731.jpg

Wear for the day.

11813459_10153050207088870_1818323846617580081_n.jpg

11846712_10153050207013870_6839414817505376829_n.jpg

IMG_20150806_101853.jpg

Clip. Watch in HD

JDM_GUY

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread (update 11/08/15 pg9)

Postby JDM_GUY » August 26th, 2015, 9:48 am

Got that alignment sorted out yesterday after replacing the 2 front shocks and installing the new front fender braces. Car feels much more pointed, I love how making little changes on the car feels. Ken Brown (KP) knows his stuff when it comes to alignment, I would recommend him to anyone.

IMG_20150706_162747.jpg

Rear before:
IMG_20150824_114050.jpg

After adjustment:
IMG_20150824_114415.jpg

Front before:
IMG_20150824_114446.jpg

After adjustment:
IMG_20150824_114840.jpg

The new fender brace fitted:
IMG_20150822_171813.jpg

IMG_20150822_171827.jpg

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » August 26th, 2015, 9:55 am

I decided to get the fender brace to reduce the flex between struts and the A-pillar area. By comparing the few generations of the CIVIC, you can see that the A-Pillar moves closer to over the wheels over the years. I have drawn a straight line down the A-pillar to illustrate the difference. So guess which civic has the least flex.

EF_1.jpg
EF_1.jpg (26.01 KiB) Viewed 15615 times

EK_1.jpg
EK_1.jpg (31.25 KiB) Viewed 15615 times

FD_1.jpg
FD_1.jpg (18.61 KiB) Viewed 15615 times

I also picked up a new tool chest as my inventory is growing, and finally got a impact wrench which makes every job so much more easier.

IMG_20150820_072952.jpg

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 26th, 2015, 12:53 pm

Ohhhhh... told you that you would like the fender braces mang!

Where yuh get that tool chest tho?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » August 27th, 2015, 8:54 am

ingalook wrote:Ohhhhh... told you that you would like the fender braces mang!

Where yuh get that tool chest tho?

Bought it online. If you want one message me.

Postby Morpheus » August 27th, 2015, 10:04 am

Noticable difference with the fender braces?

Was looking at a set for my car recently.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » August 28th, 2015, 4:41 pm

Autocross #4 in car view.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » August 28th, 2015, 4:50 pm

Morpheus wrote:Noticable difference with the fender braces?

Was looking at a set for my car recently.

It complemented the rest of the suspension mods. Note this is not for a drag car.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » September 8th, 2015, 1:50 pm

Autocross #6 head to head

My fastest run:

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » October 25th, 2015, 7:29 pm

Advent

Postby Advent » October 26th, 2015, 10:36 am

how much it putting down?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » October 27th, 2015, 8:56 am

Advent wrote:how much it putting down?

147hp/103tq

Advent

Postby Advent » October 27th, 2015, 10:56 am

JDM_GUY wrote:

147hp/103tq

wow thats good numbers, not much drivetrain loss.
i want to dyno my car, but afraid to see the numbers, might be low lol

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » October 30th, 2015, 2:46 pm

Advent wrote:
JDM_GUY wrote:

147hp/103tq

I say get it on the dyno so you would know what your working with.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » October 30th, 2015, 5:02 pm

Advent wrote:
JDM_GUY wrote:

147hp/103tq

wat mods u have mate ?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » November 21st, 2015, 3:33 pm

CARS Autocross BYCC 3 2015 Head to Head with the RX7 sporting a 2.0L turbo engine. My engine is B16A, NA

Advent

Postby Advent » November 26th, 2015, 10:08 am

10-01 wrote:
Advent wrote:
JDM_GUY wrote:

147hp/103tq

wat mods u have mate ?

Extractors, K&N filter, B16a head, B20b block, B20b auto tranny

JDM_GUY wrote:
Advent wrote:
JDM_GUY wrote:

147hp/103tq

I say get it on the dyno so you would know what your working with.

i want to sometime after i sort out a few issues, loosing water ( seeing a rad leak)

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » January 7th, 2016, 12:07 pm

Upgraded my cooling system as I was off for the Christmas. This should help better cool the car at track days.

OEM hoses and coolant
CX racing 2 core rad

IMG-20151130-WA0018.jpg

IMG-20151130-WA0020.jpg

Also got some new street rubber, 195/55/15 nankang ns2

IMG_20151208_090840.jpg

IMG_20151208_090849.jpg

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 15th, 2016, 10:19 am

nice best of luck in 2016 competition ... time for some boost man .... your skills in driving and a evo / sti u will make some wonderful times ....

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 10th, 2016, 12:39 pm

10-01 wrote:nice best of luck in 2016 competition ... time for some boost man .... your skills in driving and a evo / sti u will make some wonderful times ....

I would like to but I cannot afford those cars here in Trinidad. Evos are over priced and Subaru breaks allot. I will stick with the honda because I know it.

Advent

Postby Advent » February 10th, 2016, 3:30 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:
10-01 wrote:nice best of luck in 2016 competition ... time for some boost man .... your skills in driving and a evo / sti u will make some wonderful times ....

I would like to but I cannot afford those cars here in Trinidad. Evos are over priced and Subaru breaks allot. I will stick with the honda because I know it.

8-)

JDM_GUY

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread (update 11/02/16 pg9)

Postby JDM_GUY » February 11th, 2016, 5:38 pm

Body job has started, owning the car for the past 5 years I have always wanted to do this but never had the time nor money. Everything line up just to rub, seal, prime, rub, prime again then paint.

Will update as the progress take place.
12698128_10153394991103870_3312155659272434087_o.jpg
Front bumper removed to repair.
12696997_10153394991088870_9222308245917588045_o.jpg
Front of the car.
12694574_10153394991038870_6742053611257035561_o.jpg
Rear bumper removed to repair.

SRASC

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog (update Paint time)

Postby SRASC » February 13th, 2016, 12:24 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:

Sound advice there.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 16th, 2016, 2:23 pm

New front bumper lip arrived today. Car is being sand and prep for primer.
12698387_10153404999813870_4493598800494917091_o.jpg
12747405_10153404999793870_6377620009231035771_o.jpg
12719655_10153404999798870_2325901851785531329_o.jpg
12747382_10153404999858870_233515759769902462_o.jpg
12697427_10153405000818870_4895277310270139542_o.jpg

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 23rd, 2016, 12:01 pm

The is now in the paint room, it was primed and re-sand to make for a perfect finish.
12783671_10153419551708870_2650547699707305130_o.jpg
12778973_10153419551593870_5768184366328596217_o.jpg
12768275_10153419551578870_2003509900154634855_o.jpg
12764523_10153419551683870_2394045482761042370_o.jpg
12748009_10153419551553870_2178886811255621491_o.jpg
12747382_10153419551478870_4012074464041609805_o.jpg
Rear of the civic with the bumper line up

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » March 1st, 2016, 11:51 am

The car has been restored. Just some cleaning to do and then its back on the road.
12795044_10153434505498870_3692495034493532877_o.jpg
12794819_10153434505448870_6183270285186545641_o.jpg
12779202_10153434505438870_651246859283193929_o.jpg
12764460_10153434505443870_1502917999989395835_o.jpg

10-01

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog (01/03/16. Car Painted)

Postby 10-01 » March 5th, 2016, 5:06 pm

doh forget d Type R sticker for the back :lol:

Return to “HONDA”