My EK4.

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

jc

My EK4.

Postby jc » April 23rd, 2013, 6:46 am

So here it is;

Car : Silver 97 EK4 Local Sedan.

Power Plant : Originally b16a Automatic. Complete engine swap done by previous owner to a B16B Manual. ARC style Intake installed but has since been removed by me for a stock EK4 intake with a K&N Drop In Filter. Hondata Intake Manifold gasket installed, which I suspect was installed in Japan. No other mods.

Exhaust : Complete 2 ½” exhaust to a Round Chrome barrel. Done by previous owner.

Suspension : Bought the car with cut springs. Removed and installed Espelir Springs. Re-used the Tokico Shocks in the rear as they were good, and installed KYB shocks to the front. The front shocks were questionable. Rear Energy Suspension Trailing Arm Bushing installed by previous owner. No other mods.

Wheels : Car came with some 17’s. Removed and installed polished 99 SI rims with 20/50/15 Sumituomo tires.

Interior : Stock interior. Civic Type R cluster installed from conversion.

As you would realise, the car is fairly stock, so have some plans to upgrade slowly.

Next step : redo the exhaust. U will see why.

jc

Re: My EK4.

Postby jc » April 23rd, 2013, 10:12 am

So this is what the 2 ½” set up looked like. Not very well done.

So I imported a aluminized Mandrel Bent Exhaust from TruBendz to redo the exhaust system. This is what it looks like. The quality was quite good and all the Hangers and Clamps were sent.

As you realize, no Resinator or Barrel came with the set-up, which was my choice. I had a CTR Barrel from a previous car to install and the Resinator was built by the Muffler shop.

So after a couple hours on the ramp, this is the new set-up. The Axle Back they sent could not work so a new Crush Bent Axle Back was built and installed. I am looking into this with Tru Bendz. The new set up is very quiet, which I expected. Next step is to do a dyno run and see where I am at.

Last edited by jc on April 23rd, 2013, 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » April 23rd, 2013, 10:35 am

sounds good, lets see some pics of the engine bay, exterior and interior.

jc

Postby jc » April 23rd, 2013, 10:58 am

Reamos: boi. when is see ur car, i having second thoughts about posting interior and exterior shots. doh talk bout the engine bay shots!!! :lol:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 23rd, 2013, 2:34 pm

Was this Brandon's car ?

Zim

Postby Zim » April 23rd, 2013, 3:53 pm

^Yeah

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » April 23rd, 2013, 11:56 pm

NICE Work JC doh forget me with d thing .....

hatch is best

Postby hatch is best » April 24th, 2013, 6:21 am

Wow you'll know the previous owner of this car, by just seeing the underneath.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 24th, 2013, 7:03 am

marlon
^ how many people u know swap a B16B in a 4dr ?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 24th, 2013, 7:07 am

JC : The Axle Back they sent could not work so a new Crush Bent Axle Back was built and installed. I am looking into this with Tru Bendz.

The exact problem . It would not fit or work with the barrel ?

Because that style axle over bend is not designed for OEM style barrels
Last edited by red_dragon on April 24th, 2013, 7:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 24th, 2013, 7:09 am

Good stuff

Postby black start » April 24th, 2013, 1:44 pm

b16b is the version of the motor that came in the ek9 chassis not so?

jc

Postby jc » April 24th, 2013, 3:59 pm

hatch is best. to be honest, the condition of the car is very good and the swap was done really well, hence the reason for me buying the car. the exhaust is probably the only downfall which as u can see, has been dealt with. this is one case where u cannot judge the previous owner by the underneath of the car.

red_dragon. there are 2 problems. the length of axleback is to short and the second bend from the front of the axleback was hitting the frame of the car. the hitting problem may have been sorted out if the complete system was lowered a bit but then the exhaust would touch going over humps.
on the length issue, TruBendz did indicate what you are saying about it being for an Aftermarket Barrel and it makes sense.
as of now, they have indicated that they can do a new Axleback to suit my application. i will be sending them what I require and they will make to suit.
I must say, they do have very good after sales support and responded very quickly to this issue.

black start. yes it is.

need opinions on Vibrant, Borla and Magnaflow Barrels. noise levels, power gains/losses, fitment, etc. anyone???

hondablood

Postby hondablood » April 24th, 2013, 4:49 pm

red_dragon wrote:marlon

I know one,wanna be racer

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 24th, 2013, 8:54 pm

^ Brandon AKA wannaberacer

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » April 25th, 2013, 10:18 am

looking good.

Postby honda hoe » April 25th, 2013, 8:23 pm

PBN 40 ;)

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » April 25th, 2013, 11:24 pm

honda hoe wrote:

PBN 40 ;)

look ah man sell u out dey ..... :oops: no sleeper now :|

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » June 24th, 2013, 10:33 pm

engine bay shots.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » June 27th, 2013, 3:18 pm

I can't remember driving in any cane field with that car. How the underneath dent up so??

jc

Postby jc » June 29th, 2013, 4:59 pm

wana-B-racer. boi. that is a good qusetion. if it didnt happen with u then it happen with the owner after u.

i know when i first bought the car, it would scrape on any hump i would go over. maybe that is how it happened.

update : so i bought a vibrant barrel and got the tubing for the axleback. hoping to install this week.

Postby black start » June 29th, 2013, 5:02 pm

wana-B-racer wrote:I can't remember driving in any cane field with that car. How the underneath dent up so??

cane field jiving is awesome, you should try it sometime :lol:

jc

Postby jc » July 1st, 2013, 8:22 pm

so I installed the Vibrant Barrel today.
IMG00629-20130502-1340.jpg
P7010447.JPG

P7010448.JPG

P7010449.JPG

the people at TruBendz were correct. the Axleback they sent originally worked perfect on the barrel.

it was a bit short so we lengthened it and that was it.

the barrel of course is louder than the CTR barrel but is not a "fart cannister" :lol:

it has a nice low deep tone and is very quiet while idling.

i would recommend this barrel to anyone.

next step : install chipped ECU and tune.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 1st, 2013, 8:58 pm

noob here

b16a vs b16b?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 1st, 2013, 9:45 pm

JC : Nice upgrade.. was gonna try that barrel but found it to be loud ....
\
SB64 : take a read ... http://www.isitaboat.co.uk/cars/honda_c ... e_r__ek9_/

Postby Ted_v2 » July 1st, 2013, 10:18 pm

thnx man, really good read

Zim

Postby Zim » July 2nd, 2013, 10:29 am

red_dragon wrote:JC : Nice upgrade.. was gonna try that barrel but found it to be loud ...

U sure? Maybe daz after break-in?

Nice going, J, saw yuh yesterday but u won't have recognised me :lol:

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » July 4th, 2013, 9:41 pm

Zim wrote:
red_dragon wrote:JC : Nice upgrade.. was gonna try that barrel but found it to be loud ...

U sure? Maybe daz after break-in?

Nice going, J, saw yuh yesterday but u won't have recognised me :lol:

exhaust barrels hav to break in :|

never heard that 1 b4

Zim

Postby Zim » July 5th, 2013, 1:53 am

I beg to differ. After usage (not sure of how long or how many miles / kms) but tehy get louder.

Sold a brand new GReddy SP Sport catback to a a guy & he said @ first it sounded nice and quiet. After some driving probably a few months, it got noticeably loder.

As for my current Yonaka motosports system, many reviews noted it got louder after "break-in"

So far I haven't noticed any difference but my car hardly is driven, so I guess it still has to break-in.

(Not trying to dis u in any way)

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » July 5th, 2013, 7:13 am

Zim wrote:I beg to differ. After usage (not sure of how long or how many miles / kms) but tehy get louder.

Sold a brand new GReddy SP Sport catback to a a guy & he said @ first it sounded nice and quiet. After some driving probably a few months, it got noticeably loder.

As for my current Yonaka motosports system, many reviews noted it got louder after "break-in"

So far I haven't noticed any difference but my car hardly is driven, so I guess it still has to break-in.

(Not trying to dis u in any way)

maybe its due to the quality of material its made with .... cheap barrels tend to get louder as they get older did a google search mayb that Greddy was a cheap made in china 1

Return to “HONDA”