K20a swap cost?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

shady23

Re: K20a swap cost?

Postby shady23 » May 14th, 2015, 7:57 am

COROLLA KID wrote:Hold up on buying a K20 in a couple years we will be able to get the new Turbocharged engine from the new Civic Type R, 306bhp right off the bat no mods needed....DIY mounts FTW we have talented people in Trinidad and its not as complicated as it seems....picture that in a ek or eg as a daily driver,
and it "should" be around the same price of what K20's are selling for now.....should be

Lol... no it won't be. And the front suspension of the new CTR is totally different to EK etc. By the time you done mod you'll be spending more than a K swap.

theevilonereborn

Postby theevilonereborn » May 14th, 2015, 8:01 am

H22a4, stroked out to 2.4cc, forged out, with about 10lbs of boost with ah Haltech! K20 killer... :mrgreen:

shady23

Postby shady23 » May 14th, 2015, 8:06 am

So this turn from K swap cost to K killer cost now? :o :o

Is a wonder men eh bawl sr with big turbo swap yet.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 14th, 2015, 8:32 am

shady23 wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:Hold up on buying a K20 in a couple years we will be able to get the new Turbocharged engine from the new Civic Type R, 306bhp right off the bat no mods needed....DIY mounts FTW we have talented people in Trinidad and its not as complicated as it seems....picture that in a ek or eg as a daily driver,
and it "should" be around the same price of what K20's are selling for now.....should be

Lol... no it won't be. And the front suspension of the new CTR is totally different to EK etc. By the time you done mod you'll be spending more than a K swap.

give it a year or 2 im sure hybrid racing will make a mount kit for the swap .....

theevilonereborn wrote:H22a4, stroked out to 2.4cc, forged out, with about 10lbs of boost with ah Haltech! K20 killer... :mrgreen:

why would u forged out and run 10psi ? u can run 10 psi safe on stock internals ....

normal b18c / b20 / b16 (mayb) forged out swap doing 20 psi + will eat a k20 R norm ....and just the k20 R engine cost doing the b18 build ...

theevilonereborn

Postby theevilonereborn » May 14th, 2015, 8:34 am

The H series not boost friendly... Its wouldn't last very long is not forged... And sleeved...

Zim

Postby Zim » May 14th, 2015, 12:22 pm

Project-JDM wrote:was in d bamboo today i hear a b18cR is $30 k now .............

Complete half or just complete engine n box?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 14th, 2015, 6:07 pm

half cut zimbo...

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » May 14th, 2015, 6:48 pm

shady23 wrote:

dont see why it will cost more than what K's are selling for now, unless the price tag of the new CTR is like close to 700K, and the reason why a B18c cost so much still is because its not in production and stocks are limited and in demand...im sure a b18c costed alot less back in the day...engines that are being made every day "K20 & new type R engine" shouldn't be so expensive 40K for the most, its just dem foreign used dealers like to take advantage of buyers........New shouldn't always mean Expensive.

Postby X2 » May 14th, 2015, 11:05 pm

To me, a turbo B series is like the (real) original coke formula.... it is awesome... you could get over it, but there's nothing really like it... and if you could have some, just one more time, you would get it. Yet a mildly massaged K in an EG would roll hard on a B18 with an off the shelf turbo kit at 8 or 10psi. (Assuming both cars are properly set up both engine tuning and suspension).

K series cost is still outlandish to an extent. resleeving a block and boosting forged internals on a D series alone would mash up a K swap when talking dollar for dollar, but you gotta know what you want in a car. A K swap could be a dream for some, but just too wacky for others. (K powerband versus B)

Personally I would love to finally take the plunge and do a K project, but the cost of the basic swap is just too daunting... $45k-$60k ! That can get you a turbo'd stock block D or B series PLUS a small island vacation TIMES 3 !. If a full rebuild were in order, pistons, cams, gears... a K swap would make COMPLETE sense tho... Honda ballers take note.... $90,000+ swap/build cost... let's see what ya'll got !?

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 15th, 2015, 12:16 am

I know you guys talking about swaps, but does anyone know the cost of the K20a and K24 engines and tansmissions that came in the CRV like the RD5? I really like that model so was just wondering what it wld cost in the event the engine or tranny goes.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 15th, 2015, 3:47 pm

k24 engine and tranny complete about $10k max

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 15th, 2015, 4:01 pm

So the K20a would be less then?

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » May 15th, 2015, 8:19 pm

K20a & K20a2 will cost an organ because its from the type R
the K20a1,3,4,6 should be around the price of a crv K24...there are also K20z's &c's and price vary depending if its from the premium cars like TSX, CTR, Si..

A K24Z3 or K24Z7 would be a nice swap into a civic if the price was right...the specs looks good

theevilonereborn

Postby theevilonereborn » May 15th, 2015, 8:35 pm

An organ! :-D hahaha haha haha haha hahaha. ..

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 15th, 2015, 8:44 pm

COROLLA KID wrote:K20a & K20a2 will cost an organ because its from the type R
the K20a1,3,4,6 should be around the price of a crv K24...there are also K20z's &c's and price vary depending if its from the premium cars like TSX, CTR, Si..

A K24Z3 or K24Z7 would be a nice swap into a civic if the price was right...the specs looks good

Cool. My apologies for not being specific before, didn't know there were different versions of the K20a. I was referring to the one that came in the RD4-RD7 CRV. I'm now seeing on Wikipedia that those models came with the K20a4. Thanks.

Postby X2 » May 15th, 2015, 11:48 pm

NR8, the CRV engines sell for less than most of the K20 series engines. Although it's a larger displacement and good torque figures, the VTEC features are not as good as the other models from the Integra or even the Civic. That and the auto tranny isn't as valuable either as everyone wants the manual.

The manual transmission also varies... the best of them would probably be the ITR/CTR box with LSD on the K20a, whereas the K20a2 EDM CTR box isn't as valuable as it's non-LSD... and the USDM Type-S box with different gearing and non-LSD... which is even less costly than a type R box... but still in the $7000+ range just for the box !

People used to say turbo is expensive... when really... stock is more so.

Advent

Postby Advent » May 18th, 2015, 7:02 pm

B20vtec anybody?

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 19th, 2015, 7:22 am

Advent wrote:B20vtec anybody?

i saw 99% of the honda population doing this b20 vtec swap looks like a good swap jus u cant pass 7000 rpm , cheap type R power i guesss

saw a stock low manifold b20 put dowm 140 Tq stock .... so the b20 did impress me ah bit

Advent

Postby Advent » May 19th, 2015, 8:31 am

You can push it to 7500rpm but if you want to rev more, ARP rods and bolts lol , know a few people who abused stock b20b blocks at 8000rpm for years and no cracked sleeves

theevilonereborn

Postby theevilonereborn » May 19th, 2015, 11:18 am

Is the B20b/Z ah safer or better swap than ah H22a4? (Parts-wise, power-wise, turbo-wise, etc? ) :shock:

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 19th, 2015, 9:18 pm

B20 swap is bolt for bolt in the ek , wher as the H22 u have to make mounts etc or get a mount kit ..

Advent wrote:You can push it to 7500rpm but if you want to rev more, ARP rods and bolts lol , know a few people who abused stock b20b blocks at 8000rpm for years and no cracked sleeves

but remember it makes no sense doing all that rpm , if your not making any power best thing to do is dyno the car and then from a dyno u can see wher your power cut off point is

Postby Ted_v2 » May 19th, 2015, 9:39 pm

I dunno why people does always throw h22 engines in the Honda civic mix. What makes this engine good besides its displacement?

Postby X2 » May 19th, 2015, 11:55 pm

Stock block B20 and LSvtecs .... Shimming the oil pump helps tremendously, but 8k with just arp rod bolts is completely doable. I've run that setup n/a and on 15psi of boost (300ish hp) and it ran without issue for almost 2 yrs before rebuilding without signs of bearing or cylinder wall scarring. It makes no sense not pushing rpm on a vtec conversion... the cams in the vtec heads WANT the rpm ... particularly with the extra displacement... what most don't realize is that vtec conversions really need adjustable gears to dial in the overlap for the longer crank stroke.... without that change, the setup won't make all the power it could.

Ted_v2... But bang for the buck, getting an H22 on the cheap can make for a tempting swap... TORQUE BRUH !! H22 in a civic is a beast...but the work to swap it... mehhhh

Advent

Postby Advent » May 20th, 2015, 9:29 am

X2 yeah so I've heard, and a b20b block is 1200tt lol
Projectjdm kinda agree as the b20 makes most its power on the low end, people with this setup should get a piggyback management and adjust VTEC for a lower rpm

khandman

Postby khandman » May 20th, 2015, 9:47 am

Lil off topic question. Price on a d15 rebuild with forged internals and boost? Not track application but rather a spirited daily?

Advent

Postby Advent » May 20th, 2015, 10:12 am

Wouldn't that be a waste ?

khandman

Postby khandman » May 20th, 2015, 2:54 pm

Why is it a waste? Not everyone can dish out to d a b swap. I already have a d series and if it is feasible, don't mind doing it.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 20th, 2015, 7:21 pm

The D15 build providing you already have a gearbox

simple as is gonna be from 10-25k

at 25 is complete rebuild of head and block + forged internals , management , tobo kit and all supporting parts

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 20th, 2015, 7:23 pm

doh forget to budget for brake upgrade , suspension and exhaust

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 20th, 2015, 7:25 pm

X2 and I had a similar discussion many many many years aback '

My choice was h22 and 200 shot of NOS for a budget drag car fully stock engine with a strong clutch was best bang for $$$

Return to “HONDA”