weird "overheating" issue

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Advent

weird "overheating" issue

Postby Advent » June 12th, 2015, 1:37 pm

My car appears to overheat but it weird, only when the engine has load, like going maracas, once flat land is reached, gauge goes back to half, sometimes if i drive allot, it goes up while im idling in traffic, but if i rev the engine in neutral, the gauge immediately goes back to half, then when i stop rev goes back up :/, i do have to put a little water in the overflow every few days, what you guys think ?
going to work and back the gauge is normal, even in traffic, there is no bubbling of water afaik in the overflow.

Re: weird "overheating" issue

Postby 1UZFE » June 14th, 2015, 9:48 pm

I had this problem in my lex. It was a leaking water pump and malfunctioning clutch fan. You cud start with that...

Postby Morpheus » June 14th, 2015, 10:53 pm

Yeah is could be a leak or your pump itself

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 14th, 2015, 11:01 pm

Diesel or gas

Advent

Postby Advent » June 15th, 2015, 10:09 am

1UZFE wrote:I had this problem in my lex. It was a leaking water pump and malfunctioning clutch fan. You cud start with that...

i dont seem to have any leaks under the car tho UFE, and my fan comes on :o
i will look into that tho.
Morpheous thanks allot too, but what about the thermostat ?

@kam, gas,

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 16th, 2015, 12:59 am

Was thinking thermostat. .. but gas engines have fans that come on based on a temp sensor. ... Most diesels have fans that run all the time when the engine is on. .. hence the question.
Was also thinking it could be water pump...Some VWs have a plastic impeller water pump and when it goes well might see similar symptoms. .. but I'm speculating based on the info I'm seeing.

Advent

Re: weird

Postby Advent » June 16th, 2015, 9:04 am

kamakazi wrote:Was thinking thermostat. .. but gas engines have fans that come on based on a temp sensor. ... Most diesels have fans that run all the time when the engine is on. .. hence the question.
Was also thinking it could be water pump...Some VWs have a plastic impeller water pump and when it goes well might see similar symptoms. .. but I'm speculating based on the info I'm seeing.

thats good info, the only thing is it happens only when the car has been running for a while, like say 3 hours on time driving, its like after a while the thermostat stays closed, and only when driving the water flows to cool it down

Postby 1UZFE » June 16th, 2015, 10:05 am

Well take off d thermo n see wat happen.
Simple..

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 16th, 2015, 10:21 am

I would say water pump. If the vehicle is stationary their isn't any significant air flow. Inefficient cooling. Revving in neutral increases water flow/circulation/cooling but not at optimum level. I suspect deteriorated/broken impellers.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby Morpheus » June 16th, 2015, 11:32 am

I'm going thru similar right now actually. Thought is was the water pump as well because of the symptoms described above.

Water pump removed and replaced. I was disappointed when I saw the fins in good condition. LoL.
Have to run AC to keep temperature normal.

Suspecting radiator now...

*short history. I did indeed overheat just prior to all this. Small hose to throttle body had ruptured....:-(

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » June 23rd, 2015, 12:24 pm

thats the head gasket, sure about that.

Postby Morpheus » June 23rd, 2015, 3:09 pm

:|:| replaced that just last August :cry:

Advent

Postby Advent » June 23rd, 2015, 6:07 pm

My head gasket good, no oil mixing with water, could be my water pump lol

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 23rd, 2015, 8:27 pm

No oil in the water doesn't mean that the head gasket is good. ... a leaking head gasket can allow air from the cylinders to escape into the cooling system without any oil leaking into it

Advent

Postby Advent » June 26th, 2015, 10:17 am

kamakazi wrote:No oil in the water doesn't mean that the head gasket is good. ... a leaking head gasket can allow air from the cylinders to escape into the cooling system without any oil leaking into it

hmmmm thanks bro

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » June 27th, 2015, 9:14 am

An who say, it cant be blown again!

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 27th, 2015, 2:04 pm

Changing head gaskets is a gamble. Changed one and it lasted 2yrs. Head and block best bet.

Advent

Postby Advent » June 28th, 2015, 8:08 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Changing head gaskets is a gamble. Changed one and it lasted 2yrs. Head and block best bet.

Head and block very expensive :P

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 28th, 2015, 8:30 pm

^^ subaru or bishi?

Advent

Postby Advent » June 29th, 2015, 7:19 am

racedriverpro wrote:^^ subaru or bishi?

Honda...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 29th, 2015, 7:20 am

Oh ok. Well change gasket business is a waste.

prutoonkman

Postby prutoonkman » June 29th, 2015, 10:59 am

Start with the simplest things first. Check water pump and thermostat before going to head gasket.

Postby 1UZFE » June 29th, 2015, 11:44 am

Persons still givin advice on this...
Allyuh aint realise tuner on chit. He wastin ppl time..

Postby wagonrunner » June 29th, 2015, 1:00 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Oh ok. Well change gasket business is a waste.

how? labour and gasket is less than 1000.
If done properly, your engine will be in better condition than most you would find foreign used, at a cost of $1500 and up.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 29th, 2015, 1:32 pm

What if head and block warped? How they checking it?

Advent

Postby Advent » June 29th, 2015, 1:33 pm

1UZFE wrote:Persons still givin advice on this...
Allyuh aint realise tuner on chit. He wastin ppl time..

1UFZE behave na :x

Pyol

Postby Pyol » June 29th, 2015, 5:16 pm

Seeing that the temp drops when you turn the ac on suggests a possible air flow problem.
All my overheating problems went away when i installed a pair of 4 wire fans.

Advent

Postby Advent » July 1st, 2015, 1:31 pm

Pyol wrote:Seeing that the temp drops when you turn the ac on suggests a possible air flow problem.
All my overheating problems went away when i installed a pair of 4 wire fans.

boi i aint get time to check on my issue :(

Postby wagonrunner » July 1st, 2015, 3:41 pm

racedriverpro wrote:What if head and block warped? How they checking it?

that's part of the "properly". machine shops check warp and pressure test heads.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 1st, 2015, 7:03 pm

Op. You don't have a b20b frank?

Return to “HONDA”