Soapy Water For The Windshield

awesomeandre

Soapy Water For The Windshield

Postby awesomeandre » February 22nd, 2007, 4:40 pm

Did you ever notice plp when they wash their windshield with their wiper system the water is like soapy, is this a good practice for the motor, lines etc

i tink they use squezy

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 22nd, 2007, 4:56 pm

I either use a product specific windshield washer fluid (bluish liquid) or just plain water.

I think if you use dishwashing liquid, what may end up happening is that whatever protective coating you have from the polish you applied to the paint would be stripped off when the dirty water runs off the windshield and onto the paint. I am not sure if it damages the rubber in the wiper blades.

eitech

Postby eitech » February 22nd, 2007, 6:03 pm

buh i know some ppl does actually wash dey car with squeezy. i does put jus a lil squeezy in d winshield washer. i have seen a difference in d cleaning as opposed to jus water. buh plz do not put too much. it does lok like break afta ah spray and wipe...lol. ah padna even suggested coatin d blades wit amourall. i dunno bout dah one jed. :shock:

Postby SR » February 22nd, 2007, 6:37 pm

very mild mixture works well

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 22nd, 2007, 7:19 pm

go with the bluish liquid is like 10 dollars for lil bottle to a gallon of water an dat does be more dan enff to fill

Postby equipped2ripp » February 22nd, 2007, 7:46 pm

a mild mixture is the real deal. too much would cause it to be too sudsy. what could also be done is to put a little bit of rubbing alcohol or ammonia, read that somewhere...

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » February 22nd, 2007, 8:24 pm

eitech, :lol: :lol:

and yes that squeezy does kill the polish in my ride so a mild mixture it is

venum

Postby venum » February 22nd, 2007, 9:20 pm

I use water only cuz i apply rain repellant to my windshield

soap strips off the rain repellant - so no squeezy for me

I've seen teh blue washer fluid but never tried it for fear of having the same effect on the rain repellant as squeezy

a very mild amount of dishwashing liquid may be
alright

trinish

Postby trinish » February 22nd, 2007, 9:52 pm

had used squeezy (mild) in a toyota for many years that is a TBA so check how much years that is. Never damage anything. I have this blue liquid that all yuh talking about. If yuh buying go buy the gallon is like $30 by this parts place in freeport. the small bottle is like $10. But it claims to remove oil etc from the windscreen...to tell yuh the truth i doh find it does do anything except make the water in the container look blue. I just like meh boy does use rain act...does work real nice on yuh car. Don't really have to use the wipers so at all..Everything does just move out of the glass...but make sure you apply it correctly it does damage paint, and if you wipe it to much you will take all off. Wipe it to little you won't be able to see through the glass at nights under a glass...so you decide what you want to use..good luck..

Postby equipped2ripp » February 22nd, 2007, 10:00 pm

the blue windshield washer fluid does infact cut oil and residue to an extent

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 22nd, 2007, 10:22 pm

venum wrote:I use water only cuz i apply rain repellant to my windshield

soap strips off the rain repellant - so no squeezy for me

I've seen teh blue washer fluid but never tried it for fear of having the same effect on the rain repellant as squeezy

a very mild amount of dishwashing liquid may be
alright

I have provem time and time again that PLAIN water is the best solution..
Most if not all "soapy" soloutions dry up & leave water marks on the section of the glass thats not covered by the area of the wipers' path and looks horrible after.
I am also of the firm belief that it also destruys the wiper blade...

As was said by venum above, once you have a wter repellant on your glass, applied once every 2 weeks, you will have no need for anything further than water in the resevoir...

Postby equipped2ripp » February 22nd, 2007, 10:40 pm

yeah but water doh take off bird sheit

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 23rd, 2007, 12:03 am

I think HEAT is what damages rubber wiper blades.

I have a "specially formulated cleaner" that I use - I guess it's a mild detergent mixed with some alcohol cause it's cold to the touch.
Didn't buy it and wont ever bother.

Two drops of Quix is all you need.

I stop using Squezy eh :!: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 23rd, 2007, 1:44 am

equipped2ripp wrote:yeah but water doh take off bird sheit

Birds shitt on your car everyday? :lol:
So therefore you dont need it everyday.When this happens, you have to wash your glass PROPERLY cause soapy soloution aint cleaning it.

Postby equipped2ripp » February 23rd, 2007, 1:59 am

^^ try drivin on the north-south highway a few times during the week, and yuh goh see what i mean!!!

Postby ronsin1 » February 23rd, 2007, 6:46 am

boy we have pigeons in the yard where I work and is the worst if a car park here all day you sure when you come back the leaving a present for you!!!

eitech

Postby eitech » February 23rd, 2007, 7:01 am

imagine such a trivial topic has so many emotional answers. lol

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » February 23rd, 2007, 7:47 am

the rain repelent sounds really much better

as you all said the squeezy cuts this offf right, would those expensive car wash liquids do the same too

and where can i get this rain repelent , brand preference , price etc

tnx :mrgreen:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » February 23rd, 2007, 9:35 am

RainX and Rain Clear works good
there are many other good brands that works good too

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » February 23rd, 2007, 2:56 pm

use lanher car wash soap. it dosen't cut wax or rain x and it dries without residue. it's cheap, about $10 a bottle and it's thicker than the imported ones. I use it without any problems.

moti

Postby moti » February 23rd, 2007, 3:13 pm

^^^ true

venum

Postby venum » February 26th, 2007, 5:35 pm

awesomeandre wrote:as you all said the squeezy cuts this offf right, would those expensive car wash liquids do the same too

and where can i get this rain repellent , brand preference , price etc

I have been using TurtleWax Zip Wax (white bottle with red cap) for years along with several different rain repellents and have found that it doesn't strip the rain repellent, not even if you mix it strong.

one application of rain repellent usually lasts me ~ 3 car washes, before noticeable reduction in its effect manifests

Postby equipped2ripp » February 26th, 2007, 6:12 pm

car wash products not supposed to cut the wax on the car... so it shouldn't the rain-x all that much

aidan

Postby aidan » February 26th, 2007, 7:47 pm

use d waxco rain clear to clean yuh glass,and u cud use handsoap in the washer bottle,the pH neutral ones,so it wont damage paint,nor cause oxidation,and it cleans very well.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 27th, 2007, 8:42 am

venum wrote:
awesomeandre wrote:as you all said the squeezy cuts this offf right, would those expensive car wash liquids do the same too

and where can i get this rain repellent , brand preference , price etc

I have been using TurtleWax Zip Wax (white bottle with red cap) for years along with several different rain repellents and have found that it doesn't strip the rain repellent, not even if you mix it strong.

one application of rain repellent usually lasts me ~ 3 car washes, before noticeable reduction in its effect manifests

I'll second what venum stated. I'm also using ZipWax...and the rainx application lasts alot longer than when i was using Mothers and Sonax car wash products. But then Zipwax has a polish in it anyway.

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » February 27th, 2007, 6:15 pm

i tried the turtle wax zip wax and it dosent cut off the polish

i am yet to try the rain X to see what happens

as for my windscreen it have some scratches (mazda screen) and at night it looks like everyone have on their bright lights im tinking of tinting it

venum

Postby venum » February 27th, 2007, 8:51 pm

^^^ lemme know if that helps

i am thinking that it will reduce the blurring effect of the scratches a bit

aidan

Postby aidan » February 27th, 2007, 10:19 pm

where u guys getting turtle wax zip wax?mines done :|

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » March 2nd, 2007, 5:19 am