Postby Parvin » November 10th, 2010, 7:21 pm

NOTED

Doh jinx meh na man ... :)

Chemical

Re: Car Polishing 101

Postby Chemical » November 11th, 2010, 1:01 pm

Can I use the orbit polisher with the Meguiars swirl X to remove the holograms ? I don't think I can do the entire car by hand.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » November 12th, 2010, 8:41 pm

Fellas my car get paint fumes while the painter in work was painting a truck. What polish will remove the fumes? (I using manual power....no fancy buffer/polisher). What to use on the windows to remove the fumes?

Thanks!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 12th, 2010, 10:35 pm

Groovemaster wrote:Fellas my car get paint fumes while the painter in work was painting a truck. What polish will remove the fumes? (I using manual power....no fancy buffer/polisher). What to use on the windows to remove the fumes?

Thanks!

Carry the car back to the painter and tell him to get the paint fumes off,,,,

If not get a clay bar, this will help to remove the over spray.

Postby cinco » November 13th, 2010, 8:39 pm

windows
razor blade and soap water

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » November 14th, 2010, 1:42 am

Nice..... my sis have a clay bar. Thanks tuners!

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 14th, 2010, 5:28 am

^^ can't get the 10' orbital buffing pads to buy. Checked L&D & Tiny & Sons. Pls help.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 14th, 2010, 10:21 pm

Chemical wrote:^^ can't get the 10' orbital buffing pads to buy. Checked L&D & Tiny & Sons. Pls help.

Why u want a 10 inch pad???

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 15th, 2010, 6:44 am

Cause the ploisher is 10' :lol: :lol:

Its the polishing cloth that fit over the orbital foam. Pads 9-10' work.

I'll check amazon.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 15th, 2010, 9:41 am

^^W3rd. Does that polisher have speed adjustment?

Also, it'd be great if we could get some before and after shots of the car! I'd love to see what results you get.

If you do go about doing a before and after comparo, the "money shot" would being posting at leastONE panel before and after, with a very bright light focused on it to show the initial swirls....like this:

Also, it'll help you see if you got the defect remediation you desire.

A midday shot would work great :D :D

For me, I use one of those ultra bright halogen spot light things (forgot how much million candle power or whatever :lol: :lol: ).

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 17th, 2010, 4:35 am

^^Did it over the w/end & came out pretty decent. Used only the Autoglym SR polish & alot of the swirl marks came out & the GLOSS is VERY reflective . My objective was to get a good polish on the car to protect the paint so its not a show finish @ close up, however the paint has a much deeper gloss and looks excellent from approx 3 feet & further.

I think in January mth I'll do over with Autoglym & put the wax on after with sealent. That should be ok for at least 6 mos.

Again I'm very impressed with the AG SR polish using a cheap $200 orbital machine from P/smart for that kind of results.

Cheers.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 17th, 2010, 5:13 am

^^W3rd :D

Postby cinco » November 17th, 2010, 6:22 am

remember when doing the clay bar also to go in ONE direction only

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 17th, 2010, 6:32 am

*Steups*

I know what it means :lol:

To me its a big accomplishment :mrgreen:

oxidation

Postby oxidation » November 17th, 2010, 5:06 pm

where can i get the meguairs clay bar to buy

and if the spray that comes with the clay kit are finished can i use anything else in place

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 17th, 2010, 5:53 pm

Never seen the Meguiars kit locally. Only seen Mothers - got mine at Car plus.

I bought the last two they had though :lol:

Technically you could use another "instant detailer" spray like those offered with the Mothers kit.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » November 17th, 2010, 7:57 pm

automotive art has it ?

btw if anyone knows Stackhouse in williamsville

i saw they have meguairs products at reasonably prices

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 17th, 2010, 10:15 pm

Chemical wrote:

*Steups*

I know what it means :lol:

To me its a big accomplishment :mrgreen:

No man....I really mean it.

Once you're happy with it, that's what matters! Going for a show car finish, IMHO, is an exercise in futility.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » November 20th, 2010, 7:01 pm

help needed guys

has a little door and post contact and sent the car to be painted... jus got it back and around the door feels kinda rough and it looks like clear coat overspray

can a clay bar take this off

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 21st, 2010, 5:30 am

automotive art has it ?

^^Saw the whole line in Bel Air store Marabella.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 21st, 2010, 8:58 pm

Chemical wrote:
automotive art has it ?

^^Saw the whole line in Bel Air store Marabella.

^^I was there yesterday. I didn't see anything remotely resembling the whole line of Meguiars products....they had more turtle wax stuff.

Postby cinco » November 22nd, 2010, 7:20 am

oxidation wrote:help needed guys

has a little door and post contact and sent the car to be painted... jus got it back and around the door feels kinda rough and it looks like clear coat overspray

can a clay bar take this off

yes and no
depends on how heavy it is you will need to cut it with wet sanding/rubbing compound
get that professionally done to save you the trouble of destroying your paint

oxidation

Postby oxidation » November 30th, 2010, 11:48 pm

ok guys bought my meguairs nxt wax today and waiting on my clay magic clay bar to arrive

my car is in a mess with all this rain

will take before and after shots

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 1st, 2010, 6:40 am

Sounds good. I had clayed the gf's car over the weekend with the mother's clay kit - works really great!

The instant detailer smells strange though - like bubblegum :lol:

Postby cinco » December 1st, 2010, 6:49 am

did you get the tech wax ?
or the tech wax 2.0 ?
the 2.0 is much better and lasts longer the 1.0 lasts about 2 car washes :|

Chemical

Postby Chemical » December 1st, 2010, 6:55 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:Sounds good. I had clayed the gf's car over the weekend with the mother's clay kit - works really great!

The instant detailer smells strange though - like bubblegum :lol:

Yep used it already on my wife's car with great results...only mistake I made was I did not use the cleaning wax before applying the AG SRP.

WRT the instant detailer yes it does have the bubblegum smell. I can't comprehend why those choice of esters in their formula.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 1st, 2010, 8:55 am

^Smell is odd....wait till you try some of the other "waxes" I've experimented with :lol:

On another note, I don't see the issue with the SRP.

SRP, is even better than a Megs/Mothers Cleaner Wax IMHO. The SRP polish has a little more diminishing abrasives, AND cleaners as well.

Plus it has some good fillers and a very mild sealant in it.

There are of course, other AG or other-brand [products that may be better at individual things (like filling, abrasion, sealing) .e.g. AG Supreme Polish (bodyshop grade) has much better fillers

the 2.0 is much better and lasts longer the 1.0 lasts about 2 car washes

Well, it depends on which car wash you use, and whether you layer the wax or not.

I try to layer mmy wax applications, and use the same branded car wash (megs and Megs, Mothers and Mothers) etc etc. Using anotehr brand of car wash may affect the durability of the wax in question.

But yes, on some of the other detailing forums, NXT wax isn't really rated as a durable one.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » December 1st, 2010, 8:03 pm

cinco wrote:did you get the tech wax ?
or the tech wax 2.0 ?
the 2.0 is much better and lasts longer the 1.0 lasts about 2 car washes :|

bought this kit

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=342572

from de audio

Postby cinco » December 3rd, 2010, 4:02 pm

the 2.0 lasts way longer i tried them both
^^^ah you set buddy you got the right one

oxidation

Postby oxidation » December 4th, 2010, 9:41 am

this is just a tester

i did not clay jus washed and waxed the fender

since my car is silver it does not really show up as much.......... but hell yea it shines