Disposal of used engine oil

dredman1

Disposal of used engine oil

Postby dredman1 » September 14th, 2007, 4:59 pm

Anyone know where I can dispose of this safely, preferably in Chaguanas or Barataria ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 14th, 2007, 5:30 pm

NP Service Stations are supposed to be a collection point for used oil.

This was recently discussed on 2NR, do a search.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 15th, 2007, 9:03 am

^^^ Thanks. However, 75% of the replies are to empty it down the drain, in the river, the Beetham, Gulf of Paria, Chaguaramas, in front the PM residence etc. :roll:

Others say they think NP has oil collection barrels. And since I'm not looking to pay, calling an environmental company is out the question.

Didn't think it would have been so hard to find somwhere to do this. :oops: I'll try a few NP service stations and see if I have any luck.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 15th, 2007, 11:09 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:NP Service Stations are supposed to be a collection point for used oil.

This was recently discussed on 2NR, do a search.

Nope, not accurate. Maybe their 9 Quick Shoppes do that but not the others.
Call NP Quick Shop on Richmond Street. Maybe you'll get lucky.

boom

Postby boom » September 15th, 2007, 12:42 pm

I say lewwe take all the old oil and trow it in mannign pool and tell the cacahole that it have ah oil well in his front yard...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 15th, 2007, 2:11 pm

^^^ :lol:

as funnie as dat is...is posts like dat he avoiding bro..

dude...

if u want 2 get rid of it..just keep it for wen u burning out old papers or stuff.. works great as fuel for "alrdy goin fires"

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 15th, 2007, 2:12 pm

i agree^^^^^

starlet

Postby starlet » September 15th, 2007, 5:57 pm

call oil mop they come and collect oil for small money they are in the phone book

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » September 17th, 2007, 9:18 pm

WAY BOI YUH SEE HOW TRINI PPL LOVE WE COUNTRY :lol:

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 18th, 2007, 5:52 am

starlet wrote:call oil mop they come and collect oil for small money they are in the phone book

firetruck that I does done pay a pound and a crown for oil ... i aint paying to get rid of meh old oil too...

sanctifier wrote:Nope, not accurate. Maybe their 9 Quick Shoppes do that but not the others.
Call NP Quick Shop on Richmond Street. Maybe you'll get lucky.

Ditto.

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » September 19th, 2007, 9:38 am

This counrty too backwards. They should have things setup for oil collection. They forcing people to dump it in there neighbour back yard.

Postby Maserati » September 19th, 2007, 11:37 am

firetruck that I does done pay a pound and a crown for oil ... i aint paying to get rid of meh old oil too

real dotish how they doh have collection centers for used oil and auto fluids. no wonder there is so much pollution

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 19th, 2007, 11:42 am

what do they do with oil oil? i know for a fact it can be reused in the marine industry......and if powergen still uses oil fired boilers it can be burned there.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » September 19th, 2007, 2:23 pm

You could try a service station that does oil changes, and see if they will take it. Or call NP them directly and ask.

http://www.recycleoil.org/

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 19th, 2007, 4:49 pm

^^^ :oops: :( after checking out that link, it's really sad to see how far behind we are in this country.

starlet, you have an idea how much "oil mop" charges to collect your oil? Can anyone confirm if they dispose of it properly after you pay them and they take the oil from you??

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » September 20th, 2007, 7:25 am

You all shouldn't even be thinking of paying someone for your used oil . we pay we tax so they should have things in place for it . It should be the oil collectors paying we for the ole oil.
Is a election year so lets make things right !!!

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 20th, 2007, 9:34 am

^ ^ ^ We pay to remove our garbage (Taxes via the County Councils)
You want someone to pay you for disposing of your old oil???... :roll:

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » September 20th, 2007, 10:26 am

Old oil have value just like dead car batteries that people buy. and they not disposing of it, it's going to be reused.
With a 2020 vision and if becoming a 1st world country-then they will have to pay for it, or at least give a tax break.
But knowing how this country is work, it will end up get dumped somewhere because there is not enough environmental laws.
So i agree with Sanctifier, no body in T&T going to pay for my old oil, at least not in my life time.

boogy

Postby boogy » September 24th, 2007, 11:11 am

np!!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 24th, 2007, 11:55 am

some guys pass by me a couple days ago saying they buying old batteries.....ah get ah $10 for ah diesel Yuasa :lol:
he say it going Mexico to recycle....asked about collecting old oil he said they wanted to start doing it......only thing is i didnt take a number :cry: right now i have about 5 gallons of engine oil and about 1 1/2 gallons of tranny oil sitting in old oil bottles. i dont want to burn it cuz of the smoke :!:

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 24th, 2007, 11:58 am

......and if powergen still uses oil fired boilers it can be burned there.

nope the boilers run only on natral gas and bunker C they never run on OLD OIL :lol:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 24th, 2007, 12:03 pm

what is bunker C? is that heavy fuel oil?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 25th, 2007, 5:15 am

NP Service stations

chindian88

Disposal of used motor oil?

Postby chindian88 » November 27th, 2009, 2:05 am

i have a question.
where do you all (DIY'ers) dispose of your old oil after doing an oil change?
is there any where down here that takes and recycles the old oil?

and we all know it not good to pour it down the drain....
i don't do that because i haven't changed oil for myself yet mostly because i don't have the time.

but anyways planning on starting so just wanted to know what to do with the old oil!

and anyone ever heard of Alemite CD-2, suppose to help with oil burning engines.
Last edited by chindian88 on November 27th, 2009, 2:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » November 27th, 2009, 2:16 am

I would like to know myself, as I have changed my own oil for the last 4 years and have Gallons to throw away.

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » November 27th, 2009, 7:38 pm

dig ah hole ina remote location, empty it in the hole and bury it. :idea:

eitech

Postby eitech » November 27th, 2009, 11:51 pm

if u from san juan like me u can take it to that service station in st augustine..they charge like $10 a gallon

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 28th, 2009, 12:32 am

you mean they charge you money to take it?
and do you have any idea what they do with it?

and you talking bout the underwash place on the main road opposite Warren Rd.?

eitech

Postby eitech » November 28th, 2009, 12:45 am

yea..well the guy told me that d EMA ppl come and tek it from them and the EMA charges them for tekin it. remember, these guys change oil as well and need to get rid of it. i actually saw them put it in a drum,

Postby wagonrunner » November 28th, 2009, 1:05 am

been covered before..........any gas station with a service bay, for more options..... Image Search