WTK: Fog Light Bulbs Keep Blowing

Postby tr1ad » September 20th, 2007, 6:04 pm

Well as it says

i upgraded my fog lamp bulbs, wiring & relay

but ever so often they keep blowing, when i press the switch the relay clicks as if everything is fine, just they blow often

what could be the problem?

Postby equipped2ripp » September 20th, 2007, 6:45 pm

brand of bulb?

Postby tr1ad » September 20th, 2007, 7:20 pm

hmmm cant remember offhand

cost about 120 for the pair, also forgot to mention the fogs always on as the cvar has daylights

venum

Postby venum » September 20th, 2007, 7:39 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:brand of bulb?

HS or what?

Postby tr1ad » September 20th, 2007, 7:46 pm

dats it

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » September 20th, 2007, 7:58 pm

i have this problem with a p11 headlights..

they blow very often
H3 superwhile

Postby equipped2ripp » September 20th, 2007, 9:37 pm

oh gawdddd...

them HS bulbs does blow in 3 weeks time, went through like 3 pairs of those already... right now 1 of them blow.

i looking for 55W H3 bulbs myself... nowhere have.

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » September 20th, 2007, 9:43 pm

equipped2ripp,
yea i lookin too, when u get.. let me know where

eitech

Postby eitech » September 20th, 2007, 9:52 pm

buy original fog lamps...cheap ting no good

Postby tr1ad » September 20th, 2007, 10:36 pm

it is original lamps

read a little better, its the bulbs were upgraded

either post up or shut up

e2r,
i know W2J have the PIAA in H3

Postby equipped2ripp » September 20th, 2007, 11:41 pm

eitech, english wasn't yuh favourite subject ent?

tr1ad, didn't check the PIAA, i dunno if that would create heat and melt the lamp itself or not.

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » September 20th, 2007, 11:44 pm

what bulbs do u recommend

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 21st, 2007, 6:04 am

tr1ad, I have a problem where one side of the fogs keep blowing. I was told to check to see if there is any moisture or corrosion in them and also to check to see if the fuse for the fog lights is faulty.

I know that in mine there is a bit of corrosion on the pin that makes contact with the bulb. I get a couple of uses from the bulb and then it blows.Have to sort that out.

I hope this helps.

Postby tr1ad » September 21st, 2007, 9:19 am

i'll look into it

thanks bro

Postby Hook » September 21st, 2007, 10:58 am

was now gonna say that...check the socket itself and make sure the bulb terminals are making proper contact...a loose contact would tend to spark often and generate heat which could end up damaging the socket..if the socket is ceramic, it'll damage the housing and if the housing is metal it'll damage the bulb

and while you're down there, make sure the fog lamp housing isn't taking in any water, or that there already isn't any moisture droplets inside the housing itself

Postby tr1ad » September 21st, 2007, 12:18 pm

will do,
thanks hook

from what i understand e2r, the piaa works perfect with the stock setup

Postby Dave » September 21st, 2007, 12:58 pm

don't touch the bulbs ppl when installing
i bought a set of eurolite h3, shows very white and all the driving light used in a b14 with original fogs
they have like 2-3hrs ue on them
gimme a bill and take them :lol:

Postby tr1ad » September 21st, 2007, 1:51 pm

grocery bill?

Terran

Postby Terran » September 21st, 2007, 2:06 pm

From the moment I decided to use those super white bulbs in my fogs, they were blowing - at least one bulb every 6 weeks.

Then I upgraded the wiring. They still blew.

I stopped using fogs and got super whites for the headlamps. They blew as well within the same time frame.

Then I upgraded the wiring. Didn't make a difference there either.

Stopped using super whites and reverted to using ordinary bulbs - and they work 3+ years later.

Any of you using super whites?

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » September 21st, 2007, 2:06 pm

Triad you could check the alternator output voltage too as any slight increase in voltage will cause the fogs to draw more current and eventually blow....and as said above, make sure they do not touch the bulbs when installing.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 21st, 2007, 2:09 pm

Dave wrote:don't touch the bulbs ppl when installing
i bought a set of eurolite h3, shows very white and all the driving light used in a b14 with original fogs
they have like 2-3hrs ue on them
gimme a bill and take them :lol:

I always use tissue paper or a piece of cotton to hold the bulbs when I do an install. After the first couple times they blew I was like what the hell... I still havent quite sorted out that issue. :evil:

Postby Dave » September 21st, 2007, 2:46 pm

HS of yrs gone by was good but nowaday not so hot
u need to make sure your wiring is in good shape

these i have are quite good, real nice white light
a bill means $100 for those not accustomed to trini slang

try american/japan brands of bulbs, the china/taiwan are the ones to stay away from

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 21st, 2007, 5:33 pm

I always use tissue paper or a piece of cotton to hold the bulbs when I do an install

cool
well guest a lot of people do stuff and don't know why they are doing it can anyone answer why not to touch the bulb?
oh and meh boy with d problem you have to make sure there is no problem with your ground and terminals you have to check the potential differance across the bulb then you can look further into a suggestion of the problem

Postby equipped2ripp » September 21st, 2007, 5:42 pm

my wiring is good.. i used the HS before, which lasted really long then it blew. those came in the single packs with paper and plastic.. then i used silverstars and took them out because i found they were too hot. i put back in HS, this time i bought the twin pack in the hard plastic case and they blew in like 2 months... bought it back again and they blew in 3 weeks.

DAVE, those eurolites are 55W? if so.. keep it fuh meh. better yet, check yuh pm! :lol:

eitech

Postby eitech » September 21st, 2007, 10:30 pm

actually i was better at french :fist:

Postby Dave » September 23rd, 2007, 1:53 pm

DAVE, those eurolites are 55W? if so.. keep it fuh meh. better yet, check yuh pm!

kept

sentraman

Postby sentraman » September 23rd, 2007, 4:37 pm

I have the same problem with my headlights.. They blow very often no matter what brand of bulb I use. I even changed the wiring harness for it but that did not help. :roll:

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » September 23rd, 2007, 6:50 pm

I have the same problem with my headlights.. They blow very often no matter what brand of bulb I use. I even changed the wiring harness for it but that did not help.

oh and meh boy with d problem you have to make sure there is no problem with your ground and terminals you have to check the potential differance across the bulb then you can look further into a suggestion of the problem

ever taught about doing this?

hondapatriot

Postby hondapatriot » September 23rd, 2007, 8:47 pm

have any of u ever seen fog bulbs explode? I had a weird experience with these for my corolla. found out that the bulbs that have a variation in the power rating does this.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » September 23rd, 2007, 9:36 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:
I have the same problem with my headlights.. They blow very often no matter what brand of bulb I use. I even changed the wiring harness for it but that did not help.

ever taught about doing this?

will look into it...