Calculating MPG in Trinidad

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » March 26th, 2004, 10:03 pm

Mini i find yuh real bussing style wid ure mileage...... the answer ppl is this

The 3-stage VTEC D15B has other technological advances that the plain non-VTEC D15B and indeed many other Honda engines doesn't have. The 3-stage VTEC D15B has the ability to operate in lean-burn mode. Lean-burn mode indicates the engine is running at a super lean air/fuel ratio of around 20:1 !! Normal engines would probably have detonated itself to pieces way before getting anywhere near this ratio but the 3-stage VTEC D15B exploits the 12V mode to acheive this. In 12V lean-burn mode, only 1 intake valve opens during the intake stroke and this causes the air to swirl into the combustion chamber. This swirling promotes a very complete mixing of the air/fuel mixture and with other design innovations, Honda is able to run the 3-stage VTEC D15B at ~20:1 a/f ratio under ideal conditions (very light throttle, level road, etc). Lean-burn mode on the Civic VTi and Civic Ferio Vi are indicated by the lighting up of a green LED on the dashboard with the word "econo" on it. Actually, the 3-stage VTEC D15B is the only Civic engine in Honda's history so far to have this LED feature. For the person who values economy, it is a fantastic way to monitor fuel consumption. Everytime the ECONO led lights up, it means lean-burn mode and the engine is running at ~20:1 a/f ratio. Sustain this and fuel economy will approach 28km/l ! With careful and sensible driving styles, it is often possible to maintain this mode for a surprisingly large part of an ordinary journey. The beauty is that even if there is a need to overtake the car in front, lean-burn mode can be re-entered again almost immediately after the manuveure

so if yuh want ah fun car dat easy on the gas get ah HONDA (buh the VTi/Vi models). I like the technology behind it, buh my heart lies wid mitsu so the only way i getting dat is wid ah 1.3 or CNG/LPG and daz minus the power

§€®G€™

Postby §€®G€™ » March 26th, 2004, 10:25 pm

well cleriq, wherever u iz on d forums, i hope u see this. u car get big up here. :D

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 29th, 2004, 9:17 am

folks local 97 civc, south to caroni and back, ac 120km/h. $93 dollars to full super getting on average 405 km per tank. so that works ou to be 29.1 mpg!!!!! wohoo i think that is good stuff. if i use unleaded it takes $100 and i get worst mileage. 370. so that works out to be 26 mpg

Mini

Postby Mini » March 29th, 2004, 9:25 am

29.1 mpg

excellent man... anything over 28 in T'dad is damn good.

rebelsr20

Postby rebelsr20 » April 1st, 2004, 4:12 am

For leaded petrol (TT$2.85 per liter)
Isn't new RON92 fuel @ $2.70 Per litre?

Mini

Postby Mini » April 1st, 2004, 7:08 am

rebelsr20 wrote:For leaded petrol (TT$2.85 per liter)
Isn't new RON92 fuel @ $2.70 Per litre?

changed to reflect such

I have to check over my calculations.. but so far it seems correct

Thanks for the heads up

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 15th, 2004, 10:26 pm

Aye my car takes $180 to full and only gives me 480km
Is that bad milage :shock:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 16th, 2004, 7:16 am

YES!!!!!!!!

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 16th, 2004, 7:22 am

with that type of money i would be getting close to 760-770km :!: . i using the blasted super replacement and i geting ~380km now on a full tank costing $90-95. :cry:

nick009

Postby nick009 » May 6th, 2004, 1:34 pm

anybody with a 323 here?what kinda cars allyuh have?

mememe

Postby mememe » June 5th, 2004, 7:48 pm

PABLO660
Aye my car takes $180 to full and only gives me 480km
Is that bad milage

$180 to fill up,ur you have an extra gas tank. :D :D

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 7th, 2004, 12:15 am

i fill up my car with $85 and i get about 300kms from my tank approx. That leaves me with about 22mpg.....i think thats poor. :? how do u ppl manage beyond that? I have O/D on "ON" position to eh!!!

assassin

Postby assassin » June 21st, 2004, 9:01 pm

21 mpg with ac on and some "spirited" driving in between :mrgreen:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 22nd, 2004, 10:37 am

with this fantastic weather i getting 60 on a tank of gas!!!!!!!!! 90$ super unleaded

COLD AIR!!!!!! cann't complain

nick009

Postby nick009 » July 2nd, 2004, 11:52 pm

wah kinda car u have!?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 5th, 2004, 10:21 am

read my sig man

honda civic exi 97

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » August 31st, 2004, 8:36 pm

i getting around 26 MPG , ah wonder what wrong

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » September 8th, 2004, 1:11 am

now i getting 19 - something is definately wrong . :? :? nissan almera QG16de engine

Re: Calculating MPG in Trinidad

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 7th, 2011, 1:43 am

lol came across this post trying to find 3 stage Vtec MPG on google

So I take it we get 26 MPG with a civic pre 2000 models. How much does the civic from 2007 and up get?

Postby noshownogo » March 7th, 2011, 9:37 am

450km for $160 premium (40liters) or 26.4mpg, this is with heavy traffic morning and evening along the east west corridor in a 2007 R18 civic

Re:

Postby sliderz1 » March 7th, 2011, 12:23 pm

Doctor X wrote:now i getting 19 - something is definately wrong . :? :? nissan almera QG16de engine

sam stats jus i gettin 29.7mpg!!!!!!!!!!

Arima to Gustine @ peak traffic
Supah in dey ritttteeeeeee.............nevah use ne treatment....

my AT usually shifts @ mid rpm

front tires @ 34psi
back @ 32psi
stock 15'' rim an tyres

oh yeah.......... daz wit 2 passengers (160lbs x 2) for 85% of d time

neals

Postby neals » March 7th, 2011, 12:59 pm

i jealous i getting 19, blasted starlet turbo engine

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 7th, 2011, 2:29 pm

I get around 22 mpg with this 230jk......a/c right through and many short runs....not bad I think...

Postby 3stagevtec » March 8th, 2011, 2:33 am

What a depressing thread.. I getting around 16mpg :( (over 100lbs in recover equipment and another 100lbs of in car audio doesn't help much..)

I normally calculate km/l and then convert that to mpg using

1 kilometer / l = 2.35214583 miles per gallon